National Hurling Leagues 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,561 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Cork obviously have decided to play on the edge but between throwing the ball and spare arm tackles they're basically fouling every 60 seconds.

The persistent fouling needs to be addressed because it's just a system designed to stop the opposition building momentum and rhythm.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Imeall an cearnóg

You're describing how Limerick have played for years now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,409 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,672 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Cork need to learn the difference between being strong and not backing down and being dirty.

They are not playing on the edge they are over it and it's gonna cost them in a big game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

they will have two more for sure anyway , but the second one could be a massive game for cork if they were to lose to tipp the week before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭patsyrockem

TOC was brought into the cork midfield to add that steel and toughness they have been missing, he tagged Cian Lynch from the start and was feisty but Lynch was man of the match. The less said about his challenge on Kyle Hayes the better. Not a good night for Tommy or his manager??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,012 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I thought he had a poor night, but I didnt think Lynch was MOM either, seems a default lazy option if he does one or 2 good things in a game. He had a decent game but not MOM for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭caddy16

I'm not so sure, I'm not convinced Limerick will be at the business end of it and tonight only confirmed that for me.

They'll earn it to get out of Munster I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Really? I thought he was excellent or was i watching a different match ? 3 points from play ,loads of driving runs and a great man to dig out possession. Yes cian lynch was very good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

That's the beauty of munster I suppose. Its so tough and one bad result can put you on the back foot straight away. Limerick first game away to cork before going to ennis is huge..

I think they will get out though. Thr likes of o Connor, English and o brien are the new leaders of this team now. O Connor is a joy to watch especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,561 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭eastie17

hurling has turned to absolute shite. It’s turned into stick fighting throw ball. Needs a truth and reconciliation committee like football had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Quitelife

what is the state of play for league final after last night , can Galway qualify for final if they beat Limerick?

If Galway win there are 3 scenarios.

If all other games go to form Tipp would be on 8 with Limerick and Galway so Galway need to win by more than 2 to go to the final on points.

If Cork lose to Ofaaly it would be a Limerick Galway final.

If Tipp don't pick up the maximum Galway are in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,879 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

So a 9 point win when the opposition should have had a man sent off early on means they will struggle to get out of Munster.

just watched the Cork Limerick there now , how did the cork no 9 O Connell not get sent off for pulling off the Limerick players helmet ? In general a share of cork players seemed to be more interested in fouling than playing hurling

Stack was soft on discipline yesterday but at least he was on the ball with Corks quick puckouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭thamus doku

the league has been a good barometer for the last 2 years when it comes to the championship.
    This year it looks like cork and Limerick are going to be favourites for Liam.

I think tipp Clare Kilkenny Galway Dublin and Waterford all have potential to have good championships and might have a say in who wins the all Ireland but for me it’s either Limerick or Cork for the Liam McCarthy.

I have a feeling it will be Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭caddy16

Agree, I just dont think the fixtures fall kindly for Limerick. I wouldn't be reading too much into the margin of victory last night, Cork definitely dropped off a bit in the 2nd half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,409 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Don't Galway will win, but if they were to, it's highly improbable that Cork would loose to Offaly. Limerick are a bit ahead of Galway, imo, so all those scenarios (while valid) probably won't make a whole lot of difference.

Galway have their main objectives for the league. Found a few new players and maintained their 1A status.

The first scenario is very probable.

Cork and Tipp winning their remaining games which means the winner of Galway vs Limerick makes the final but with a 2 point handicap in favour of Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,882 ✭✭✭threeball

Limerick have been doing the same for years. Both are at it. The two most prominent teams for throwing the ball, leaving in a dirty slap and spare arm tackles. Its paying off because they're both consistently at the business end but its not within the rules. The GAA need to decide whether rules apply in hurling or don't.

No Limerick haven't and that's the point. What Cork are doing is blatant stuff not spare arm tackles or slaps.

Cork are starting mass brawls, striking heads and ripping off helmets. They can't mix hard with savvy and subtle. Limerick play on the edge but Cork need to learn where the edge is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,169 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Ah c'mon now,limerick have been throwing the ball for years and using the spare arm tackle. It works for them and they are allowed get away with it,so my gripe is with the refs and moreso the GAA allowing it to happen.

It has turned the game into a version of basketball and rugby combined and its horrible to watch. All teams are at it btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,882 ✭✭✭threeball

Limerick were hitting lads in the balls with hurls and all sorts for years. Hegarty was notorious for it. I know as a Limerick man you don't see it, or want to see it but its true.

Cork are a reflection of O Connor who seems to think the game is about battering another team into submission. That u20 team he had were filthy. They should have had 3 or 4 lads sent to the line in that final vs Offaly. Its just who the guy is. I said it before he even gave his interviews and he just confirmed it himself.

I don't care who the team is, my county, club or someone else's. If we're not playing within the rules then the whole thing is pointless. Without the rules there isn't a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,879 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Cork definitely dropped off a bit in the 2nd half

Which is a huge problem with this cork team in tight games that management seem content to let continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,762 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Every team is at it.

Kilkenny and Tipp are no saints. Tipp get players sent off frequently last couple seasons.

Limerick get a bit extra flack cause of their success but its been going on before that it's just been getting more coverage as more games on TV now.

EVENFLOW

sone cork players went overboard last night anf if they continue that in championship they will be getting plenty of cards and frees against them making it very hard win anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭guanciale

There is a recurring theme by several posters that the game is dreadful to watch now and its all physicality and ‘throwball’.

I dont buy that at all. There are areas need addressing, such as continued failure to call steps or throw, but the game as a spectacle is better than ever - skill, speed and big hits. Christ almighty thats what team sport os about. Every Munster game this year, like last will sell out.

I am glad that the game continues to evolve and there are a number of styles on display. Im also glad that not every team is hitting long to square on every ball.

hurling to watch is in a great place, and yes there are issues such as games development and consistent referring need addressing. But its far from unwatchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭C4000

100 per cent agree. Weve had unreal games over the last few years across intercounty and club.