Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v10] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭tradfan1

Surprised Lilly didn't even question or doubt that Gwen was her daughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Sparko

If I remember correctly, she said she had a 4 week stint of filming and then she was going back to the UK. I think she did her 4 weeks and then got the diagnosis and treatment has since started. So yeah I'm guessing her return will be delayed. Hopefully she'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Time for changes
    The truth doesn't lie.

In fair city world most cast members get a few weeks on set and then hit the shed for a month or 2 so it will probably fit in with her treatment. Best of luck to her with it.

If you keep looking back you'll never see what's in front of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Niall_76

And if she was supposedly looking for her when a baby she should be delighted to see her…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Otis Hill

Looks like JJ and Mondo had a visit to shed barber. Or maybe Erika was doing a few nixers in there. Where is she even working nowadays?

The truth doesn't lie.

And wheres the car? I suppose it's the best way to get rid of it by doing a Thelma & Louise after the wedding fiasco and never having an ending to it as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Flowergirl201

Yea but it ridiculous, the child still comes to visit so obviously doug still sees Erica at drop off and collection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

"I got on to the DPP" says Melanie.

As if that would ever happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Didn't watch tonight, but that's ridiculous.

DPP would only communicate with criminal law barristers, senior Gardai and judges definitely not some feckin pleb assistant solicitor in some tinpot company operating from a shared office in Carrigstown.

The truth doesn't lie.

I'll watch it in a bit but it sounds like typical fair city sh1te where normality or rules of law don't apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭New Scottman

”And he took her up to Monto, Monto, Monto

He took her up to Monto, langeroo

Goodnight to you”

WTF was that random scene with Fergal bursting in to tell Gwen and Sash about Carol vs the Mullens?

Leo is a shadow of his former self with all these daft plots he's been getting the last decade and a half. Gone are the days when himself and Carol were burying a corpse together in the Wicklow mountains. Why would Carol be wondering where Victor got the clients numbers? The only reason he doesn’t have them in the first place is because he never backed the up when he got a new phone but Carol doesn't know that, yet she thinks he couldnt possibly have had them because he drove the clients for a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

had to laugh at Lily telling Gwen that the orphanage she put her into was ‘highly recommended’ !!

Melanie’s contact with the DPP was just laughable.
    have gone so used to the Lidl set now that almost see it as just a room (set) and not a shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Glad they've made Lily's character with a bit of substance and bite. I'd love to see her interact with Caddle, Ger and Dolly.

The truth doesn't lie.

It is hard to fathom how the writers think the viewers are stupid enough to believe this type of waffle, Melanie is a nobody with no qualifications so might as well be asking the DPP would they like 1 sugar or 2 in their tea/coffee because that's as far as she would get. They treat the viewers like complete idiots.

Some of the shite they come out with in regard to that law "firm" is comical alright. High flying Claire working in a shared office with one of her clients and living in a shared house owned by another client. Neither of her staff qualified but still doing all the meetings and case notes and filing for a big murder/manslaughter case. Not to mention that both of those unqualified employees are partial to fraud, car theft, squatting (Melanie) and harbouring a would be fugitive (Jess). Randomers coming in off the street into the office where sensitive documents are held and unvetted freelance couriers being allowed to deliver sensitive legal documents on their bicycles is also another wtf aspect of the business. So Melanie supposedly giving the DPP a buzz to tell them to get their ass in gear fits in nicely with the carryon in that "firm"

The truth doesn't lie.

I'ts the fact they expect viewers to swallow this is what annoys me, I know the RTE hierarchy live in a different universe but surely some of the writers are on this planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

hughie didn’t bring his cap on the date ? 😂

That was a very underwhelming exit for Jess, Greg and Ruby. Just a phone call to say they're not coming back. I assume that means that Lorcan isn't either so we must be due a recast Jack soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Photobox

They don't do big exits in Fair city. Jane was the same, just a mention, Niamh too who was one of the central characters said she was leaving and that was it, no taxi from McCoys for a non existent 1am flight. There just two I can think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭John arse

God I miss Jane instead we're stuck with overcoat Orla!😤

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭littlevillage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,611 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I correctly guessed a couple of weeks back that Jess, Greg and Ruby had been written out of the show - it was odd how all three went to London at the exact same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭threetrees

That's a big chunk of characters to go. One could assume that Mairead, Jess, Ruby and Greg's Fair City payroll equals Liz McDonald's!

It's a bit odd that Big Jim McDonald is being mentioned in Corrie while we have Liz, sorry, Lily, in Fair City. And her coming on to Hughie and him thinking all his birthdays have come together!

Lily has to have a run in with Carol or Ger next, not sure how this will be orchestrated but the wonderful FC writers will come up with something!

To be fair it'd be easy to cross Carol. All Lily would have to do is take a spin in Victor's taxi and Carol will have the daggers out.

With regards to Ger, I'd imagine if Gwen gets into a row with James and Hayley, then Lily and and Ger could cross swords on behalf of their kids, with Emma dithering on the sidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,116 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

What baffles me is why doesn't Victor get on an app or head to the Airport/City instead of hanging outside the local Lidl.

The truth doesn't lie.

Now he's helping the local kingpin launder money after they helped cover up Gregs spiking of Lorcan for a while, I dread to see Babs in a garda role in the Lidl where she will most likely be most of the time, unless she has a major mishap that rules her out of being a garda please god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Anyone watching hijack on apple? Not joking, seroous victor vibes from Idris Elba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Døm

Hey guys, long time no see. I used to watch fair city and post here about it back in the comical days of "The Plan" Remember the plan ? Anyways I was wondering if you think that FC leaving the rte campus might have big potential to improve things? The sets have always looked so fake. I think they should do a full hard reboot with the move, they should bring back Raglan Place as the setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,611 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'm not buying JJ's relationship with Carol. He seems relaxed and chilled out and easy going - his partner is a narky, aggressive battle axe who could start an argument with her own reflection in the mirror. They are total opposites in personality.