No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

He is a bit stupid though when it comes to soil science.

He had a meeting with the grain growers one day and of course they were it's not us is causing any nitrates issue it's all those grassland farmers. Help us increase the tillage area and increase our wages with more support, the cso has it the second highest at 65 to 70k.

He goes on the local radio then the next day and we have to do something about these grasslands in county wexford that they are putting all the nitrates in the waterways. I phoned in when I heard him BSing. The interviewer read out my statement and James replied that he wasn't a soil scientist and didn't understand soil science. My statement was to inform James that only for the grassland and carbon that was holding onto the nutrients in soil that the situation would be a whole lot worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭Grueller

To be fair SMN, a lot of farmers are too. It's the ICMSA I'd blame for that one. Thegfain growers did their job there, the ICMSA as a livestock only lobby group didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The grain growers are lobbying for more money and lobbying to decrease everyone else and even have limits on 40 acres before aid goes to be a grain grower. It's the attacking everyone else and saying we are a solution when it couldn't be further from the truth is disastrously wrong.

The ICMSA wouldn't go out and run down another sector or land use and say these are the problem not us.

When you read of the cows are bad and grass is bad. It comes straight from an arable climate sponsored centre in Iowa.

There's no such centre worldwide for cows and grass. Johnstown Castle had it in the open day in 2022. But sure as far as all press and farm orgs were concerned that was a bermuda triangle. The boards never even made it into the booklet. Which is here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,980 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Daughter was in a queue to get her car washed. Aman in a black car tried to scoot in in front of her. She didn't let him in. He got out and roared at her, saying she shouldn't be driving and a load of other ****. Being the big man..his company name is on the side of the car. The lads in the car wash were very good, told your man to go and gave her a free car wash. None of it their fault. She came home roaring crying. Happy international women's day indeed. I'm going to his work place later to have a chat with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭kk.man

That's terrible.... the world is gone one selfish, self centred place.

If oh was around he'd be raging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,915 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It seems lots of shop staff are getting grief from customers over oil prices. How fecking stupid are some people? Bullying behaviour should not be tolerated, absolutely hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

Very true, people can be very ignorant, but when you have the likes of Micheál Martin and RTE blowing hot air about "price gouging" that's the result.

Unfortunately so many people don't understand simple supply and demand effects on price.

With oil, just like when cattle prices are rising, the difference between your selling price and stock replacement price is what's important.

What you bought the stock for is historic and not relevant to the current market price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 TeagascSaysNo

Michael Martin and co were a disgrace talking about prices going up, they take most of the price and they have taken most of the increase in tax. Their official policy and objective is to push oil prices as high as possible on the Irish consumer for their own ideological reasons. Then they have the cheek to give out about high oil prices and the media just let them away with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I worked in a merchants when I was younger and we had diesel pumps, the majority of hardship and grief we go was around fuel and the price of it. The amount of people that would come in and give out that our fuel wasn't lasting as long as another place was unreal. After a while I just started telling them to go down the road and buy it there, I ended up with a written warning for that. That was back when prices were around 1.20 I can only imagine the grief filling station staff are getting these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭kk.man

They are price gouging in the supermarkets now with the price of beef. A euro a kg drop now and more on the way. Supermarkets and Cartel are milking it.

If Murrin comes back to Bord Bia every beef farmer should renounce their participation.

Its obvious they were waiting for francie to leave to drop the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Friend of mine has bulk fuel company. Any complaints on price he has been replying with 'Have you not seen the price of all inclusive holidays during the school holidays!?' Fair play to him, prices nowhere near as high as others in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Out for spin today there is a lug of a lad that lives down the road, he is a part time but has more machinery that many a contractor. He was out today cutting a hedge along an N road, you would see out in October with a slurry tanker, he only has a two bay tank and feeds less that 20 cattle. When his father was alive he wouldn't set foot on the farm. Its lads like that seem to enjoy doing the wrong thing that gets every farmer a bad name..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,751 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

IMG_8752.jpeg

So glad my little 1.6 diesel van is choked down with dpf and all manner of restrictions. Like it would be terrible if we were polluting the atmosphere burning fuel inappropriately 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Some mad scenes from Ibrox as Celtic beat Rangers 4-2 on penalties. I don't really follow soccer but when the two of them meet you know there is going to be ructions.

Some of ye may know that youngest is a marine scientist working and living in the Highlands. From time to time he will go out on private commercial trawlers to do fishery surveys on permission from the Skipper. A couple of years ago he was due to go on a trawler to do same but when the skipper heard that he was Irish he refused to allow him come as he and his crew were Rangers supporters.

Went into the business where your man is from that was giving out to my daughter earlier. It's a chipper, at first the man said it wasnt him but then admitted it

Glad I went in .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Fair play to you @whelan2.. I have no time for anyone that goes on with that crap either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Well done @whelan2.I was in a chemist a few week ago when a young girl who was just starting made a fumble with a till and left a man short a euro or 2 in change.His response to her apology was "aren't you a silly little bit*h!"..seeing her near tears i couldn't help but lean over him and ask him shut his mouth and kindly leave.Some people are just pure ignorance it's self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I know you would have gave him a good earful. Hopefully he doesn't pull the same type of stunt on a young lady again - wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,594 ✭✭✭zetecescort

managed to give the lawn its first cut of the year today, not as wet as I expected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Tileman

when can put stock out on wild bird cover. Is it at Patrick’s day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,028 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I watched the match, Celtic weren't great going forward, but they defended well. It was an entertaining 0-0.

Some Celtic fans came onto the field after Celtic won the penalty shootout. They were happy, celebrating with the players and staff, taking selfies.

But some of the Rangers fans weren't having that in their own back yard, and tried to get at the Celtic fans, and a member of Celtic's backroom staff was attacked as they tried to get off the field.

Ya, at that point some Celtic and Rangers fans then fired flares at each other. This wasn't a violent scene, the police cordoned the fans off from one another.

Trust BBC to not show the full picture, in one of the few videos that's available for Irish people to view.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/videos/cr5lpjrpql6o

You can see the full scene below.

The Spider-Man Rangers fans are largely at fault here. Yes, the Celtic fans shouldn't have been on the field at the end, but they weren't causing trouble. There was an increase in the allocation of away fans, that's going to be reversed going forward after today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,097 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Aa Billy Connolly used to say

"as long as they sh!t in our shoes we will p!ss in there Bovril "

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

A few lambs "broke out" onto mine during the week 🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

The arsehole will think the next time. Much to my wife's dismay I'm forever getting into "discussions" with people when they are being tossers in public. Manners & general decency are really on the wane in Ireland.

Well done to you on going in to his place of work & calling him out but also for being a great role model for your daughter.

I'd say he forgot the name of the business was on his car. There were 2 wonen working with him in the chipper, one was standing up for him originally and then she walked away after a minute or 2. Anyway it's done with now. Just goes to show you never know what's going to happen next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭I says

Mighty stuff I hate bad manners with a passion. You should have ordered a hape of stuff first then told him to shove it after ya tore strips of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,028 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Did you notice if he was carrying a chip on his shoulder? With added vinegar to make him so bitter, or maybe he took it with a pinch of salt. 🍟

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,881 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Barrel of oil just hit $106