Beef price tracker 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭grange mac

Hearing another drop next week 7 seems to be well gone.... I've half mine left and just think I'll send them to grass despite being 34 months... just don't want give shower soot of cheap cattle. They not fit for factory.

you are asking for trouble with overage cattle

well over 7 is freely available for in spec cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭morphy87

€7.50 flat underage aax bullocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭kk.man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

I heard APB are trying to drop it towards €6.90 this week.

A joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭limo_100

wonder are abp doing a beef deal with the Iran government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Conorkcp

7.00 Base on the grid for steers, north east

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Considering the Larry Goodman documentary is on RTE tonight would that be why APB and the front runners in pulling prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,095 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Slava Ukrainii

@Bass Reeves o I know... but I get the impression that Larry is the sort of guy who wouldn't like his business been examined that much & would kick anyone within shot out of vengeance.

And that's why small winter finishers are being absolutely r^&&÷,n by a company when beef is in short supply and the rest just follow the leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Austinbrick

So what's the other option?

Competition authority in this country has been toothless or never done their job. FF has seen to that and its possibly too late now. Slaney should never have been given the go ahead. A plant capable of 80k cattle a year, banana Republic.

Make no mistake their are hoovering in huge profits again.

There's is a cohort of finishers who are responsible for up to 6k of Irish cattle going into meat plants (from a short finish from buying) on a weekly basis sponsored by the big factories which are undermining the price of at this present time. Most are non aligned to the normal feedlots hence we have 30k per week killed. Its pay George to do Johnny situation.

So where the **** are Bord Bias rules now.... this protest was not just about Brazilian beef and if farmers can't see it they are blind. When genuine farmers watch moves and residencies on the mart board to give the factories what they want only to be undermined by chancers and gonbeen ppl whats the point….

Post edited by kk.man on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,095 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Often the first loss is the cheapest loss. Looking at marts there is a bit of value around the edges (I think) on cattle to finish in late August/September ( 350kgs traditional breed cattle and cull cows). I saw somewhere that live exports are back 60% at present. I be holding off buying calves.

Interesting at the 43 minute mark as well he talk that if factory price drop the store he buys is back in price in the mart the following week.

You will buy those agey stores at value at the moment. If there is flesh I be inclined to hang them

What is a well above 7 base price and what type of cattle and numbers required.

Buying cattle to winter finish is a high risk game unless you are calf to beef.....and even then. Gave it up years ago as you are eith autumn buying and need a margin over the most expensive feeding time of the year or buyi yearling as you sell at the most expensive time of year. As long as processors will not gaurantee you a spring price its a crazy game

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

That's exactly why beef protests outside factory gates are no good. Goodman and co took their battle into the carpeted rooms of civil servants and politicians and convinced them they wouldn't set up a cartel if various mergers and acquisitions were allowed go ahead.

Given the nature of cattle rearing and finishing, farmers have little scope to choose when they sell their animals. The Competition Authority should be extra extra vigilant in situations like this. Instead they've taken a "nothing to see here" approach since day-1. All FF/FG have ever done is leave in a harmless oul bullock in the form of the Food Regulator when it's a big Limousin bull that's needed.

And what has Francie or any of his predecessors in the IFA to say on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭chicorytip

The documentary about Goodman on RTÉ was entertaining, mostly because of the contributions of his former colleague turned competitor, Pascal Phelan.

It ended not having covered the Beef Tribunal or Goodman's subsequent career in business. I presume there is a second episode coming. Larry has interests far beyond the beef industry alone.

Pascal Phelan saying 1989 was a great year financially for him. In 1989 I remember bullocks were 80 p per pound and heifers 70p. Those boys were filling the intervention stores with bullocks, they had to find a market for the heifer. It was not a good year for farmers.

@kk.man 1989 was before my time, but from stories that I heard, they were filling intervention beef stores with all the cap of the day. There was half the beef in there that there was ment to be.

I worked in a meat factory at the end of the 90's early 00's for the summers. Intervention beef opened up again 1 of them summers. The amount of department officials that were around to keep an eye on things was mad. Everything had to be weighed 3 or 4 times even the bones going into the skips to ensure everything added up after the messing that went on in the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭massey 265

I boned out beef from 1985 til 2001 in beef factories.Worked with lads and girls from every county in Ireland north and south ,English,Scots,French and Chk Republic.Tough work but good money at the time.Twas eye opening what went on is all ill say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Chatting the agent i usually deal with today and he reckons there is a push on for €6.80 base next week.

@massey 265 ye in fairness as a young lad the crews thats worked in the ones I was in were all sound. Few headcases but we're all good to work with.

Management in were a different story... always seemed to be try to push that bit more when it came to working the systems...

I worked in one aswel and would agree with you. Some of the things I seem could have being prosecuted and some actually where

out to the mart with cattle so. Ballyjamesduff had aa and he bullocks still making 3.80-4 a kg so mart is the place to be.

Unfortunately it is, for forward stores which makes no sense to finish but cattle in general after taking a hit. Its pure scandal what's going on.

Kill climbed again by 1k. YB back.by 400ish, cows, steers and heifers up by 500 ish each.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭tractorporn

What would be the best time to hit the mart for the grass/7 month men? I have 9 white head heifers 400-450kgs which I'm gonna mart instead of pushing them on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭nearlybreak

I’m told thst to and even worse I dunno it’s not adding up no more you can’t buying anything in the marts at them prices factories taking the piss now