Famous Dublin pubs that are no more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,149 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Fire about a year ago. Should reopen early this year, had a popup in the Guinness Storehouse over Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,939 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Christ Church Inn is gone,Already seems to be someone else moving in, Another victim of that death spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,699 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Its really a no mans land between The Lord Edward and Thomas House. Need to link those 2 areas somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

Third Barrel are taking the place now, shouldn't be too long before it opens again.

It's a mad place, the interior is such a weird, disconnected shape. Good luck to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭Jizique

I noticed when passing through TalStreet for the first time in an age that Mother Kelly's, down beside Store St, is closed - anyone know when this happened, I thought it had a good local support base

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,149 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Pandemic, and it had stopped being called Mother Kellys a good time before that.

Licence is held by a company linked to a craft cocktails/gin firm as far as I remember so if it reopens it will be exceptionally different to Mother Kellys. Where I was offered shoplifted bottles of vodka before the barwoman threw yer man out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,951 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I used to work in Áras Mhic Dhiarmada 30 years ago, and we were young and out on a Friday night after[*] work most weeks, no recollection of that place at all. We used to go to Molloy's, we used to think it was a bit edgy but half the clientele were civil servants and the other half were guards 😀

[*] We were clerical assiatants, the lowest of the low. The clerical officers were usually lads in their 30s who regarded themselves as hard chaws, some would hit the pub religiously every Friday at 12:30 and stay there until closing, and bribe a foolish subordinate with the promise of a free pint to clock them in for the afternoon. The minimum attendance on an afternoon was 1.5 hours (2:30-4:00) but they were weekly paid and there was still 'bank time' of half an hour off on payday, so they only had to have their absence go unnoticed for an hour to get away with it

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Thankfully all replaced by monthly bank transfers I hope…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I can’t search properly here so apologies if this has already come up. The White Horse on George’s Quay. I met my wife there and we’ve spent years sailing and knocking around Dublin Bay since. Coincidentally, Captain Bligh of the Bounty stayed there while carrying out his Dublin Bay surveys.

Now it’s a fooking Starbucks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Had my wife’s 30th birthday party there. And the top floor used be music venue The Attic. Green Day played it in 1991.

https://www.setlist.fm/venue/the-attic-dublin-ireland-1bd6cdcc.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,836 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

was it in a few times at 7am on saturday morning when in college, early 00s. Was the only early house with a dj/club setup, binliners on the windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

The Breakfast Club when it was the Dark House! Queuing up to get in while people were queuing up on the opposite side of the road for the immigration office wondering what in the name of God was going on.

Was in the Starbucks a couple of months ago for a work meeting… a different visit to 15 years previous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Alfaguy

I can't say I am that sorry to see pubs closing - and it's not just in Dublin. Drink was (possibly still is) a long time scourge on Ireland and Irish society and hindered this country's proper progress and development for decades. It was embarrassing when I worked with the UN in 1994/1995 to see Irish guys live up to the drunk Irish stereotype much to the amusement / scorn / curiosity of other nationals. The government taxing it to the hilt was a great move for national salvation and the health of the general population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,607 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

Totally agreed. I used to frequent pubs a lot when I lived in Dublin in the eighties, and would have fared better, without doing so. The pretext of making friends, or networking by imbibing alcohol is not a good idea.

Drinking, the loss of inhibition and the many other factors that make it dangerous will always be a challenge.

The time spent in a pub could very well be used in a group setting to fraternize and be productive, and stay healthy, in sports or in school, or at a bingo hall… wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,951 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It's long gone now but the funny thing at the time was that if you opted for bank transfer instead of a cheque you retained the half hour! They didn't want to disincentivise bank transfer

If only the government could tax sanctimony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

No need to drink alcohol in a pub. Anything you can drink in a cafe you can get in a decent bar.

zero alcohol beer sales are up by 25% last year. The percentage of people having non alcoholic drinks in bars is only going to increase.

Because the majority of Irish people drink absolute cats piss. Litres of it. Most pubs with lines of taps of Heineken, Carlsberg, Smithwicks, Bud etc. People are drinking Rockshore FFS. We're almost as bad as the Brits.

We're even at the stage now where people are paying 7 quid for alcohol free cats piss.

We should take a leaf from places like Italy, Spain, France, Germany and the better parts of America who have a very healthy relationship with booze (and food) as a lot of it is wine and cocktails as opposed to litres of fizzy rodent jizz until you're a sloppy cúnt.

No issue sitting around for a few hours with a nice bottle of wine or a few cocktails in Campo Di Fiori, Rue de Abbesses or the East Village NYC. They're not hammering back 2 or 3 litres an hour.

But instead of being smart and progressive about it we just tax tax.

I like the part about the sloppy cùnt.

Also, I also wonder if people who only swear by Guinness are considered Anti-Semithwicks (sic)…

Yes, I’m in Canada (Quebec) and thus a very liberal drinking culture.

We never had prohibition like the other states, and Canadian provinces. Yet, nowadays, alcohol consumption has dwindled significantly. Companies are betting on alcohol free or mixed drinks in cans to lure consumers, especially young people.

There is also cannabis, which is legal and takes up a growing part of the market. Still, the offer in micro brewery and micro distillery products is miles from where it was in the late seventies when I was a young adult. There were no micros then here, and the National brands had maybe 12 different beers, and no American beers were sold, and indeed shunned.

2-3 litres an hour? Suuure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Nice thread this was once.

Drink what you like or don’t drink if you don’t like. FFS

Have seen many a man down 4 pints in an hour. Including me. Happens in every pub around the country actually. Have seen people drink 6 yeah. Including a pub I worked in when the local dippo would order 6 pints at last orders.

Anyway back on topic.….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

yup..

no need to lecture us for having a few pints.

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

That's just 15 min splits, very doable when you have the goo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,633 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Captain Americas to close for refit and will reopen as the Grafton Tavern

https://www.thejournal.ie/captain-americas-grafton-street-closing-7054098-May2026/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭muddle84

Probably the wrong thread for that imo. This is all folk lamenting the loss of pubs that had many happy memories and just general social gatherings. So wishing for more to close is a bit much isnt' it?

Sad to see. Replaced with some place entirely lacking in character no doubt. Wonder what will happen to the Jim Fitzpatrick mural.

Sad news. Me and wife had our second date there.