New Blanchardstown Shopping Center 2021 Updates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭RoryMac

They reopened in Dundrum a while back. I was hoping they would've reopened in Blanch too.

Not sure if they have other restaurants left in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,480 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I know they’re a chain and people might scoff but they’re really very good and the service excellent. I’d love to see more of them in Ireland - it’s decent healthy -ish eating out food.
    It’s a pity to see shite like Taco Bell replace them

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

The only wagamamas in Ireland that I knew of were Blanchardstown and St Stephen's Green and they are both closed a good while now

Post edited by miamee on

I think possibly another casualty of brexit. I think one in dundrum might have reopened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,476 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The parent firm pulled the franchise from the smoking ruins of Press Up, and immediately signed a lease to reopen (in a different unit I think, cause they didn't hold the lease, Press Up did) in Dundrum. The others, I think three - Blanch, SSG, Cork - shut.

Press Up's successor Eclective have opened a knock off pan-Asian called Kaldero in the SSG unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Flannels had some notions about itself. I know it pitched itself as high-end but it's pricing model was dumb, particularly when it came to footwear and the run of the mill brands, Adidas, On Cloud, Salamon etc. You'd see a pair in there that you knew you'd get in any of the other shoe stores for cheaper, even when they reduced them.

Plus they stopped me going in to kill some time one day because I had a cup of coffee from Butlers in my hand.

Post edited by Hurrache on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭raheny red

Aload more fencing gone in outside the library and the Eddie / McDonalds entrance. Works on that entrance must be starting next week.

clearly didn’t do well in Blanchardstown, I assume it’s only open a few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,547 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Post edited by gmisk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,753 ✭✭✭daymobrew

It opened in December 2022 - https://www.blanchcentrehistory.com/flannels/

three years. Not a good innings on a big store investment like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,625 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

There was always more staff in it than customers. And any customers were only ever browsing, not paying a grand for a jacket

wasn’t in Blanchardstown for a while but it’s not high end retail so this was not a good fit for the market there. It’s a decent middle of the road shopping centre but not Grafton street, Kildare village or dundrum

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Oh cool, I didn't know that was there! I'm assuming out near the cinema where there are multiple places to eat. On their website now that and Dundrum are the only two listed (for booking a table at least)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭lordleitrim

Green light for Leisureplex Blanchardstown being turned into large retailer despite opposition https://jrnl.ie/6968486

I think this is a disappointing outcome. There are already well over 100 or maybe 200 retail stores in the SC and retail parks. A leisure complex provided a better and more diverse mix to the area for the catchment population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭Justin10

A renovation of the leisureplex plus dining options would have made sense to me. Liffeyvalley have much better options in terms of food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AlanG

this is such a shame, part of the original planing for the center was that it would provide a mixed use facilities for all ages. This is now pretty much dropped.

This was a great facility for families and teenagers. For people in their early teens there is very little for them to do and develop socially in an independent manner. Bowling and pool are two of very few non electronic activities they can do themselves to pass time.

Yeah, disappointing greed by the centre owners.

Late last year I went up to Leisureplex a midweek afternoon to give myself an hour on the big pool tables (jeez, it's so much harder!). There was quite a bit of activity in the place (the pool/snooker section was empty but it's aimed at a slightly different crowd).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 gayformoleman

Leisureplex have been going down in the last number of years, the place is dead Monday- Friday so obviously not viable. I’m local to the area and have heard Penneys are moving to that space, but I think food outlets similar to Liffey valley would make a lot more sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,861 ✭✭✭ongarite

Popeyes chicken to open soon in Blanchardstown. Probably the old KBC bank unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭Nolimits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭Justin10

Ye it is, tuthills newsagents last to occupy it, taking the unit beside tuthills also I was told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭lordleitrim

In a way, is it probably the least attractive end of the SC for a fast food restaurant that relies just as much on evening trade as day time trade? I'd imagine it gets the least amount of footfall from its target customer base (younger people) at that side. People doing their weekly grocery shop in Dunnes nearby are unlikely to want a Popeyes meal before or after their big food shop.

I wonder If they only intend to be there for a few years, it looks like the construction around the blue entrance has started and when that's finished there's supposed to be a food court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭BlondeBomb

Rituals moving over to where FatFace was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Glossy1

Any one know what's going on with Sketchers the shutter where down today and I believe yesterday.

They had a sale recently that they said was for renovations so I presume it'll be back

The green bike lockers at the blue entrance (McDonalds, Eddie Rockets etc) are gone, presumably as part of the food court works (though they were not in the way). There wasn't anyone at the Customer Service desk to ask where they've been moved to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 DubToDeise

I've heard that there's a plan to eventually replace the Leisureplex with a new entertainment "district" on the yellow car park. The small units like the Credit Union and Post Office will move to the base of the apartment blocks going above the Blue carpark and opposite. That block and the cinema will then be demolished with 2 levels of underground parking and the extension above. The current cinema entrance in the blue mall will connect to the existing yellow mall entrance to form a circle with a new yellow entrance at the bus terminus. The entertainment will sit above this, including the new cinema and an "anchor" attraction. There's talks with Legoland Discovery Centre apparently because they've been looking for a Dublin location.

They've just started moving the taxi rank to start the blue mall extension and the apartments on the library car park will be after that so the Leisureplex closing before planning permission has gone in might seem a little premature but there's a retailer (apparently The Range) that have been looking for a space and a situation with the current operators meant the timing was right.

Also seems there's been strong interest in the new restaurant units with some that have never been to Ireland before including Shake Shack and Popeyes (which is going to the green entrance and might move later) and some that have arrived in the last few years.

Completely unrelated, there's a furniture shop going in where McQuillans was in Westend, most likely EZ Living Interiors which isn't the same as EZ Living Furniture they already have in the other retail park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Glossy1

See PARFOIS has closed down ..