Gig Reviews - 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Proper fun gig last night with Scouting for Girls in the Belfast Telegraph. Band seemed on top form, great sound, just the right amount of crowd work and nostalgia, and they seemed genuinely to be having the best fun. Their tour guitarist who was very good is from Belfast so that helped. A lovely night out for a Thursday in town. Only had to move once to avoid a gaggle of yummy mummies scream-talking behind us. Otherwise the crowd seemed well up for it, enthusiastically clapping along for what seemed like every single song (middle aged shoulders haven't thanked me for that today). Short set but whatever, gig finished around 10.30 and back home within 20 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,114 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

The Illustrated Orchestra tonight at Cork City Hall.

I would highly recommend going to see this Orchestra if you are a film score nut like myself. They played a selection of hits from the likes of Hans Zimmer, John Williams, Howard Shore, and James Horner.

Having seen Hans Zimmer live at least 4 times and attending the disaster that was the Harry Potter and LOTR/ Hobbit soundtracks in the BGET a few years ago, I was really looking forward to hearing some Williams and Shore, and boy I wasn't disappointed.

Highlights for me included Jurassic Park, Jaws, LOTR, ET, Harry Potter, Star Wars, and Schlinder's List.

Also didn't see a single phone out for the duration of the show (granted I was in the first 3 rows).

Post edited by Tauriel on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,645 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Very quiet week gig-wise so was glad to get out tonight to The Workman’s for triple bill - Dog Bless, Pretty Limited and The Psychs.
    Pleasant surprise when a familiar face to most of us here appeared on stage to play bass for Pretty Unlimited.
    Once they’d finished their set, he changed and was back doing the job he knows very well. Good man Dylan!

IMG_8746.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭KawaKris

Headed into the Grandbrothers in Vicar St on Monday night. Not generally my thing but I have a soft spot for these guys. I wasn't disappointed, really enjoyed the vibes and the atmosphere was nice and happy. Bloodflow is a great tune.

IMG_7013.JPEG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,562 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

20260228_192425.jpg 20260228_203546.jpg 20260228_212018.jpg 20260228_221830.jpg 20260228_224514.jpg 20260228_225304.jpg

Great night in the 3Arena last Saturday night

Sevendust we're ok, pity no 'Angels Son' but imagine it wouldn't fit the theme to start the night

Daughtry we're pretty good, even if a lot sounded the same at times. Was nice hearing the old stuff (wouldn't know much of the new music) like 'Home','It's not over' and 'Over You'. The cover of Journeys 'Separate Ways' was decent. Not sure I'd pay to see them on there own

Alter Bridge we're fantastic and much better than the last time out in 2022. Got my wish regarding the setlist particularly the amazing renditions of 'Broken Wings' followed by 'Wonderful Life/Watch Over You'. Also enjoyed Cry of Achilles','Metalingus', 'Fortress' and 'Burn It Down'. 'Blackbird' and 'Open Your Eyes' sounded great

These guy's are top musicans. Mark Tremonti has to be very high up in the modern day guitarist/songwriting ranks

Next up David Byrne in the 3Arena on the 13th March

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,059 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

The Scratch in Whelans were great. The wildest mosh pits I've seen in there in years. I'll admit they wouldn't typically be what I'd listen to but I've seen them live a load of times and they always put on a show. Place was feral.

Brooki were in support, second time I'm seen them is as many weeks. Really enjoyed it again, super tight for a newish band and a great sound. They feel destined for the big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,645 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Managed to blag a couple of tickets this afternoon. Brought a friend who hadn’t even heard of them before today.

Standing right next to the speakers at the front, my eye on the setlist taped to the stage beside me. I was not moving. Had to stick my finger in my ear for most of the set, it was so loud it was on the point of painful.

As you said, all the moshes were incredible. I managed to record 5/6 of them. Some fantastic additions to my collection.

My friend was blown away by them and their ability to play the crowd. They’ve worked so hard to get there, they make it look easy.

I’ve booked their record launch next Friday. How mad will the crowd be there? Cannot wait. 😎

IMG_8766.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

RAYE at the 3Arena tonite. Bagged a production ticket at low price half an hour before the show.

What a hot mess of a concert and such a strange performer. Seventeen piece band and not one memorable song save for "Fly Me To The Moon" that your cat and dog knows and the Prince-esque "Ice Cream Man" which she played unaccompanied on piano which was the highlight.

Beautiful visuals and stunning set but a loose horse of a gig otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,857 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

The scratch in a small venue where you got 2 free whiskeys? Fcking chaos. Shorts was the smart choice, that one lad didn't need to bodysurf 10 times though, I've got a stiff neck today.

Next week they've got the record launch so that should be fun. They've been announced for the salty dog cruise this year and I am tempted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,054 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I had never heard of the Salty Dog cruise. Mother of God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,979 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Just saw it this morning as well, looks like it would be the best sort of bedlam!

Did it in 2022, 4 of the best nights of my life, it's 5 nights now

Flogging Molly

Frank turner

Bad religion

The scratch

Beans on toast

Open bar

The coolest group of motherfuckers you'll ever meet.

Snap! 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭dasdog

Only a short performance but I popped in to Spindizzy Records to see Foy Vance on my way home from work. He reminds me of Van Morrison's Astral Weeks era with a bit more blues but has some voice. The hairs on the back of my neck were standing on end at times and you could tell he was loving it. He's playing Custom House Square and the Olympia later this year so it was a great opportunity to see someone quality in front of a few dozen people.

The Scratch are doing something similar in Tower Records next Thursday/Friday.

Absolutely LOVED Big Special in the Academy Green Room tonight. A night iof poetry really. They have their dance numbers but it's mostly poems set to music. I've totally got over my initial mistrust of backing tracks. All those lads, Bob Vylan, Getdown Services, Big Special, etc that have a couple of lads doing bits with backing tracks behind them, they're all deadly. Magnificent lyrics, great craic, great connection, loved them first time i saw them but that was a festival set. This was better again. Lovely, life affirming stuff. Support, Good Health, Good Wealth not as deep but very enjoyable too, cockney rap over beats and guitar, very likable duo. Great night

Edit: shout out to the Birmingham poet who did a bit before they came on. Can't remember his name but he was great.

Post edited by Stillill42 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,114 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

David Attenborough's Ocean in Concert at the 3 Arena tonight

What an enjoyable experience, although I don't think I'll enjoy watching documentaries at home quite as much anymore having experienced a live orchestra play along. 🤣

The Ulster Orchestra were top notch and the London Voices were the cherry on top.

20260307_215239.jpg 20260307_214945.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Clearly a lot of sound problems at Cardinals tonight. Drums way too loud for most of the gig, with other stuff going on too. Would like to see them again in better conditions. Really liked the tambourine/accordion player. Hope they can sort the sound out next time.

It was a toss between Cardinals and Murder Hole Beach in Curveball. Went with the latter. Not disappointed.

This Dublin outfit should be playing bigger venues by now, not sure why not, they were superb.

Thought the very capable lead singer would get a mosh going earlier but he waited til the last song to produce one of my favourite ever moshes. Crowd went mental afterwards. Well done Grandad, you survived, just!! 👏👏👏

https://open.spotify.com/artist/0iJVgmLtSzVQcxVpBuXD4a?si=8odwuhnrQee6EoXcbYbs2Q

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,923 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

I thought that the sound was a bit unbalanced, but put it down to being in the very back of the room - I was towards the front for the support band Pebbledash and I found their sound good.

Even with the issues, I thought they were good, they have found their sound and only a matter of time before the move to the next tier of venue size. Interested on what I heard from Pebbledash, I will check them a bit more.

Post edited by Irish Aris on

Upcoming gigs and events: Dry Cleaning, The Shawshank Redemption, Sprints, These Charming Men, Sasha Velour, Disorder Festival, David Byrne, The Cure, Garbage, Bob The Drag Queen, Sigur Ros, Olafur Arnalds, Cabaret Voltaire, Angine de Poitrine, Cardinals

After three nights of great live music, thought I’d try something different tonight and went experimental at Anseo.

Openers were Marconi’s Mess, an electronic duo with lots of knob twiddling, a bit of drumming and plenty of feedback interference.

Then we had Czech artist Goodbye Clifford, followed by New Yorker Kelpy Cathedral who both pushed the boundaries of dance/electronica/punk/bizarre performance to the limits.

Headliners, the totally unpronounceable, 3A3H3N3D3I, turned out to be the duo from the opening band plus a bass player and lead guitar. Wasn’t sure what to expect but they were an unbelievably good run-of-the-mill noise rock outfit. What a fantastic surprise!

What a weekend of music, love it!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭sabrewulf

First night of "K-Pop Forever! Tribute" at the 3arena in Dublin just ended. Leaving this video here so you be judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,389 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Looks like something anyone under 5 years of age would find insultung

1000073693.jpg

Seeing the scratch without being able to mosh is an interesting experience but that was a fun hour, new stuff all sounds solid and the guitar on horseflies is insane, great to hear war of the buttons.

If the weather plays ball iveagh gardens could be an absolute belter.

Yeah, I was waiting for the mosh too but it was early so I think everyone was too sober and worried about knocking over stuff in the shop.

Listening to their new album this morning, walking along Howth Harbour. Let out a bit of a squeal when Cracks came on, great tune. Unfortunately they admitted it wasn’t ready to perform yet. (What the feck have they been doing for the last year? 😉).

Even though there wasn’t a setlist in sight, it was still a great hour, really good sound as well. They were so appreciative. Fair dues to them.

Too early to go home so mad dash across the Liffey to The Sound House to catch the headliners - Sabbages. Trad-fusion in good old Pogues fashion. They weren’t the tightest of bands but they were good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

David Byrne and his band. Unbelievable live show. Each song was like a new live music video. With exceptional music to back it up. Has to be seen to really appreciate it

20260313_204147.jpg 20260313_204917.jpg 20260313_205602.jpg 20260313_210536.jpg 20260313_211202.jpg 20260313_212214.jpg 20260313_213007.jpg 20260313_214430.jpg 20260313_214936.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,389 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭TenPicnics

From the very first song, Heaven, the phenomenal sound, the quality of his singing (could hear every single word), the visuals, it hit me like a train how this gig would probably be one of the best of my life. I am still happily dazed by last night, will never forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,443 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I thought last night’s David Byrne show was better than American Utopia.

The staging, choreography, song arrangements, setlist, visuals, musicianship. Everything was just breathtaking.

Went in with huge expectations which were surpassed.

I’m a big Talking Heads fan and I’ve never seen Byrne live before. So glad to be there last night.