Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭FtD v2

Absent injuries I think you should brace yourself for some disappointment then.

I think it's hugely unlikely all of Stewart, Milne, Murray, Byrne, Ward, Farrell & Postlethwaite are involved.

Chance obviously for guys who seem closer to the 23 like Edogbo, Prendergast, Izuchukwu to feature, but realistically probably at most one of these three guys will feature, and Cian Prendergast seems the front runner (even if that's not necessarily how I'd rank them).

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,927 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Give it a break, you made a fool of yourself last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭johnh6767

Ireland A game was a terrible shambles , the format and pre training needs to be reworked as a lot of individually talented players were collectively terrible. I think Gunne has had a good season and has developed well but hasn’t had a lot of game time. Big difference being a regular starter like Casey & Doak. We have been on the opposite end of this debate for a while now so let’s just leave it as time will disclose all. For now we need to back Casey and build his confidence in Green. He’s not perfect but he’s our 2nd best and Farrell isn’t changing that view for now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Post edited by Lost Ormond on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,066 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

which is such a mistake imo if true. You have positivity in the camp, a game coming up where the likelyhood is we get a win, but will still face a motivated team. This is the match to give guys a a proper go in.

I wouldn't be certain that Farrell is all-in on Casey. While he likes him obviously as a player and would have had input into his selection as captain last summer etc, the point regularly pointed out about how he hasn't gotten a lot of big minutes against Tier 1 teams points to Farrell not necessarily being fully sold on him.

On Gunne - I really liked him as an U20, and he's had some really good days for Leinster - he was brilliant in the away win in Durban last season - but I've also seen too many days where he looks like a rabbit in the headlights too and his fundamentals (especially his kicking) lets him down. I'm not writing him off at all - he's 22 years old - but I think he's some way away from being in the Ireland reckoning.

There are lots of rumours about Luke McGrath moving on this summer though, so will be interesting to see what we'd do in that scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭almostover

I would tend to agree. Wales will be very committed in 2 weeks time and will be no pushovers. They made us look very average last year too and only for Ringrose's red card being a 20mins one we were in trouble.

Not sure what the prognosis is with Lowe. Looked like a hamstring which may end his tournament. TOB and Rob on the wing is really exciting, gives us proper pace in the outside channels. JGP and Crowley then to control the game.

I'd like to see Sam bench vs. Wales. If we're ahead with 20mins to go, Wales won't have the bench to overturn a deficit. That's an ideal opportunity for Sam to take the reins and guide the ship home. Could do his confidence the world of good. As it would for Jack should he help put us in the lead after 60mins. I wouldn't go throwing the baby out with the bath water with Sam, he may even play for Leinster this weekend coming. That plus a good spell vs. Wales could boost him back up. Same vs. Scotland, another solid bench appearance could do him the world of good. Then we can argue over who should start again in the Autumn.

Edit: I see Byrne has been released to Leinster, not Sam. Sam will definitely be benching so vs. Wales which IMO is the correct call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭almostover

Would love to see Timoney start with VdF on the bench, probably the only change I'd make to the starting forwards from the last game.

Ward's time will come, that Nation's cup thing is on this summer and it's the perfect opportunity for the next generation like Ward to get game time in the national team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭big-al

Gunne can’t get ahead of an out of form and aging Luke McGrath.

That is on him and not anyone else. He was shockingly poor in the ‘A’ international and Devine (who hasn’t had a load of gametime) was a marked improvement.

I think it’s a stretch to say Gunne is the best scrumhalf behind JGP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Luke McGrath isn't out of form at all. He's playing very well for Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭standardg60

I wouldn't read too much in to it, an opportunity to give game time to lads who won't have played for 3 weeks at least come the Welsh game.

Doubt it rules them out completely.

Luke McGrath's form has been really quite good this season.

I also don't think tbc he said Gunne is the best scrum half behind JGP, more he seemed to be saying he thinks Gunne is the brightest prospect long term.

It's not a hugely outlandish opinion (even if I don't share it myself) - he was a Grand Slam winning, RWC-finalist and a key player at U20s, he has a good skillset and a good running game, and he's clearly relatively highly thought of as he started that A game (even if it didn't go well for him).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭longjohn200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,770 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭OldRio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭typhoony

Lowe is groin, probably better than a hamstring or calf injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭TRC10

One need only look at Farrell's reactions in the coaching box on Saturday to see the pressure he was feeling coming into the game. Had Ireland lost, there would have been serious conversations being had over the next few weeks. He needed a big performance from his guys, and they delivered it for him. He won't forget that. If you thought Farrell was a loyal selector before, you're going to see a different level of loyalty entirely for the next 18 months.

That’s not what I said so perhaps re read

Luke is 33 and certainly not out of form he has had a very strong season to date. Our 2 best players v England were both 33 so ‘aging’ may not be a bad thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Ah here… some of the biggest performances came from the likes of McCloskey and Baloucoune, who you can't possibly say were Farrell favourites since he got the job.

Don’t disagree with any of that at all , although I do hope Casey gets more game time experience as his Crowley partnership could be helpful come RWC27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭longjohn200

It looked pretty severe at the time. It will likely rule him out of the remaining 2 games anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Think you're a bit harsh on him here about "offering nothing outside of a quick pass"… . He's a leader at club level and has been entrusted at international level.

"Zero threat with the ball" - he's got the best step of any of our attackers and very good acceleration off the mark… like he averages just under a try every 4 games for club (108/24), he's a good man to have a snipe.

This doesn't hold much weight… but under the circumstances he can step up and take a penalty or conversion if he has to, he's nailed a couple of hard ones (Doak is obviously far better in this respect as he's first choice kicker). He'd be first choice after the outhalf for me in a penalty shootout or a sin-bin.

He doesn't organize and attack the way JGP does - did JGP do it the way he does now at Casey's age? I'd argue JGP has only really come into his own in that respect within the last 5 years.

Tackling, yeah he gets bumped, that's just pure physics. I don't think there's any lack of desire to put his body on the line though, wouldn't level that at him. A partnership of him and SP against a big side is a bit of a disaster waiting to happen, I'd have concerns in that respect.

I'd personally like to see him get more of a run of starts rather than 10-15 minutes at the end of games at international level before calling it as not being up to this level - before getting injured before was it the Autumn Internationals or the 6 Nations a year ago some on here were wondering about him potentially taking the jersey from JGP, his form was excellent.

In short, would love to see him start against Wales. And in spite of all the above, Doak is also worth looking at, no doubt about it. I wouldn't complain if he got the nod either v Wales as we need to build depth. I think they could be a good pairing when JGP hangs up his boots, two different styles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

Mad to me that some people on here really, really wanted england to win on satruday

Tackling, yeah he gets bumped, that's just pure physics. I don't think there's any lack of desire to put his body on the line though, wouldn't level that at him. 

I've heard this argument before, and equally have heard Prendergast getting criticised for appearing to not have the desire etc.

I would argue it's a relatively irrelevant consideration though - the net outcome is the bit you're concerned with, and it's the same in any scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

There's also the argument tho that the 9 will be the one sweeping, whereas the 10 is more likely to be in the defensive line. Imo, it's not as big of an issue at 9 as it is vs 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Perhaps - I'd agree Craig Casey can have all the desire in the world but the outcome might end up being the the same, other than chop tackling really. SP has more of a physique on him though, I do think with him it's a both a lack of desire coupled with poor technique, even athleticism. He clearly should be doing better with the physical tools at his disposal. That's the issue there.

However I think SP can ultimately fix his work-ons, I don't think Casey can to the same extent. So then it's up to management if they think whatever else Casey offers (which I do think is a lot more than a fast pass) is worth the fact that he can be bumped if isolated. He wouldn't be number 2 if they didn't think he was worth it you'd imagine, similar to SP.

No, it isn't, but its still a noted point of weakness in his game, and it's an area he's weaker in than JGP or Nathan Doak and maybe a few others on though.

I feel like my thinking on him has evolved a bit in recent weeks, and it's entirely possible its a snap judgment on a poor-ish performance v Italy. He's definitely earned the right to get another shot and see how he does, so I wouldn't have any objections to him featuring again v Wales and ideally we're far enough ahead to give him meaningful minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,770 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I don't remember anyone saying that. Some were unhappy with the team selected and thought we'd get a hiding.

Some are going overboard about the win and not considering that Scotland dominated them the week before.

It was a great win, thumping England brings extra joy to a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Firstsub

After getting thrashed at Senior, U20 and A level 2 weeks ago, the victories of the Senior and U20's this weekend brought a smile to Irish rugby.

However, it is too soon to say we are back to 2022 performance levels. We conceded 3 tries, needed last ditch tackles by Balacoune and McLoskey to prevent 2 more, Ford blew 2 opportunies and we had a lot of goalline defending, Beirne doing Beirne things. England had more possession and territory, Ireland made more tackles. Some of the England tackling was comical, they were also asleep for JGP's try.

I don't think we should make many changes for Wales as a defeat would be catastrophic. Timoney in the backrow is one maybe as the fall off fron VDF isn't great. Balacoune, TOB, Osbourne, Stu, Crowley have played very little together so should be retained imo. Talks that Bundee may be available. He was terrific in the last world cup but I think he has slowed a lot.. Maybe Doak on the bench?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Bundee is available, it is not talk.

I can't see him coming back into the 23 though. But I have been surprised by plenty of Farrell's selections this 6N so who knows.