Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭tara73

considered that briefly but not very credible. was still the time without mobiles. he must have driven to the house of that accomplice. that person must have been present at home, politician son telling him about JoJo at the telephone box and the accomplice immediately driven to the phone box to pick her up.

they both agreed to commit a serious crime just on a whim so to say, because the opportunity was there, but I think to do sth. like this, in general, they must have discussed it some time before.

Yes, it could be possible. Especially because there are two witnesses who claim to saw a screaming naked woman in Moone on that night.

still, I don't believe in this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Yes, it could be possible. Especially because there are two witnesses who claim to saw a screaming naked woman in Moone on that night.

The screaming naked woman is from an article from a few years ago.

I woman went to the gardai and a reporter a few years ago because a truck driver told here that on the night JoJo went missing he and his boss saw a woman naked screaming in Moone at 11pm.

They rang the gardai, they said they would send a car out to investigate.

That's all we know.

The reporter got the story second hand and decades after the fact, plus the timeline is wrong.

It's nothing.

don't think it can be put aside as 'nothing'. this is the article about it: https://www.crimeworld.com/ireland/trucker-saw-screaming-woman-running-naked-on-night-of-jo-jo-dullard-disappearance/a/104077414.html

quite the opposite than nothing, who else should it have been on exactly that night of her disappearance? Quite disturbing everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 hacoran

I'm trying to figure out what I would do if I saw a naked screaming person, running in the street and I watching from my car. You would be in shock and wonder if it was a joke or a set up, afraid to get involved but in the end, you'd have to try to help, especially if it was a woman. It's such an extreme scenario, I doubt that story was made up somehow, it seems authentic. Poor man, it must haunt him

exactly my thoughts and additionally how unbearable tragic: they wanted and could have saved her life but obviously she thought they were involved with the killers and ran away. but then, if she managed to ran away from her 'savers', she possibly hid somewhere, so why did the killers managed to get her again. so many unanswered questions/strange things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Did they stop and try to rescue her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,762 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

This asks a lot more questions than answers.

Mid 90s was a differnt Ireland.

If she did escape then was she found by the same persons

You could raise a list was 2 people involved. Unlikely but its strange one

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

First off the information in the article isn't from the truck driver that saw the naked lady, it's from a woman who meet the truck driver by chance in Moone 25 years after JoJo went missing.

So the information is second hand straight away, quotes like 'Don't worry, it'll be grand, we'll send a car out' that sound very flippant are attributed to the gardai, but infact they are just the words of this woman and/or the author.

The woman also tells of the Gardai initially dismissing that the naked lady was Jojo because she was later seen in Castledermot.

This would have been the case early on in the investigation as there was an alleged sighting in Castledermot, but the definitive last contact with JoJo was the call to her friend from the phone box in Monne around 11:20.

So then there is no way it could have been JoJo as she wasn't even in Moone at the time of the naked lady sighting at 11pm.

I don't doubt that the truck driver saw what he saw, and I don't doubt he called the Gardai that night, and a few weeks later and 25 years later.

But I also don't doubt that the Gardai investigated the naked lady on the night as they said they would and came to a conclusion in that investigation.

If the Gardai beliveved the naked lady was a piece to this puzzle we would have heard a lot more about her in the last 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 304 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

I've only recently learned about the Annie McCarrick case in detail, and the story about Johnnie Fox's does not add up.

It was a Friday, she had the day off (she worked at a café). That morning she bought groceries and called her friend from a phone box to see if she would come to the Dublin/Wicklow Mountains with her later, but the friend had hurt her ankle and couldn't. This friend said Annie told her she was going to the mountains for a walk that afternoon - nothing about going there in the evening to attend Johnnie Fox's.

The timeline indicates that Annie would have got back to her Sandymount flat from the supermarket, phone box and also a bank visit, by about 12.

She had told someone what her next plans were before heading to the mountains: to make desserts (she had friends calling to her place for dinner the following evening) and to bring some of these desserts to her workmates as she had to call to the café to get her wages (which were supposed to be ready the previous day but there was some tech issue and they got delayed).

So if she headed to the mountains later that afternoon, did she just hang around the area on her own until that night when she was supposedly sighted entering Johnnie Fox's between 8 and 10pm? It doesn't make sense. There were no reported sightings of her on the walking trail, no sighting of her grabbing a bite to eat (the one alleged sighting was by the post office lady in Enniskerry, who said a young woman that could be Annie bought stamps). This was a long time to kill, and the weather got really bad. Annie had work the next morning - how was she planning to return to Sandymount that night?

It's strange but not impossible, however when her flat was eventually entered, there was no sign of desserts having been made. In fact, the groceries she bought Friday morning were still sitting in their bags on the kitchen counter, including perishable items. There was also a load of her laundry in the washing machine. And she did not visit the café to pick up her wages (which I assume she needed urgently as they were a day late and she was heading off for a little day trip).

I know there were sightings of her - however, could these have been erroneous? Without these, it doesn't seem like she left Dublin at all. But then again, if there was a woman or women who were mistaken for her, wouldn't they have come forward?

It's absolutely bizarre.

Post edited by Mother Shaboobu on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Re Annie Mc Carrick - the whole "Fox's" episode has been debunked. Doesn't hold water and has been discounted.

Even Annie's bus trip to Enniskerry has been cast in doubt, though not completely ruled out; there were credible sightings of her going on the bus. She might have gone there for her walk and come back, to find danger waiting near her home.

However Gardaí now seem to think that Annie never went on that outing at all, that she was most likely abducted and assaulted shortly after she got home with the shopping that morning.

This idea emerged quite recently - the Guards have not given details on what prompted the change in their line of investigation but it seems to have something to do with an item owned by Annie, a distinctive leather shoulder-bag. And may also involve her ex-boyfriend, a man with a record of aggressive behaviour towards her. Possibly with an accomplice.

That's all that has been published about recent developments in the case - although I am sure there is plenty that has NOT been published. We know that searches were conducted at the former family home of the "boyfriend" But no more has been said about these possible suspects.

There the matter rests, for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 304 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

Thanks @Day Lewin - I'm really behind on this one. The unpacked groceries and full load of laundry in the washing machine make me think she never left Dublin. No sign of a struggle so it was probably someone she knew. Doesn't point to being a Larry Murphy case.

Post edited by Mother Shaboobu on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,762 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Wasn't it a bouncer that was convinced he saw her outside the pub and Garda took that lead for long time

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I found this an interesting podcast episode about Annie McCarrick, FBI agent Kenny Strange (also friend of the McCarrick family) is of a similar mindset re Johnny Foxes that it doesn't make sense that she would have been planning to go there on the day in question given the timeline

https://open.spotify.com/episode/66BuQRqNk1VSDCkuamX8kA

Re Annie McCarrick, I believe her friends and family in America had faxed details of an assault that Annie had told them about. They included names of the assailants ( not sure if that's plural, maybe just one). These faxes were somehow never received or mislaid in the garda station. The investigation might have followed a very different line if enquiry if the information had been available, I wish Annie's mother could lay her daughter to rest, such a sad sad case, she seemed like a very decent young woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭julyjane

You would wonder now if the information about going to enniskerry was a deliberate ruse. I know someone in a shop there said there was an American woman in but it's a fairly touristy area and they might not have started investigating there til a week or 2 after her last confirmed sighting.

Sadly I think the fact that she was planning to make a meal and the perishable food was left in a bag along with her wages not being collected, the most likely cause of her disappearance is the obvious one.

True, with Powerscourt Estate nearby and it being such a picturesque setting, I think it wouldn't be unusual to meet foreign tourists in Enniskerry and Johnny Foxes similarly. Sometimes you feel as though you know the people in these cases because you read so much about them and their circumstances, but it's fair to say, Annie seemed like a thoughtful, organized and caring person so it would be out of character to abandon the laundry or not put away the messages when she got home. She also didn't come across as one who'd take the notion to go on a hike, alone, late in the day, in bad weather and end up in a remote pub with no means of getting home....but what do I know!

Edited to say that anyone can end up stranded late at night, especially relying on public transport but just didn't seem like she would decide to do that.

Post edited by hacoran on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Knine

Sure they have a prime suspect & he lives in Meath now.. not hard to find on Google. He was arrested last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭julyjane

Most of the time when a woman is murdered it's by a man well known to her. Thankfully the Larry Murphys of this world who abduct women not known to them with the intention to kill them are extremely rare.

Re AmcC, I remember they arrested someone and spoke to another who was allegedly seriously ill in hospital abroad (PB/HB???) Took a long time to reach that point, does anyone know if he/they actively 'directed' the investigation away from themselves? As close friends of hers, they were surely in the spotlight at the time. I might be remember ing wrong but Annie's dad, a former cop in the US, was involved in the investigation, heartbreaking for her parents.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

RTE news : Body of Liam Farrell to be exhumed, new post-mortem planned

http://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2026/0305/1561868-body-of-liam-farrell-to-be-exhumed-and-new-postmortem-conducted/

Hopefully this can bring closure to Mr Farrell's family, there was a good episode of Crimeworld where they spoke with one of his sons about the circumstances surrounding his death, some odd details that the gardaí didn't pay too much attention to according to the family.

what a disturbing case. This man was 100% murdered but investigations just didn't happen, just stating he died from a heartattack. Mindboggling. And locals seem to know sth. too…seems like a mafia killed him and everybody knows them and is afraid of revenge if talking the truth. as said, horrible.

I have just watched the RTE Prime Time investigation on Liam Farrell's death, that is a very strange case altogether, and very very sad for his family. Did I misunderstand or do the Gardai believe his dog removed his shoes and socks? And placed the shoes neatly beside the back door? Rooskey is a small place, surely someone seen that all unfold. May he rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,867 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

And also given the time of year and shorter daylight, a day trip to Enniskerry doesn't seem plausible he says.

To thine own self be true

Does anyone know if there were any updates on the case of Dean Roche, who's missing since 2015? I know his friend Damien did YouTube and Facebook updates but it must be so hard for him, the investigation seems to have stalled at a very early stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Arrests in the case of William Delaney, who disappeared seven years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,867 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,429 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I'm assuming it's at least two of the same people who have been arrested and released without charge previously. Hopefully one of them will eventually crack and spill information.

https://forumofgames.com/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 62,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Am I reading it correctly that it was over a month before he was reported missing? Interesting 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,429 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Six weeks before they reported him missing, make of that what you will 🙄

https://forumofgames.com/