2026 Irish Gigs (Confirmed & Rumoured Events)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

They also played a bunch of songs outside the album each time on their anniversary tour, cracking set lists.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,923 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I think the truth is somewhere in the middle. The norm indeed is that there won't be just the one album with nothing else - unless of course it is a really long album.

Years ago I saw Einstürzende Neubauten in Brussels. It was a 2 night residency (kind of) which was advertised as Greatest Hits (sic) for the first night and their then latest album Lament for the second night. The key thing here is: Lament is 70-75 minutes long, so with a little bit of impro can easily stretch to 90 minutes. They ended up adding 3-4 more songs and I think the gig was around 110 minutes.

On a slightly different example, the last Culture Club gig at 3Arena was the first two albums and nothing else. But two albums (plus a couple of b sides from the era) gave us another 110 minutes (plus Tony Hadley playing the Spandau Ballet greatest hits as support).

45 minutes is OK for a new band promoting their debut album. Absolutely unacceptable for a seasoned artist.

Upcoming gigs and events: Dry Cleaning, The Shawshank Redemption, Sprints, These Charming Men, Sasha Velour, Disorder Festival, David Byrne, The Cure, Garbage, Bob The Drag Queen, Sigur Ros, Olafur Arnalds, Cabaret Voltaire, Angine de Poitrine, Cardinals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭DarMul17

I’m actually with fanirish on this one. If anyone understands what was technically advertised it’s probably our resident intern, quietly studying gig announcements from the other side of the office wall during their placement.

Typical Boards reaction though, giving out about a gig half the thread weren’t even at and won’t be attending again in the summer anyway. It was clearly advertised as her performing the album, the whole thing staged like a theatrical piece around it. She sold an album show. People went. They got the album. Yet ye still feel need to take potshots on this forum at someone who regularly posts a different opinion.

The outrage mostly reads like the usual box-ticking audit crew turning up with the mental spreadsheet open, stopwatch running, setlist mentally rated, value-for-money calculations underway. If you’re there to tick boxes and score the gig like a Leaving Cert paper, it was probably never going to be for you in the first place.

Relax lads. It’s Friday, not many announcements were this week, we're only in March, reduce the petty bickering. Winter’s finally over.

Surely some of ye are meant to be at work… unless you’re already queuing for the next tick-box show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

More dates added to Imelda May's Raised On Songs & Stories Tour including the Marquee in Cork on June 12th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭fillup

When Massive Attack played Point in 2019 for Mezzanine XXI tour they didn't play anything that wasn't on Mezzanine

It was strictly a very moody and heavy revisit and reworking of the album on its 21st anniversary

i heard a few disgruntled punters giving out about the lack of "the hits" but TBH i think keeping the gig contained to material from the album helped build and maintain the dystopian atmosphere.

That plus the visuals by 3D and Adam Curtis made for a spellbinding show

Remember this was in the middle of Trump Mark 1 and we thought things looked like the end of days back then - in hindsight and by comparison to today, they were halcyon days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭piggysiren

How is anyone in this instance taking pot shots on anyone other than the extremely wealthy Lilly Allen, who isn't on this forum. Are we not allowed to contribute a counterpoint to a counterpoint now? What is a discussion if there isn't discourse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

It's a discussion board.

Also, weren't you recently at a gig and made an entire post complaining to people who weren't at the gig about other people attending the gig?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,857 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

In 2026, deciding your internet gimmick is 2003 NME columnist is an interesting choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

The last rake of posts can be summed up as:

People think its a bit shít that Lily Allen only played for 45 minutes and the first half was lift music - which is a valid subjective opinion.

Fanirish starts an(other) argument that nobody was having about what was legally advertised - which is never what people were complaining about in the first place.

People then start complaining about people complaining and it goes full inception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,054 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Just give me a shout when it's time for someone to lament the gradual disintegration of the thread 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,979 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Untitled Image

Not really. I saw Enter Shikari sold out super quick this morning so my faith in humanity has been partially restored 😋

I'm especially looking forward to the seated, acoustic, orchestral sing-a-long first half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,272 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

If anyone understands what was technically advertised it’s probably our resident intern, quietly studying gig announcements from the other side of the office wall during their placement.

Is this sort of crap really necessary?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

it’s probably our resident intern, quietly studying gig announcements from the other side of the office wall during their placement.

Can you please just stop this bullsh1t? This kind of behaviour is so nasty, so totally designed to belittle and denigrate. Whether fanirish can take it, or is as bad in other ways, is not the point. It's really disgusting to read on a thread that's meant to be about music. No whataboutery makes it ok to write such utterly toxic targetted comments all the time, looking for every opportunity to take a pot shot - even when you are supporting the point at hand. It's horrible to continuosly read, it reflects really badly on you with the constant reference to intern/behind the office wall spying. Just give it up please end engage is decent honest debate.

And there is no "our". This is your construct that you continually poison the thread with. Getting thanks from either weak or other nasty people, typical bully behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,389 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

1000132735.jpg

Im really not trying to be overly inflammatory or fan the flames more and I hope this can be my last devils advocate to this and we can return to gig discussion, but Fanirish is quite rude and insulting when it suits with his comment on 'reading comprehension' being an example from this thread alone, amongst a few other personal experiences, so he can take it if he dishes it, what he receives isn't even rude it's more of a sleight against the air of superiority he adopts than it is insulting like his reading comprehension comment, ye don't all have to leap to his defence every time he invites a situation like that, he can 'defend' himself, but really he is the instigator in all these situations despite what the barrage of comments along the lines of 'poor Fanirish, why is everyone talking about Fanirish (cue wall of comments calling out and talking about people talking about Fanirish)' would suggest or have people believe.

The new Arlo Parks tune on Help 2 is decent as well

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

In more emo news Taking back Sunday in the academy may 20th and limelight may 21st. Raging it's the same night as Hawthorne Heights in the grand social.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Sean Seoighe

I can only speak for myself, but this 'normalises' this way of carrying on / touring and it's a rip off. She's not playing theatres - she's playing 3arena not the Olympia.

As many have said - people fully expect that a tour around a new album to feature heavily the album (and expect more than the album), or for it to be said that the album will be played in full (and, again, expect more than the album). There's been many many examples of that referenced here.

It's also been said that she said that she'll only be performing the album - was that shared before or after people bought tickets? I dare say it was the latter.

Anyone else for Big Special tonight? Crowd called Good Health, Good Wealth on support. Never heard of them but sound like they might be worth a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Sean Seoighe

Further, she's actually performing 2 nights in 3Arena with tickets over €95 for a seat - lets not make out that this is some low key operation aka a theatre tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,562 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Same night as Paul Simon 3Arena too 😔

Hopefully an AFI show here someday

You are right in saying the latter... It was only a few weeks ago actually, gas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Literally just watching their stuff on YouTube at the moment before heading out, looks like they're worth catching alright. They've been around a while by the looks of it.

I don't do the usual social media thing so haven't seen stage times for this evening, are they published?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,562 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

More standing tickets for night 1 of Shinedown in the Olympia released

Have to say really enjoying Those Damn Crows, will definitely go in for them

No, haven't seen them, going with the doors 7, support 8, Big Special 9 approach. Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭Fanirish

I think we already had this debate so no need to getnit started again, it was split, and let's agree to disagree on whether that is a reasonable expectation of no hits or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,214 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Haha I saw what you did there, Jeff Lynne is surprisingly still fairly good.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭fafy

that is probably the lot for the marquee, 20 events on there now, i assume saturday & sunday June 20& 21st which are currently empty at marquee, won’t be filled as Zach Bryan is playing 200 yards away in Pairc Ui Chaoimh both nights so they are probably not permitted to have events on those nights due to crowd/traffic management issues.