Meath GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭snowgal

jesus what a finish! I had a feeling we'd claw it back somehow, after that first half and after last year, and our last league meetings with them!, we couldnt lose again to them….but feck that was close. Well done Jack, again! But he cant keep digging them out every game. Really hope Keoghan and costello arent serious. we need a full squad this year if we're going anywhere. Though Lynch did very well in first half, even when not on the ball he was running and looking constantly. I still worry about our backs though. The were cut open at times in this game and the last 2. A win against Cork now would be icing for us. Tough 3 games coming up. I actually think we'll beat Cork but Kildare could be our slippy one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭enricoh

Reminded me of the Westmeath match last year, somehow won in spite of the ref. Thought Costello n kinsella were back on song after being iffy enough the first two matches. Haven't seemed to unearth any new players over the winter. What's the story with Keith Curtis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Jamemid

Curtis got injured before the Derry game but it wasn't supposed to be anything too serious. No sign of Connor gray since the o Byrne cup either but I think he was involved with maynooth so don't know what the story is there.

Ref wasn't great Saturday,thought keoghan should of had a penalty first too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭Technophobe

Great win and especially sweet at the end ..Great atmosphere too, Kinsella very good, ref not so good…

Conor Gray is injured too apparently, so hopefully none of them are too serious…

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Ladies have lost another big player with Mary-Kate Lynch signing for the AFLW side Sydney Swans.

Costello out for Sunday. Remains to be seen whether Keoghan and Conlon will be back. Cork are slight favourites but regardless of what happens, we'll still be in the top two. But a loss would potentially knock a lot of our momentum. And we generally do not do very well in Newbridge for the following week. Weird feeling amongst the supporters. Usually we'd be ecstatic with three wins from three but there's a strange pessimism surrounding the side given the nature of the victories. Hopefully a more positive feel by 4pm Sunday.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Team named but highly doubtful it's accurate given Costello is named to start.

Yeah don't think any of the named teams have been the actual teams this year and word is costellos out for awhile with hamstring injury and keoghans a doubt.

Be another tough game tomorrow,could go either way. We need a minimum of two wins id say to get promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,721 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Having seen both teams play Cavan, I’d expect Meath to win tomorrow. They are a superior team to Cork. My expectation is Meath & Derry to be promoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Ok game today, had goal chances to win it, Cork dominated the breaking ball, rafferty a big loss today. Maguire sending off nearly cost Cork. All in all, Cork probably shaded it.

Cork seemed to dominate midfield in first half especially and we gave up a lot of goal chances.We have been very loose at the back in the last three games.Still a decent performance and had enough chances 2nd half to half to win it

Onto Kildare,another tough game but we should be beating them.

Hopefully have a few players back,heard Kinlough,Curtis and Hickey are back training.

That was a really disappointing result, particularly when you take the other results from yesterday into account.

Did pretty well against the win for around 30 minutes of the first half and just one point down against the strong breeze. Then completely capitulated and conceded 1-3 before half time. Our midfield just disappeared in that time. Not sure if McBride was carrying a knock but he looked a shadow of himself from the previous few games. Second half, we played in fits and starts. Got the early goal and looked like we would push on, but then played with zero urgency for around 25 minutes. Even initially, after the red card, it made little difference. Then got within a point with 6 remaining and I thought we'd take over, but didn't score again. To be fair to Cork, they were well up for it and looked a completely different team to last year.

Overall, it would have probably been an undeserved win had we snatched it. Cork seemed hungrier throughout while we seemed lethargic and ponderous and we probably lost two-thirds of kickouts at least. Summed up in the second half when Kinsella had the ball outside the Cork 45 and allowed their player sprint from the halfway line and dispossess him. Cork also did really well to shut down any open play 2-point efforts in the second half. Frayne got our only one in the second half.

Again, converting goal chances just seems to be a huge issue for us. We seem to get at least 3-4 a game but can only convert 1. Conlon did well after coming on. Morris was good in the first half but disappeared in the second. Really missed Rafferty in defence. I'm confused at Conor Duke's role this year. Last year, he kicked some massive two pointers and was a real scoring threat. This year, he's scoreless after four games and I can't remember him really taking on any chances.

Would like to see a replay of the last passage of play as it looked like the Meath player had the shirt nearly reefed off him when collecting the ball. Though given we were gifted our two point free in the first half, it was swings and roundabouts.

While the loss isn't a disaster, it's definitely made things more complicated. We're ahead of Derry on head-to-head, but if we beat Kildare next week and Cork lose to Derry, we likely go third on score difference (unless Derry win big). Hoping that Cork can go unbeaten between now and the end of the league which would probably mean that two more wins will do it.

Derry had almost as good as a rest week this week against Offaly. Can see them beating cork next week.

Bookies have them favourites to go back up, cork second n then us.

What are we thinking about Saturday? Kildare will need a response after their loss to Cavan to avoid being dragged into the relegation zone (though they are, at least guaranteed All-Ireland football this year). St. Conleth's, like Breffni Park, is a place that I don't really remember us having a huge amount of success in over the years.

Injuries seem to be mounting again as McBride may not make it. Conflicting reports between Rafferty being available for Saturday and being out for the remainder of the league. Could do with Hickey and Curtis at least returning. Hopefully Conlon is able

A win for us will put a huge amount of pressure on Derry to get a win against Cork. Though if we lose, chances are promotion is off the table for another year.

I think we will have enough to win but it will be another close one. Depends who's back aswell . Hopefully Rafferty is back,Ryan had it tough last week, I'd put O'Neill full back if he is out .

Gray was on the bench last week ,so you'd imagine he would be able for 20-30 mins. Hopefully McBride has recovered from illness that forced him off last week.

We need to tighten up a lot at the back, we seem to get caught out alot when we get turned over attacking,massive spaces for opposing teams to run into.

Decent performance and Brennan's three placed balls at the end certainly put a gloss on the scoreline which could end up being very important after the end of the league. But Kildare were utterly dreadful and you'd worry for their chances of avoiding relegation. First win in Newbridge in over 25 years.

Good pressure in defence which was a good improvement from last week (though, again, the quality of the opposition was much poorer). Morris mixed the good with the bad, some good scores and linkup play, but gave the ball away cheaply at times. Jack O'Connor was excellent in the first half but is obviously still not up to full fitness. Great to see both Curtis and Hickey back on the bench and they'll be excellent options in the last two games.

A Cork win for us tomorrow would be huge. But, either way, the big win means we'll stay in the top two regardless.

Side note, probably the most bizarre instance of a referee bringing the ball up 50m. Adam O'Neill kicked the ball out over the line and the referee somehow deems that to be deserving of giving Kildare a two point attempt. I could understand if the ball was out, but it was still in play when he kicked it.

Great to get a comfortable win for a change,Kildare were very poor,was expecting more from them.And that pitch was awful.Yeah that refereeing decision was shocking,although I think the standard of refereeing all through the league has been poor.

Best defensive display this year ,very dogged and didn't give up much. The 2 jacks were very good,Rafferty Keoghan and o Neil good games too.Some great link up play and passing at times . Only negatives was some poor shooting in the 2nd half.

Hopefully cork do us a favour and we win our last 2 games. Although Louth are looking good now and might take points off Derry.

Derry absolutely hammered Cork. Probably the best result for us after a Cork win as now we have +25 score difference over them. Derry have a tough game away to Louth in two weeks but should have enough to win both that and the Cavan game. You'd expect Cork to beat Kildare but then they've a tough away trip against Tyrone.

But if we win both our remaining games, we should be promoted regardless.

Glad that jack o Connor had enough of bondi beach, some asset to have back!

Excellent attacking performance, defence leaves a bit to be desired. Couldn't believe the space that Tyrone awarded O'Connor in the first half. His two pointers just brought us back into a game that looked like getting away from us.

Louth's result means that we just need a draw against Offaly to guarantee promotion. I still remember the horror of Wexford Park in 2007 where we nearly threw away promotion, so really hope we finish the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

yeah but wexford were good , very good that time , ye will beat offaly they are spirited but missing loads of key players , this is a very good meath team and as i said before perfectly setup for the new rules , i think another long summer is on the cards too

Wexford back then were very good (and were a bogey team of ours), but Offaly seem to be getting some me players back from injury and, with no pressure on them anymore, I'm still wary of them. I hope we take them seriously, put our best team out and make sure we get the result we need. It would be an embarrassing end if we went into the game thinking we only had to show up and got turned over.

I'd say there'll be an absolutely huge crowd from Meath there on Sunday. Supposedly there were only around 200 Offaly fans at the Cavan game so it'll probably be over 90% Meath fans.

Was at that Wexford game , did they miss a few frees near the end that would of put them through?

As long as we take them seriously which I'm sure Brennan will make sure of we should be winning easily on Sunday.

Going to be hard to pick a front 6 when everyone is back fit.

Yeah, I think it was Redmond Barry that missed the chances. If I remember correctly, Mattie Forde went off injured so we were incredibly lucky that day. We would have started the new division 1-4 setup from division 3 had we (probably deservedly) been beaten by more that day.

The forwards headache is a great one to have. When certain forwards are kept quiet, it means others are offered more space to shine. Only Down in division 3 have scored more than us so far. Watched Lynch's first goal back. Initially I'd thought it was just poor tracking by Tyrone, but it was actually genius movement by Lynch who gave the ball off to Morris and moved in such a way that his marker collided with Morris' marker which gave him the space.

I think Morris and Flynn were scoreless apart from a free, yet we still scored 3-24, it's nearly wack-a-mole for the opposition n Costello, conlon + Curtis gunning to get on . If we can tighten up a bit at the back we'd be in clover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭pipelaser

I have never really preferred Lynch to start over Curtis, Conlan or even Moriarty(when he’s knocking around) to play in the full forward line. But you can see from any time that himself and Morris play together that they have a great understanding, perhaps better than any other full forward combination. It’s no surprise given they played U20 together in 2019 and also had a good 2023 Tailteann Cup run.
    Didn’t get to see how Lynch played against Louth, but heard good reports, and he’s looked decent in every game since. Seems he’s grabbed his chance and fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭snowgal

yea Lynch has been impressive enough tbh, hard not to start him…. Its great to be back having any kind of headache over selection! I had to miss the Kildare game but have been to all the others. our forwards in general are flying it, but defence is still shaky and even midfield can come in an out of games…. Excited to see what the championship brings and see where we're at after the league finishes…. first and foremost, hopefully in division 1 anyway after Sunday 🤞no doubt itll be a tricky game against offaly, always is, but hoping weve the nerve to go at it from the start and get a decent win to finish off.

Unchanged team from last week. Not sure if last week's game was the first where we've actually lined out as per the team released. When looking at the bench, you can really see the disparity in depth between forwards and backs.

Won't be counting my chickens. Offaly and Mickey Harte teams always worry me. But Offaly have the worst defence throughout all four divisions (conceding an average of over 26 points per game) while we've the best attack in the division (and second highest scorers in the league). That should be enough to tip it in our favour, regardless of how our defence performs.

Hurlers still have an extremely slim shot at promotion, though they'd need to beat Kerry tomorrow and hope that, somehow, Mayo beat Westmeath. Though it's been a better league campaign than was expected, I feel. But there's still a big gap between ourselves and the next level.

Excellent result for the minor hurlers, beating Kildare in Trim by 3 points.

Hurlers beaten by 6 by Kerry to finish with three wins and three losses, safely mid-table.

The ladies were narrowly beaten away to unbeaten Cork. Last game is at home against Armagh with the possibility of relegation still on the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

official attendance was like 640 or something , offaly are missing a few but like the hurlers are very small that meath team will over power them , wexford are the opposite and like yourselves relishing the new rules but inconsistent , they are a good side but lost to limerick who are poor and struggled against a few average teams in division 3 , but they are on to something , i hope they win and go up against westmeath

Job done. Not exactly a great performance, but it didn't need to be. Offaly were decent in the first half and was mildly concerned for the first 20 minutes as Offaly penned us into our own half for a good 10 minutes. But you felt we were always going to have enough to win comfortably.

Morris with another big haul, but he doesn't half have a tendency to just drop the ball in contact. Think he must have dropped it three times under little pressure in the first half.

Cork next Sunday in the league final. Great opportunity for a bit of revenge for Páirc Uí Rinn and some silverware. Regardless of the result, one aim for the season achieved already.