AI - Artificial intelligence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭endainoz

I know most tech CEOs are horrible people but he definitely takes the prize for most hated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Say what you will, but we wouldn't have much in this country if it wasn't for the USA Tech CEOs.

Of course, pharma CEOs too, we run a bit of a tightrope in that regard but agreed, it's hard to imagine how much bigger emmigration would be if these companies weren't here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,070 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

How good is the estimate on grass cover, do you need to show it a height measurement??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭roosterman71

They all are basically the same - Gemini, ChatGPT, Copilot and Grok. Where they differ is their "persona" but the model behind them all is often the same. There may be tweaks as to how they process the info but it's minor. There's more specific AI tools for different jobs like image processing/creation and SW coding. Claude being the dogs dangly bits for the latter. Remember here though that the data is not always up to date, and what yer getting back is an interpretation of the data in the model. It makes what are essentially guesses on what you ask based on the billions of entries and the patterns in the text and does the same when regurgitating the answer back. They are getting more accurate all the time but will always be prone to hallucinations - it is, after all, a mathematical model trying to interpret and reply in an non mathematical way.

And AI isn't new. We did it in college in the early 2000s and some lads in the class done their dissertations on neural networks and other AI related topics back then. Even in the day job they had an AI product for managing infrastructure 10 years ago. Just now it's a buzz word, being fed money in a circular way with each company investing in the other.

As a personal project, I'm flat to the matt trying to reverse engineer some apps on my phone just for the craic and it's surprisingly good at it. Agentic AI is the next "big" thing where you'll hand over responsibility to an AI agent to do things for ya - be that menial mundane repeatable tasks or something like booking a holiday and it will book yer flights, hotels, car, restaurant reservations, etc, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Silverdream

I remember them talking about AI on the Commodores as far back as the 1980s

showing my age now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 maxie

hi Guys, not really on the topic here, but I’d like to share a AI Assistant called Ainara with you, Ainara is a companion that assists with mostly everything. It can connect locally or via cloud, and. Uses Orakle to access APIs that connect to the internet for content. You can see how it compares with Openclaw which is my latest demo.
    https://youtu.be/hR7fUH68LsA?si=zQLcDczirbICYUJN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭red_diesel

Anyone try grade their cattle before sending to factory - take picture and ask Gemini/copilot/chatgpt? Interested to see difference after slaughter. I use it to do this but haven't killed any yet.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Interesting idea.

Could you upload a few pics of different grades for reference and then compare that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

I did it last year, I kind of trained it by uploading old pictures I had and the live weight of animals before slaughter and then uploaded the kill sheets.

Then added pictures of the current stock as they were finishing and the weight.

It was pretty accurate on some of them with the grading and the kill out, especially handy when you can upload the breeding of the animals which I got from Herdwatch.

I'll wouldn't take it as gospel but it was pretty close with most of them, the more information it had on the animal it was more accurate.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

That sounds like a great result.

How accurate was it? Was it, say, 50kg out or less?

I work with this type of AI and modelling at the off-farm job. I'll mention it to a few people. If you can get a reliable estimate (to a few kg) of weight by taking a picture of cattle in the field, it'd save some amount of work bringing them into the yard.

There's work ongoing for estimating pigs weights - ChatGPT summary below of this research paper: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/367967821_Accurate_estimation_of_body_weight_of_pigs_through_smartphone_image_measurement_app

===

This study shows that you can accurately estimate a pig’s weight just by taking photos with a smartphone instead of using traditional weighing or manual measurements. The researchers used a phone app to measure simple features like body length and thickness from images, and found these measurements closely matched manual ones and could predict weight with very high accuracy (around 98–99%). They also developed a simple formula that works across different ages and sexes, making it practical for everyday use. Overall, the method is easier, cheaper, safer, and less stressful for both animals and farmers, especially in small or rural farming settings where access to equipment is limited.

===

The thing I am mot interested in the grade. Like it will look at the picture, talk through the animals confirmation and likely fat score then give a ball park grade like O=2+. You can then say you plan on selling in whatever month and it'll recommend a feeding plan.

You're talking about the Premium service now and that'll be an extra €10/month 😂

Joking aside, estimating a fat score for the individual animal based on the picture and on background data for that type of animal in general shouldn't be that hard for the AI tool. I'm guessing that's what @Conversations 3 has already done.

The feeding plan would follow from your target slaughter weight and/or desired slaughter date.

The free Gemini does it pretty good, I just haven't the benchmark data against a real factoried animal.

@Siamsa Sessions

Here's a few screenshots of how it went.

It had the live weight, the ADG from each time they were weighed, the breeding and the amount of nuts they were on at finishing.

24750.png 24751.png

Here's the kill out predictions and reality:

24752.png 24753.png

It was good to see what it could do, buy you have to give it a lot of data, mostly screenshots from Herdwatch and pictures.

I haven't done it in a while but might when I've a small bunch to finish.

Great use of stats and AI, and great cattle too. Fair play to you.

😅 Those cattle were bought young when cattle were cheap. The best from the west.

Not much hope of me getting a bunch like that in this market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Cushtie

Used Chat GPT 5.5

Works grand for most things but I wouldn't take some of its answers as gospel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Im also a software engineer, at this stage, myself and most of the devs in the company are using Claude for all code changes. In a short period of time, software engineers will have fully transitioned from writing efficient code to keep hosting costs down, to writing efficient Claude commands to keep token usage low. I am also very concerned for the future, I am working for an American company, and I am just waiting for the day comes when they take the axe to a lot of our jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,947 ✭✭✭emaherx

I've worked for American tech multinationals in various IT/Engineering roles for most of my career, worrying about them axing our jobs has always been an issue, every year for 18 years there was wave after wave of redundancies because of changes in technologies or just changes in the company's direction, mostly voluntary but always the threat of some compulsory too. I took a voluntary package eventually myself, which was the best thing I ever did and I'm much happier working for a smaller Irish company now. At least there is no more writing essays about how great I am to boost my performance based bonuses at the end of every year (although that must be interesting now that everyone probably lets AI do it).

So for those here in the know, how real do ye all think this AI bubble is at the moment? Are we staring down the barrell of a massive bust bigger than any of us have ever experienced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,947 ✭✭✭emaherx

Who is completely in the know? I suspect there is a rather large bubble to pop, but that won't end AI either.
    It's not like the internet went away after the dot com bubble, there will be winners and losers for sure.

Id agree with that, but it's knock on effect that id be more concerned about. So many huge companies are going all in on AI and the bust will be a big one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Planned investment on AI for the large players. Crazy money.

image.png

AI could make huge savings in the public sector and in large multinationals. But these organisations don't run on the simple efficiency rationale you'd have in an SME or any small business like a pub, independent retailer, farm, building contractor, etc.

What we might call "common sense" doesn't apply to large organisations when things have always been done a certain way, and there's a hierarchy and internal politics in place.

Even the big tech organisations will end up keeping lots of their upper management. They might get rid of entry-level and lower-tier coders/managers but the higher-ups will fight a lot harder to keep their position. AI won't shift them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭NiceFella

There would be no economy if there was "huge savings" in those public and MNC organizations. They're massive employers who pay for things in an economy and pay a lot of tax. Without them there wouldn't be zero prospects for SME either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭arctictree

Well apparently most translations in the private sector are done now by AI. I'm sure there are still translators in the public service translating stuff into Irish….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭roosterman71

No apparently about it. It's managing subtitles on TV now too. Plus, channel 4 have trialled an ai program to create and display the sign language people in the corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭dmakc

There is far more to lose than gain in the long run on this.

Unfortunately the "smart" money is pursuing the former. 20 years ago you could suggest what a child might be when they grow up. 20 years from now is a lottery on a spectrum between dole and electrician.