Should we be taking notice of the stocking up for 72hours here or is it just Scaremongering?

• 02-03-2026 11:12PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,324 ✭✭✭✭

What do others think about the news today that we should be stockpiling for 72 hours to prepare what is going on in the world? - should we be taking it here in Ireland as serious? - what is it a recommendation for, because there will be shortages etc or other reasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Being prepared for 3 days is pretty mild. We've already faced scenarios like COVID where in general it was sensible to prepare for a far more extended period of isolation..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Surely people would have stocks of most things to cover 3 days. A decent storm can leave power, water etc out for 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Ah here. If you haven't already got three days worth of stuff in your house just from your normal shopping habits I'd be absolutely astonished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭nachouser

1000012263.jpg 1000012262.jpg

I'll ride out the storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭yagan

On an average week I have enough basics to not need to go to the shop more than once.

Plus I'm starting to grow veggies, so will need even less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,215 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,735 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

I don't think you need to be a die hard prepper to have more than 3 days of food in the house.

I think the problem for many if the power goes off for 3 days is having enough water?

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

I hope you have some Chianti to go with all those beans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Also, you'll need plenty of toilet paper and perhaps some imodium.

Hah, yeah. Beans on toast is my go to when working from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭lucalux

hmm I'd usually have maybe 10 days food in terms of store cupboard stuff, out of habit, but a couple of months of coming down to the wire each week means I need to do a stock up

just realised I have no rice at all... 🫣 usually have a couple kilos, plus beans galore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭bassy

ya will need some bangers with the beans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭lucalux

those protein nuts are great aren't they?! like smokey bacon flavour or thereabouts

No Chianti, but I will also be good for wine for a bit.

1000012264.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,323 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I am not a hardcore prepper, but everything in my apartment from heating to cooking requires electricity. The central heating is gas powered, but due I suppose to health and safety, you can no-longer light the pilot light with a match like you used to be able to, it is now electric. That means if I lose power I lose my ability heat the gaff or cook anything(the hob is electric too). I have a camping barbecue, and a couple of hex-a-lite camping stoves. For a sustained period of no power, I have enough food in the freezer to keep me going for a week. Then I can move on to the noodles, rice, instant soups, baked beans, tuna etc.

"Households are to receive advice on how to prepare for being without essential services for 72 hours as part of Government planning" Jesus, never mind baked beans, this plan is half baked at best. 21 year old less responsible, less prudent me, had 72 hours worth of supplies for fex sake. I'd be surprised if any household has less than 72 hours worth of supplies already in the house.

What is their advice going to be? Buy a loaf of bread, a pound of ham, a pund of butter, a dozen eggs, a box of wheetabix, and 3 pot noodles?

This idea didn't come from helen "Minister of Chocolate Teapots" McEntee by any chance did it?

No Chianti, but I will also be good for wine for a bit.

I was expecting the image to show a wine cellar. Not 4 feckin bottles. You'll get through 72 hours I suppose. Just.

All EV drivers who power from their own home solar are feeling pretty smug this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,303 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I'd be surprised if any household has less than 72 hours worth of supplies already in the house.

I wouldn’t -

https://www.thejournal.ie/four-in-ten-parents-skipped-meals-cost-of-living-ireland-6756316-Jul2025/

That being said, referring to three days worth of provisions as ‘stockpiling’ is significantly stretching the meaning of the word, even disregarding the idea that it is either necessary or useful should the world indeed go to shìt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,323 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Context is everything in polls like this. A poll put out by the childrens's charity Barnardos. To begin with, you would assume the people filling out the poll, are familiar with Barnardo's already, Are clients of theirs most likely, so its safe to say 100% of the people completing the poll are in some sort of financial strife.

4 out of 10 of people needing assistance of Barnado's have skipped meals to feed their kids. That sounds realistic. However the way its worded, it sounds like 40% of the population is on the bread line. Which it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

100% agree. So mild…I’ve got weeks worth of food and drinks here when you factor in dried foods and things with long best before dates…

Packs of rice, pasta dishes in packets, dried pasta, fresh pasta, bread in freezer, meats in freezer, loads of canned food, peas, lots of soups, tinned and packets…. 3 days is nothing… basically 9 meals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Time for changes
    The truth doesn't lie.

I would probably be able to live out of my fridge and freezer for a couple of months, bread, meat, meals, and the usual suspects in it. A big stand up freezer/fridge usually always full. I have solar and batteries that work in power cuts so like during the last big storm I was able to keep going 5 day's until power was restored with no issues.

I couldn't recommend solar and batteries more, if you can afford it do it but be careful of rip off merchants. There's threads here. https://www.boards.ie/categories/renewable-energies

If you keep looking back you'll never see what's in front of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

A bit??? That'd last about two days in my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭malibu4u

Should have enough cash for 3 days groceries / food anyway in case there was cyber attack and visa or the bank I.t. system went down.

I can't remember which government dept issued it but there was a top three and supply chain disruption was up there. I don't think Trump pedo distraction war will affect us other than a rise in inflation, but knowing how he's as likely to get bored already it could be mostly over, bar afters, by next week.

I'm a list shopper, really got into the habit during Covid and it stuck. I can be in and out of an Lidl or Aldi with two weeks basics in under 20 mins if it's quiet. When I write my list I arrange it so everything is sequential to the layout of an Aldi or Lidl so zero distraction.

If my wife comes with me then double the time as she gets buried in the middle isle and impulse buying. In truth I hate shopping so I prefer to spend the least amount of time doing it.

Another area that needs considering is how long will your stuff in the freezer last if we get power cuts?

Without going full blown prepper the easiest way of thinking about this is do you have enough provisions and everything needed (except tents and sleeping bags) for camping for 3 days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,408 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It's not just 3 days at home. Most people who work in disaster preparedness recommend having a Go bag with 3 days of supplies. So clothes, medicines, important docs etc. Think of scenarios like the flooding recently. You might need to leave very fast and not be able to get back for a few days.

It's not end of the world prepping like they do in the US. It's more natural disasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Absolutely, best laid plans of weeks of frozen food could go array in just a matter of hours if electricity is off for an extended period.

I’m not at all immune to extended periods without electricity but I do have a stack of BBQ coals and a gas BBQ and gas hob so at least for a number of days I can put a hot meal on the table - but it will only postpone rioting in the streets by a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭ThreeGreens

Most people will have enough food for three days.

But other things to think about are

-how to cook it without power, (Maybe a camping stove, a disposable BBQ, an open fire, or just food that can be eaten without needing to cook it)

-do you have water to drink if the mains goes, (Prob a good idea to have some bottled water stored. You need a lot for cooking and washing up. You won't survive long without drinking water).

-do you have non-perishable food if the electricity goes, (without electricity, your fridge won't keep food cool for long)

-do you have lighting if the power goes. (Not totally essential - you could just go to bed when it gets dark, but it would make life much easier in the winter, and might be necessary if an emergency requires you to do something in the dark. Most of all know where to find it in the dark in case you lose power when it's already dark).

They are all pretty simple things, and easy to work around, but worth giving a moments thought to. Storing water is probably the hardest as it needs to be replaced every so often.

Here's another thought if there is no water.

How do you flush the toilet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Toilet roll, load up on that stuff.