The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 BreffniBoy123

Nail on the **** head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Custard_Cream

Brilliant post - we used to have ambition in this county when the likes of Nicholas Walshe, Peter Donnelly and co were involved.. It would seem they were facilated by a very good chairman in Tom Reilly too . These men were creating structures for long term success which has been completely destroyed over a period of time .

Now our seniors are an absolute mess.. You know it's bad when people are reminiscing about Galligan. A man with no managerial experience at any level was far superior in the role to McCabe who has been coaching for over 15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,721 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

”Miles ahead in a long time”. We beat them the last two years in the League, last year without even playing well.

Your quip about what players would change the panel is ironic if you aren’t blaming McCabe. Who has been in charge of player development for the last 12 years!?

Tactics are obviously an issue. Zonal marking is not working and we don’t kick the ball enough. As I said last week, management are trying to shoehorn tactics from pre rules into a game that has changed due to the rules.

It also appears his appointed management team are puppets. One of them was a mute along the line against Tyrone and then had to have an illegal headpiece to be given his orders the following week.

I’d take Finbarr Reilly over McCabe every day of the week. Do you think Mickey Harte went looking for the Offaly job? Or Oisin McConville thought I’ll head for Wicklow? County boards are approaching people but the minute the GDM put himself forward he could give the job to himself. He makes all the decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Cavanlad23

Well I'd say McEvoy should be on the panel absolutely ridiculous how things broke down there. James Smith stepped away but was it for personal reasons or was it because of who the manager was. I would also argue for the likes of Enda McGuire probably deserves another chance given his performances for in the senior championship last year. Mullahorn and Ballyhaise were very good later especially at midfield. Are they the answer possibly not but we should be rewarding players doing well for their clubs.

The bigger issue is we don't have any underage success in recent years, developments squads are basically extra training sessions with very little else, there needs to be serious investment in youth structure, young lads coming through must want to play for Cavan. The rot is long set in, how many lads decide not to play, or walk away early, what was Jack Brady for example when he packed it in 24???

The 2020 Ulster was an incredible achievement a real chance to inspire the next generation that fell flat, and instead they are going to build a new stand, seat the terrace and suck the life from the county ground and for what, the occasional Ulster Final or All Ireland quarter final ? Maybe a concert or two?

The only saving grace is some clubs are gone big and are really investing in youth. "Good U14s make good Seniors" is something I hear a bit but we need the structures to give the top players at that age level a pathway to the intercounty set up. That means quality coaching, extra sessions which focus on lifestyle, s&c and skills.

Its also shocking that they have let Terry Hyland out in the cold since he left. Surely there was room in the youth structure for him ?

As for managers McDermott was in the running but pulled out when he was told his backroom team would be selected for him..

I would say an approach to the likes of Niall Lynch, who has a habit of getting the best from teams. Two time All Ireland winner bringing multiple clubs together with Virgina College.

Look once McCabe showed interest the county board were not going with anyone else, everyone knew this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭etuzyuk

Poor result but it's been coming. Anyone who was talking us up before the game fell into the trap of looking at score lines and not actual performances. Yesterday is what happens when a decent well drilled team tear into us and don't leave a mountain of scores after them. I feared something like that before the game but hoped they might have forgot their kicking boots. Unfortunately that's the only way we'll be in games against the better teams in this division.

I dread to think what it could be like later in the year on firm pitches against a top team in AI . Because looks like Offaly and Kildare are worse than us. At least it's not the group stages like previous years. All's never lost in sport but it'll take a fair man to rally this squad. And I don't think that man exists, well not in the current set up at any rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Bduff1

well I was completely wrong. Dominated . This loss is not on the players. How did he get that so wrong. Was that about a 15 min spell we couldn’t win a kickout. How did he not start Brady from corofin against a big midfield, we needed a man like him claiming and breaking ball. When he came on we finally got grips with kickouts.

how did he not see that? Some poor individual performances none the less. Paddy lynch is our household name in the country but he was invisible for 90 percent of the game.

Thankfully Meath bet Kildare well we can still stay up depending on their results and if we beat Offaly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭celt262

We would be better off going to Division 3 with another raft of retirements likely on the way we need a lower base to try and rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭large_palette

What a goal that was from Louth, to give them their dues. Keeper to net using 4 kicks only. I suspect we'll be seeing it on goal of the year reels unfortunately. Lots of media attention on their expansive play but I thought Louth's defence was robust and well organised. They snuffed us out several times and always seemed to have us shooting under pressure.

The only silver lining after last nights results is that we have Kildare on the head to head even though they are a point ahead. Unless they can get something out of Cork or Louth, it still may come down to us getting that win in Tullamore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Custard_Cream

Are Kildare not guaranteed all Ireland because of last year's tailteann win? So if we finish third bottom above Kildare it will be us in the second tier this summer I believe.. McCabe didn't respect the competition last year when Westmeath entered it so our season is as good as over at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,508 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I wouldn't be enthusiastic for going to Divison 3. One outing on April 19 in Clones could be the only big time football for the year, even if Monaghan are not going well either.

For me Sam is the only place to be. But even 6th in Division 2 could still mean the Tailteann, depends on provincial results later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

Anyone watch Tommy Tiernan last night? Very pointed comment from Luke Loughlin.

Absolutely need to win in Tullamore. Offaly are very poor. Derry is a write off. Good chance Kildare mightn't pick up another win. A draw for them still puts us ahead. Only other county we can jump is Tyrone, but that would take a crazy set of results. So am I right in saying that we're more or less guaranteed to be in TC?

That's actually as good as it can be for us. We don't belong in AI competition. We'll get a good enough gauge, or maybe harsh lesson, of where we're at competing in Ulster. After that if we could get a good run in TC, while also maintaining Division 2 status (Kildare as TC champions must compete in AI), it wouldn't be the worst position to be in building for next year and beyond. Only fly in the ointment there is management 🤔.

Yeah thanks. Just copped that after I posted. Only way we could be in AI is if Tyrone get relegated and don't reach Ulster final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

No your wrong should kildare get relegated the 2nd team in Div3 misses out.

How would any forward prosper in our system? Compare our attacking play to the way Louth kicked the ball to create 3 on 3 opportunities for their players.

The quicker you break, the less time it allows the opposition to setup their defence. It has to be hugely frustrating for Cavan forwards. By the time they get the ball, they are crowded out.

We are still stuck in the retain the ball at all costs and take no risks tactics of the past. Louth’s first goal chance, that ended in a point, came from a ball thumped in on top of Breen O’Connell with their full forward. Would Cavan do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Breffniblue71

Dermot got rid of experienced members of the panel who had lots to give. He then decided to bring in an older cohort of less experienced players some of whom were tired and tested under previous managements and didn’t cut it.
    when your opting for a player from Galway instead of looking within an age group which our manager should be developing speaks a lot about the job he has done.

Several times yesterday our front 3 had backs turned and drifted back towards goal when we were attacking. Probably knew it wouldnt be kicked in.

No, they go into All Ireland but are the 1st to drop out if places go to the likes of kildare. At least that's the way it was, unless rule changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,508 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It is the same as far as I can see. The Division 3 final can be a mighty important game. Westmeath got into Sam from second place in 2024, after beating Down in the final. But it all depends on later results in the provincials.

https://www.gaa.ie/article/format-for-2026-all-ireland-sfc-and-tailteann-cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Cavanlad23

Whats the craic with development squads, apparently if a young lads gets trials and doesn't make it, they aren't even told. Basically if you don't get a text, You're not in.

Absolutely shocking if true, no thanks, no this is where you need to improve etc

I have heard the above re parents saying what you said - no confirmation. Lads finding out in school their friend got an email/text whereas they didn’t.

The squads have been in trouble for a while now as you can see from underage results. For a few years there, they had fathers running them and it made a joke of them. Even club trainers of the same age level was wrong as they were just trying to look after their own. The lads and dads approach as I’d label it. All a cost saving measure to avoid paying proper coaches so we can do structural redevelopment that isn’t needed. In all fairness too, a bit of effort could have been put into actually approaching people rather than just sending an email for people to hold their hands up.

The main issue I’d have is the credibility of the squads was destroyed. You had 4 or 5 lads from a low Division team making squads whereas you could have Division 1 or 2 teams with only 1 or 2 representatives. Then you had lads who wouldn’t start on a school team making it ahead of others who would in the same school. Even on the squads then, you allegedly had inexplicable decisions made by coaches involving players from their own clubs.

20 years ago I remember a group of lads got called up to the Cavan team and went to Liverpool for the Champions League final celebrations rather than go to county training. I remember thinking a few years back we’ll be at that level again.

Post edited by Cavan_King on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ipitydafool

Not sure I would agree with all you have written here, personally don't see any issue with players from lower divisions having more on any underage squad than players from higher divisions if selection done on merit but unfortunately with how coaches have been brought into these squads then selection will be viewed with skepticism. I remember being in Brefine a few years ago when our supreme leader was presenting on academy/development squads using a copy and pasted PowerPoint of what Monaghan were doing and had been doing for the previous few years except they were not looking for parents/coaches from clubs to come in to run a development squad. Haven't heard much since Liam Brady came in so maybe structures will or have changed, you need to have a clear plan on how you move a 15 year that comes into a development squad and progresses to a 20/21 year old and potentially playing for senior team. Tbf there was a high level of professionalism brought to county minor team last year and they performed well, again have heard the same approach this year in terms of physically developing the players on the squad and what you would expect at a top level county, however no use doing it at one age group and not another. No clear guidance or structures all comes down to the GDM and have been lacking for over 10 years with nothing been done about it.

I tell you one thing that i heard from the horses ("Bulls") mouth. Him and the coaches in Breffni cannot develop players for a county team from the development squads as they only have them for 40 something hours a year.

If a team has five juvenile lads of development squad level, how would they be in Division 3? You seemed to disagree with my point but then agree with it.

All I’ve seen since Brady came in is the structure change which I’m no fan of. Still very surprised it got through.

That structure change has 0 to do with Brady or McCabe it is all down to the youth board.

Its not impossible for a small club to have 2 or 3 outstanding players but then need to bring up 7/8 players from the age group below. Hence ending up in a lower division. 5 now does seem very unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 breffnitightlips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ipitydafool

Exactly this, can easily have a case of 3 or 4 very strong county level players on a club team that might struggle to fill out a panel and need to bring it up players from lower age groups, indeed have seen it cost many a club where a team with bigger numbers and overall stronger depth will overcome a team dominated by a small number of strong players. Don't see why it would be an issue if they were then on any county underage panels especially if making strong school teams etc.

I agree with Cavan King on how these development squads have been setup in terms of coaching selection but don't think just cos a player is on a team competing outside Div1 or 2 they should be excluded or like above a strong cohort it should be an issue if they are all making it. Maybe he has an actual example to share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

He said they lost nine games by one point but that they have good management this year.