Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 The Supporter

Good result,forward play very good,but alot of work needs to done on defence and Robbie did not have his best game,we must remember Monaghan were missing a number of players including Beggan. Playing three good Teams in next three matches which will tell alot. Pace is very important in the modern game.Never over hype any player, Kerry,Dublin and Tyrone never over Hyped any of their players will we ever learn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Kerry,Dublin and Tyrone never over Hyped any of their players will we ever learn?

Believe me, living in Kerry, Clifford was hyped up to the 9th degree even before his last year of minor.

And the hype turned out to be true.

We should get exited about Kobe and enjoy it, and never apologize for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭spakman

We've spent at least the last 5 years lamenting what we didn't do, and the kind of player we didn't have.

A return to a positive outlook is overdue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭PressRun

Kerry never hyped up anyone? Clifford was the most hyped up player in the game before he even played a second of senior and most of that was coming from within Kerry where they saw his potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

So we have Kobe for one year.

That is tragic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Kobe is the real deal alright, will be sad to see him leave but hopefully we'll have a few good performances from him this year.

Good performance today although monaghan were very poor. Tuohy v good again, Loftus, Callinan, Flynn & Boland all played really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Pat734

Tragic? I see it as exactly the opposite. As for his future? That's just it, it's what he wants, not what we want. Clifford has said many times that he never wanted Aussie rules, loves his teaching job and does ok on extra curricular promotions, etc. Kobe wants to try his luck in Australia, see if he can be a professional athlete. Fair play to him and his family and the very best of good luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭spakman

Bullshit. Clifford would be in Oz if he wasn't convinced financially to stay. Then he had a kid when he was still young, and he was hardly going to move to the other side of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,597 ✭✭✭✭km79

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭thesultan

4-4 in a minor final , the country knew what was coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭thesultan

I always thought Boland was totally underused last year , up there with donoghue in the two pointers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 The Supporter

Looking at Sunday game tonight Armagh will be hard beaten in McHale Park,if they had their shooting booths on they could have beaten Donegal today and they really need points next Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Amazing that you've such an insight into his thinking.

I've no doubt he was looked after but I wouldn't automatically assume every young lad automatically wants to head to Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

How exactly was he convinced financially to stay? Apart from college scholarships and helping him get a job afterwards which every intercounty player benefits from.

Clifford had a child after he had played 4 years with the Kerry seniors so I don't see how that's relevant.

The reason Clifford didn't end up in Australia is because he didn't want to go. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

A clearer case of someone being encouraged to stay financially is probably Carhal McShane. It didn't work out too well for him with injuries etc, but it was clear lots was done to keep him

Edit: Not saying similar would encourage Kobe. Good luck to him either way

Couldn't believe just how poor Monaghan were. One of the worst displays I've seen in a while.

Still, we've often struggled to put teams away and there was no sign of that yesterday, a fairly emphatic victory.

Some very good performances all around, topped off by Tuohy. I'm not sure how much that was to do with the lack of a Monaghan midfield but he can only play against what's there I suppose. That midfield pairing with McBrien is interesting, looking forward to seeing how they do against stronger opposition. My thoughts would be that the pairing will take a few years to really come good. I would have thought Tuohy would have bulked up / filled out a bit more by now, I think he needs a bit more strength to really compete at the top.

Flynn looks back to his best, and plenty more very good performances. Beirne is a huge addition and I hope he can kick on / keep adding to our attack. Won't even mention the K word, what a debut.

Maybe a sign of my pessimistic leaning but even with such a good display, there was a worry or two. I know McCarron is a great player but despite being on the much weaker team and having limited supply, he had a field day when he came on. I don't think Coyne will be happy with how he did on him.

To end on a positive, I think that's our highest return in a competitive game. 5-20 against Tipp in the 2020 AI Semi, one point better yesterday (two pointers obviously a big factor).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Pat734

Y

Maybe you should have watched until the end!

Even still, I don't understand what exactly was done with McShane. He got some (presumably) well paying job.. possibly ahead of other more qualified candidates. That's all very common with intercounty players going back decades. I would be amazed if anything more underhanded was involved.

If Kobe wanted to stay around he would obviously get a sponsored car, free college and he'd find a well paid office job somewhere too. However it would mean turning down a pro sports career which he clearly has ambitions of trying.

I did, maybe you should have read the post.

He'll be talked about enough, the K word being Kobe... Didn't think that needed to be spelt out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Regardless of how bad Monaghan were what I like about this team is that they are bringing something new.

From 2022 to 2025 Mayo were in a rut.

Each year they brought nothing new to their game and they regressed.

In 2022 and 2023 they lost quarter finals heavily to Kerry and Dublin, games that they used to be competitive in in previous seasons.

Then in 2024 and 2025 they got worse with a loss to a dour Derry team and the f-up v Cavan.

They were never serious contenders in those years.

I've no idea how far this Mayo team will get this year.

The yardstick will be the Connacht Championship.

But at least they are new and fresh and we can look forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Connacht final of 2015 vs Sligo was our highest scoring game apparently, 6:25 vs the same as what Monaghan got yesterday, 2:11.
    Aido scored 3:4 that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Quiet Achiever

Surely we've already tried a honey trap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Yes he decided not to go but there are different aspects to making that decision. Granted he will get sorted financially, there is also the possibility of winning and winning SAM, playing at the highest level etc…. He knew that there is a really good possibility that they will win SAM, whereas we are years without winning it. All these different aspects/parts added together can be the deciding factor.

I think if Clifford was in Sligo for example, he would probably have went.

I'm sure winning All Irelands was a motivating factor for Clifford, but Kerry have lost more players than any other county to AFL so clearly they don't have a magic wand to keep lads at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 howdo1992

Kobe also has a father who has played inter county football for Mayo….I’m sure he has advised him what’s best for the individual here. Sadly I don’t think there’s anything that can done bar him failing to make it out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,908 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Mayo County board would probably send Cora Staunton...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Blackjack

To be fair to Cora if we could get herself and Kobe to have a load of children they would be some footballing bunch. She’s undoubtedly been one of the finest footballing talents to wear a Mayo Jersey, and certainly one of the best to have played the ladies game from any County. I’m not aware of many other players in men’s or ladies that won an all Ireland medal at the age of 17, and were good enough to play senior at 13 years of age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,507 ✭✭✭naughto

who was treated very badly by the country board,he definitely has advised as i would if he was my child.Hes as well to give it a go an see what happens can always come back if it doesn't work out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Round tower

I expect u are talking about Ciaran, how was he badly treated by the County board