Interesting articles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭roadmaster

Thats the point about July how many decades have we had to sort out our defence.

Dont worry they have all the plans and Procurement orders they just have to change the dates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭sparky42

I mean lets be honest, the DOD and Co were planning on "same as always" and let everyone else handle our security for the Presidency as we effectively have done since day 1, and somehow missed a) the fact that our partners are stretched thin and getting well pissed off at us for not doing basic shite and b) due to global affairs for the first time since WW2 if not 1922 defence and security has actually become something of note in Irish politics.

Meaning their "plan" has now been shown to be utter horsesh!t and they are scrambling.

If the Article is Correct and the 155mm is been bought i presume Dunowen would be the only place they could be fired at near full charge? The glen would be to small and would restrict the weapon to a lower charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,882 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Yes, thats the ship.

It was the lead ship of her class and arrived with a 1.3⁰ list because of being overweight for her hull, and it was rejected by the German Navy until all matter were addressed, which they were and she was commissioned two years late.

But her class of 4 are all in service and operational, though they are the heaviest fleet frigate of any in the World.

Which is in itself a great lesson for surface fleet design, that a Jack Of All Trades tends to be master of none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,057 ✭✭✭thomil

To be fair, the Baden-Württemberg class isn’t designed to be a jack of all trades. She’s designed to operate in concert with ships of the Sachsen and Brandenburg class, with the latter two designed for air defence and ASW work respectively. The Baden-Württemberg class by comparison was designed for things such as anti-piracy patrols, spec ops support, and similar missions, not for a large-scale conflict.

There’s a lesson in there for sure, but it’s that these projects take more than a decade from conception to entry into service (contracts for the BaWü class were signed in 2005!), which means that the mission profile that a ship was designed for might not be what’s needed when it enters service.

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Grassy Knoll

I agree. There is 1.1 bn in funding allowed for new equipment to 2030 - think radar, helis,

I agree, only 1.1 bn in new Equipment acquisition to end 2023. Out of that there are new helis, primary radar, infantry equipment P60 refits … .maybe the radar and new armour gets you to 1billion on French purchases

Mick O’Toole says while the department is disputing the headline figure and that they still are suggesting around the 500 million mark. Also he’s saying it’s “around half a dozen” Caesars with no number breakdown for the other vehicle types.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/defence-forces-set-new-armour-36762663

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,170 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Half a dozen, would be a single battery with no spares rotation.
    I honestly think that CAESER is a great platform and it offers a degree of capability far in excess of anything we operate along with a high of inter operability with European allies.

I have a growing degree of cautious optimism regarding what we will order.
    But?
    Like all Irish procurement, I expect my optimism to be given a good hiding before it's dragged out and shot.

I will reiterate though, that if we do align with France and go entirely on a G2G deal?
    I believe we should expand it to include the Helicopters and primary radar too.
    It is the best means we have of accessing economies of scale.

Then, for the next of Naval Service ships, go all in on a PESCO ASW spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 never_ends

its not gotten through to the public that the primary radar is already well underway.

And it is going to be French. Most likely a combination of Thales Ground Master 200 and 400 Alpha units with a full suite of Thales integrated RAP analysis and comms systems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,170 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Aye, but my thrust is that we amalgamate the entirety of the deal into a single G2G deal and use it to both leverage economies of scale and avoid delays.
    The radio deal, the radar, the armour, the mistrals and the helos all via a deal that gets us as close to French domestic pricing and SLA as we can manage.

Post edited by banie01 on

Looks like a whats app group needs to be put in place.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41798255.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭mupper2

Calls by whom?

The Guards have had an executive sub-committee for the EU presidency in place since last summer, under the operational command of Deputy Commissioner Shauna Coxon.

All Garda leave for crucial windows of the presidency, ie the larger summits and the conference of the EUPC, has been cancelled since before Christmas. I know this from senior managers of my acquaintance.

The Guards are in charge, they'll be bringing in other European police forces as necessary, and are aware of Defence Forces capability and availability and will task them as required.

These sort of articles are clickbaity guff.

So the Department has officially confirmed what the French told us, nice of them, still no breakdown on numbers or price of course:

https://www.gov.ie/en/department-of-defence/press-releases/minister-mcentee-confirms-france-as-preferred-partner-for-armoured-fleet-programme/

Why would either be fixed at the beginning of a negotiation?

This will be a multi-year acquisition and support relationship, scalable according to the needs of the expanding DF. It will be a framework deal with new units and upgrades happening continuously from 2028 until probably 2045, as the Mowags are gradually removed from service and the additional capability of the SCORPION trio integrated.

A landmark day for the Army and great to see.

The IT article is saying 200-300 vehicles including the MERPAC variants of the Griffon along with the other mentioned vehicles.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2026/02/24/ireland-to-buy-hundreds-of-french-armoured-vehicles-under-military-modernisation-plan/?

Given the difference in the reported French price and the Departments one, are they including or excluding costs like the build up of munitions for the new systems? Not too mention in terms of the funding, the infrastructure ulgrdes that number of new vehicles are going to need.

Scorpian programme currently has no 8x8 which is a requirement. So i wonder with the finish talk over the last few weeks is Patria amv also going to be bought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

With the rearmanment process going on across Europe it seems a stretch that anything Ireland procures will be delivered on time. Before 2030 seems unlikely.

The army is our third place weakness anyway. It's not really relevant to the most immediate threats. Most of the focus should be on equipping the navy and air corps.

Thing is, the Army is the only part that can really absorb an uplift in equipment "Right now", even if it takes years for it to arrive, though this is the French, they have been known to give up slots just to get orders.

Where did you get that from?

The Griffon is longer, larger, more heavily armoured, more powerful, more flexible and takes 2 more mounted troopers than any of the Mowag range do, and it does so on a 6x6 platform.

There will be no future replacement 8x8 APC.

1000011622.jpg

The DoD do not agree with you. Taken from todays press release.

The Irish requirement is for mixed wheel fleet comprising 4 x 4, 6 x 6 and 8x8 armoured vehicles to replace and enhance the existing armoured vehicles in Ireland and to increase military capabilities of the Defence Forces in line with Level of Ambition 2 as outlined in the Report of The Commission on the Defence Forces (2022).

I took it as read that the 8x8 referred to the gun carriage for the Caesar 155mm howitzers.

What possible reason could the DF have for operating two unalike 6x6 and 8x8 APCs at the same time, that do the same job?

1000011625.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

As per the press release they haven't decided on pretty much anything yet other than to negotiate with the French (and for some reason throw out some random figures in advance because that's the sensible way to start a negotiation).

If they actually sign a contract fair enough but there is no real news here, for now.

it’s no different than where we are with the radar project, however there’s no suggestion that we are going to back out of that. I mean clearly this has been going on for years at this point, so the order is going to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭mupper2

I don't see why we'd buy the 8x8 when it's only used by one EU country while the 6X6 MK2 is used by numerous ones

The Griffon is not really an APC like a Piranha, VBCI etc…it's more an armoured tactical truck, the idea here seems to be the Griffon is for specialist roles, mortar, engineer etc, not an APC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭jonnybigwallet

I'll take it as read we're going with the French. Actual numbers or pieces of kit to be sorted out as a work in progress.

A framework agreement in effect

So the leaks for the Maritime Security Strategy are starting, the Journal is after midnight but the IT has this up:

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2026/02/24/ireland-to-deepen-co-operation-with-france-and-britain-to-protect-seas/

https://archive.ph/DWb2K

France and the UK to be asked to secure the Presidency (potentially outside the 12 mile limit but able to control the airspace), discussions about a "JEF+" arrangement for training and responses, the two bases, EU projects for maritime security, and the Regeneration plan is "coming weeks", so sometime this year, maybe…