Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭HBC08

Fully deserved, gritty performance from Connacht.They were well up for that today,heroic defence at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭OldRio

Brilliant defensive effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

What a win. We were physical, fit, well prepared, well drilled in all facets, and resilient. Could be a real kickstart for the Lancaster era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

A great team effort, from minute 1 to 80 total commitment.

I thought prendergast was brilliant today.

That's a very high quality Glasgow side even without their internationals. Well drilled, physical with very few obvious weaknesses. You can see why they are top of the table. Beating them will certainly help with the confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

Well done lads. Excellent to wrestle it back after the yellow and going behind. The celebrations at the end looked like a weight being lifted off shoulders. A dramatic and close win like that can do wonders for a team, let's hope its the start of something

What a performance by Cian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Joma4good

I was impressed with Colm Reilly, I know he was a bit hesitant at the ruck where ball was turned over but other than that he seemed to have a nice pace and crisp passing, hope he can step up and make up for the disappointment of losing Devine. Sean O’Brien was also v.good in his time on the field. Great win and pleasing for all the players and coaches that the effort of the last two weeks is rewarded with the right result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

Fair play to the lads, did not see that win coming before the game, or when we went behind.

Prendergast excellent off the bench, but for me (and this isn't a sentence I'd ever write) O'Connor was our player of the match for me. Brilliant in defence and set piece and he hit so many rucks and slowed so much ball for them. Not a game where he'll have anything for the highlight reel, but did so much of the stuff you need for other players to look good, well done!

Reilly did very well, it's difficult to come in to a tight game like that when you've played as little as he has.

O'Connor was brilliant. Not to take credit away from him but there's a real pattern of Lancaster getting players above and beyond their previous level throughout his time in Irish rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

The celebrations amongst the players and the fans really said it all for me. Walked away a happy fan. Thought our defense was really good all game. Ok we coughed up two tries but was really impressed with our defense in general. Connacht played into the wind in the first half so be leading at half time was good. Looking at the Joyce yellow card on the stadium screen, I thought Joe put his hands out in front of him to avoid face contact between him and the opposing player. He was already committed to the tackle and if he hadn't put his hands in front of him both players would have collided head on head. For me it was a ridiculous decision

Connacht deserved the win. And I am delighted for them. They needed this win for their own belief. Cian Prendergast was incredibly good. I have not always said that in the past about Cian but he was incredible today. Onwards and upwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭RonnieL

The yellow for Joyce was a joke, very little in it, caused predominantly by the scrum half dropping the ball and changing direction at the last moment. Joyce clearly tried to pull out of the tackle, and ended up pushing the guy who milked it for all it was worth. Thankfully it worked out in the end.

Great to get the first win in the new look Sports ground - the crowd definitely did their part, and the atmosphere was super at times, especially given the low scoring nature of the game. Hopefully a sign of things to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,758 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Defense was fantastic except for Carthy's missed tackle, he played well besides that.

Prendergast was immense when he came on.

Watching Gilbert moving around the place was great. He has the IQ, always making himself available if needed.

Cathal Forde had a great game and he gets extra kudos for autographing my young man's boot.

A new pair of boots needed now but he has nearly outgrown them so it's not a problem.

Everybody played well, it was a great performance and the ending was immense and richly deserved.

Gotta say that Kyle Rowe is a serious player. Why is he not in the Scotland squad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Strand1970

Connacht defence was good but in fairness glasgow was equally good. I am a long believer in Lancaster and it would take a while to get rid of the **** show in galway for the last 3-4 years. I see now a team i am proud of and want to support regardless of the results the buzz in the clan today was class. I coming away from sportsgrounds today on could 9, remember watching games in the 90's with an AIL size crowd. Hope all the complainers on this group finally admit connacht are going in the right direction whether their favourite home club is in the squad.

Just in case folks think I am getting soft in my old age I did have complaints about today. And the complaints are associated with the new Clan Stand. We had seats in row E which were totally sopping when we arrived so we moved much higher into the stand as there were lots of spare seats. I noticed all the way up to row K the seats were impacted by the rain.

I looked to buy seats there on Wednesday and it was apparently sold out.

I heard leaving the ground that there's no protection from the weather in most of the stand which is a disaster if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭HBC08

Haha!

So you found something to complain about and that is that rain is wet!

Row E in any decent size stand in this country and you will be open to the elements.

If there was a really stupid decision made in the game the Glasgow scrum half has to take a bow for kicking possession away on 78.5 minutes. I just couldn't believe he did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

That would always be an issue, The new stand faces into the prevailing wind… It is why we bought so high up in the stand..

I guess it's a good reminder to those who are buying tickets as to where they should choose their seats

Well I was talking to people today and they were saying the roof is too high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭seanin4711

I must say I was impressed

The clan makes such an impact adding to the rest of the ground 16th man and give the lads a such a lift.

Noise levels that went to 11!

The last 10mins was as good rugby as i have seen us play in years.

two trips into their 22 and both times a try.

never say die and drive it on and on!

Sean Jansen - immense and was everywhere and part of everything good we did.

He should be in Irish setup for sure - in some regard.

Jansen is like a clone of Conan I think.

Also Prendergast was immense when he came in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

Rod Seib gone at the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭KBurke85

I'd imagine Lancaster will take over the attack and look to get a defence coach in

How many coaches would be the norm?

Head, attack, defence, forwards?

Skills, contact, scrum etc optional extras?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

That didnt last long. What happened there?

Woodman coming in as scrum coach. According to Birch

Hard to know, he signed while Wilkins was still in situ so maybe his role under Lancaster was less senior than he expected.

https://www.connachtrugby.ie/teams/management/

Connacht would have the "norm"

Lancaster - Head Coach & Defence coach.

'Senior' Assistant Coach Rod Seib - Attack coach. 2026-27 TBC

Cullie Tucker - Scrum & Contact coach. Not sure whos doing his role now

John Muldoon - Lineout & Maul coach.

? - Skills

? - Kicking