Women's rights under attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,182 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

You have said nothing just insulting other posters when I replied but I see you have clarified your position in the last couple of posts ., fair enough .

I would say that your post above there is typical of your earliest interactions not to mention a fairly rude dismissive response .

See it's not nice when people critique how you post rather than what you post , is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭aero2k

Thankfully, that resolution is not binding, so I can stay where I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,263 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,617 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Okay, I normally stay well clear of this kind of thread, but this really annoys me:

why shouldn't I call a bloke in a dress a bloke in a dress, if that is indeed what he is? When did stating such facts become derogatory?

"Stating such facts" - i.e. calling a bloke/dude in a dress as such - has been used as a derogatory term for quite some time, almost always as an implication of some kind of sexual deviancy on the part of the man. It's an accusation levelled as often by women as by men with equally malevolent intent; yet the wearing of one style of garment or another is essentially nothing more than a fashion choice.

But it reflects something deeper, which goes to the heart of this thread : the willing importation of Puritanical American attitudes over to this side of the Atlantic. As a dyed-in-the-wool Irishman, it sickens me to see so many of these "movements" lifted wholesale from over there and enthusiastically promoted in a country that's only barely shed the shackles of DeValerian conservatism. I'm in no doubt that it's worse in Ireland than it is here on the Continent, because ye're fully immersed in anglophone cesspit of social media and "agendas" being pushed by various bad actors.

What's that got to do with dudes in dresses? Well, I'm regularly one of them. A completely straight, late middle-aged man who happens to socialise in an "inclusive" environment where no-one ever bothers to ask what letter of the alphabet you identify as, and where it's increasingly common for men to wear skirts and dresses because they're a damn sight more comfortable than jeans and a t-shirt when you're burning calories at a fierce rate.

And d'you know what? Most of the places that host our events have non-gendered toilets and no-one gives a damn about what hole you pee through, nor whether you need to unzip or unbutton, pull down or hoik up whatever you're wearing at the time. Very often, our "changing rooms" are nothing more than a sparely furnished annexe to the main hall, and anyone who needs to get out of their sweaty gear just strips down and re-dresses without getting their knickers, boxers or anything else in a twist. Children, adults, decrepit aul' folks - we've all seen it all before, it's no big deal; there are always more interesting things to be looking at …

None of that has anything at all to do with women's rights or the pros-and-cons of gender reassignment, yet it gets wrapped up in that thinly veiled accusation that a man not wearing trousers - or worse still, a man wearing something swishy or frilly - is somehow predisposed to sexual assault.

And then you have this kind of bile:

the trend of dress-wearing men isn’t limited to alternative sexualities; it is spreading to heterosexual males, demonstrating that Western society is truly becoming filled with weak men.

For an average female like myself, such an admission is ghastly, and the image of a man in a dress, sickening. 

We live in a crazy, messed-up world where men are weak and dress like women, and women are brash and dress like men. Many of us are absolutely sick of this upside-down scenario. Turning our world right side up starts with members of each gender re-embracing the traditional roles and practices of their respective sexes.

When you have women like Ms. Holmquist telling us that, for the good of (American) society, men should wear trousers and women should "readopt the gentle, caring nature that was once solely their domain" then @o1s1n is right: there's a far greater threat to women's rights overall than a casual observer not being able to figure out whether either or both me and the person I'm dancing with are trans.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,565 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

the willing importation of Puritanical American attitudes over to this side of the Atlantic.

have you listened to jon ronson's podcast series about the origin of 'the culture wars'? there's some good stuff in it; some not surprising but good to know; some genuinely surprising - such as one strong theory about where the 'they're providing kitty litter for kids who identify as cats, joe' notion came from.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m0011cpr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,501 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

My lived experience is that most trans women are actually gay men, that’s from being sound and getting hit upon as a result.
    What you seem to identify as a cross dresser, it’s a kink, you like wearing women’s clothes, if I had the balls (pardon the pun) I’d gladly go out in a skirt on a summers night, you’re correct, I’m sure some women’s clothes can be more comfortable.
    Does that make you a woman, not in the slightest. You identify as straight, I’m assuming that’s a straight man.
    Identifying as a straight woman and taking advantage of straight men or lesbians is a whole different ball game. To them it’s a man.

I fully agree with the concept of clothing as a fashion choice - that's why I struggle with an ideology that wants to tell a young boy who likes to clomp around in his mother's high heels, and play with his sister's dolls, that he must have been born in the wrong body. I have more to be worried about than the possible sexual deviancy of other adults, so long as it's expressed in a consensual and legal context. I certainly wouldn't attempt to draw any conclusions about anything like that from the way someone dresses.

I'm sorry you're annoyed, but delighted that you have a place that you feel comfortable expressing that side of your personality. I've described elsewhere my experience working in an MNC over 20 years ago. One of my colleagues, married with kids, presumably straight, liked to wear tight pencil skirts, high heels, hair in a tight perm and carry a handbag. After the first few encounters nobody batted an eyelid, and the consensus among the lads was "fair play to him, he looks magnificent".

I tend to be very literal in my use of words, so if I'm describing someone the words are intended to paint a picture in words. If I want to be derogatory I'll use a specifically derogatory word. If I was describing myself I'd say " that skinny, baldy aul' lad". I'd replace "lad" with " fcuker" if I was being derogatory. I think it's common to mention the most remarkable thing first in a description; if men wearing dresses was very common we'd probably refer to hair colour etc instead.

I'm reading your post as associating me with the opinions of the woman you've quoted. I'd appreciate a clarification as I find her views reprehensible. She's obviously never watched any historical dramas where all the strong men and warriors are in dresses. Besides, it takes a particular strength to dress in a way that makes you feel comfortable, and not to give a sh1t what anyone else thinks.

identify as a cross dresser, it’s a kink, you like wearing women’s clothes

See - point proven.

A woman can wear jeans, or even the whole shirt-and-tie thing, and it's considered perfectly normal. In some settings, she may be viewed as a power-hungry corporate bitch, but that's about the limit of the insinuations. When a Western man chooses to wear something loose and flowy, though - the kind of garment worn by millions of non-Western males, and some Scots - there's an immediate rush to brand it as "a kink".

Extend that then to the environment in which so many boys and young men are growing up these days. If any male exploring his feminine side is immediately categorised as a deviant simply on account of the cut of a piece of fabric, that's going to push him towards a more rebellious behaviour. The ultimate rebellion is "FTW, I'll show you just how girly I can be …" and gender-reassignment surgery.

Again, this has nothing to do with women's rights, but it's part of the context in which all women live. If modern Americanised society is incapable of being respectful of a man who wears lace, you're not going to see much respect for women either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Agree the ultra conservative nonsense that men can’t wear whatever they like is bizarre. Clothes are like an art form, self expression and creative individuality is a beautiful thing. There’s a definitely a cross over with that going on here.

It’s only when the rights of women are eroded and what they say disregarded ignored re: safe spaces. An issue that impacts 50% of the population and is non negotiable as consent can not be transferred.

The partisan nonsense just muddies the water.. rise above that and it’s as plain as day. Wear whatever like, love life, mutual respect and equality for all, but don’t try to erode the rights of another group of people who have fought hard to acquire those rights in the first place.

”I hate who steals my solitude without, in exchange, offering true company.” - F. Nietzsche

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,565 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

regarding the general topic of women's rights, this is a good read for those of us men who don't see the differences women have to deal with.

e.g. more likely to die in a car crash because of the way cars are designed.

poorer medical care because drugs were not tested nearly as much on women as they were on men (though i believe this is changing); an example is viagra which really only ever got tested on men, but may have been one of the most effective treatments for period pain on the market. but now the patent has run out, no one is going to pay for systematic research on that to confirm it's safe for that use.

etc.

https://www.dubraybooks.ie/product/invisible-women-pb-9781784706289

I haven't read that book but I did read an in-depth review a few years ago. A couple of examples stood out for me: one a trial of a drug targeted at women, in which all the trial participants were male, the other the very different typical presentation of heart attack in men and women, with medical students only being trained on the male symptoms. (Apparently women often get abdominal pain rather than chest pain). I can't recall what the drug was for, I don't temember it being Viagra.

As a cyclist you'd also relate to the difficulties in getting a good bike fit when women tend to have relatively longer legs and shorter torsos than men. I'm not sure if the recent frame trends have helped.

@aero2k

I'm reading your post as associating me with the opinions of the woman you've quoted. I'd appreciate a clarification as I find her views reprehensible.

Clarification granted. I wasn't specifically associating you with the views of that woman, only your use of the phrase "a bloke in a dress" in the context of sex-segregated changing rooms and sports events. I take issue with the idea that any event or any location can be deemed "safe" simply by providing same-sex enclosures.

On the other hand, a few years ago I would have agreed with yourself and @Former Former Former 's comments about women not caring about dudes in dresses. Not any more! I'm still the same scrawny, bald fecker as I was back then, but since I started wearing skirts and dresses, I've enjoyed waaaaaay more female attention than in all the years beforehand. Maybe it's because I make no pretence of trying to be a woman - just obviously a bloke in a dress (well made and well fitted).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,016 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

I haven't read all of the conversation (real life been a bit busy) but assuming you're a guy, and since I know someting of @aero2k's opinions on this from previous threads, I expect s/he wouldn't disagree with the idea that men can wear whatever they like, including skirts, dresses or whatever. I remember David Beckham wearing a sarong, and while it got plenty of media attention, I don't think anyone IRL thought it signified anything much. Most people thought it suited him.

The issue is not that men shouldn't wear skirts, it's that men in skirts are still men in skirts. And that's fine - or it should be. Just as women in trousers are still women.

But Sall Grover, an Australian woman who has been found guilty of transphobia and ordered to pay thousands to a transidentifying man, ie a transwoman, for refusing to let him join her all-female internet meeting site, was told among other things in the judgment against her that Roxy Tickle could be seen to be a woman because she was wearing a v neck teeshirt which is a woman's article of clothing.

Can you tell which is the man and which the woman below?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,791 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

A couple of examples stood out for me: one a trial of a drug targeted at women, in which all the trial participants were male

This is standard enough practice. Every drug goes through 'healthy volunteer' studies before it goes into actual patients. It is easier and safer to do those studies in men because so many drugs can affect unborn children and you need very onerous contraception requirements to run them in women. If initial studies are clear, then you proceed to patients (in this case, women).

It is done to protect women yet always gets spun as an example of the patriarchy yadda yadda yadda.

No actually. It's not done to protect women, it's done to protect foetuses. Pregnant women are not foetuses.

And women in general are not pregnant anyway these days.

As you suggest, ensuring that only women who cannot get pregnant or who are taking reliable contraception are included in protocols would enable studies to include women. The only reason pharmaceutical companies don't do that is because it's cheaper and easier not to.

So let's be clear about it. Women are put at risk because pharmaceutical companies want to save time, effort and money by excluding them because they are a little more complicated to include than men. Because women can get pregnant. Yet more evidence that being a woman is about sex, not gender stereotypes.

anyway. i will state that my wife (like other female posters have mentioned) finds the obsession with trans issues very, very tedious. because as a woman, they don't affect her.

You could ask her at what point she realised that Ireland's abortion rights were not just about desperate young women who "found themselves pregnant" (ie didn't affect her) but were also inadvertently harming women with wanted pregnancies?

I'd suggest that the reason that for decades there was no particular outcry to remove the ban on abortion was not because everyone fully supported it, but because most women thought that didn't affect them either. It took Savita Halappanavar's death to bring that aspect of the subject into the open.

(I include myself in that by the way.)

many, many people who claim to be interested in women's issues and women's rights only seem to focus on the trans issue so as far as she's concerned, their motivations are incredibly suspect.

Is that based on people she actually knows/knows of? Or is it what the Irish media and RTE has told her?

For instance does JK Rowling, who's spent her own money on bringing Afghan women to the west and given millions to other woman and children centred causes unrelated to transgender questions, fall into that category?

Or, to stay with Irish women, what about Helen Joyce or Stella O'Malley?

What of Gaels for Fair play, a grassroots group that is trying to ensure that women's Gaelic Games are kept safe for women and girls?

https://twitter.com/GaelsFairPlay

Or if you want to include some Irish men, who now remembers that Graham Linehan was a hero of the Irish left during the abortion debate for going so very public with his and his wife's painful story of having an abortion after learning that the baby they were expecting was fatally ill and unlikely to survive? Hardly someone who didn't care about Irish women, because he didn't have to do that - but eaten bread is soon forgotten and now apparently he's a monster.

There are plenty of others, but Ireland being much smaller than the UK, they generally have to keep very quiet about their opinions. Here's an article from one such - published by Womansplace UK because no Irish media would touch it:

Indeed. And given that healthy volunteer studies are meant to identify safety issues, and that women are biologically different to men and so likely to react differently to to a drug, and the drug in question was targeted at women only…..surely women would be signed up at the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,501 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Pity no Trad women in the thread. I’d murder a ham sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Arseboxing

Which bathroom should this person go into?

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,263 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

As a (cis, in case you were wondering) woman, I have literally never felt that my rights have been eroded by the existence of trans people. Not once, ever. I get that people's mileage may vary but I have a very strong suspicion that none of the people who are most vocal on the subject have ever even met a trans person, let alone been made to feel personally unsafe by one.

The fact of the matter is that cis women, trans women and trans men are most at risk of violence from straight, cis men, and in most cases it will be one they already know. There is literally no hiding from that, it's statistically undeniable. So I will never understand the amount of pearl clutching that goes on around trans people - they represent an absolutely tiny proportion of the population and are one of the most vulnerable groups out there.

Punching down is never a good look, folks.

I don't think anyone feels threatened by the very existence of any group of people. It's certain behaviours that infringe on the rights of others. For a specific example, imagine how the women feel who were pushed off the 2016 Olympic 800m podium by 3 men. Is it punching down to point out that men shouldn't have been in the race? Perhaps Imane Khelif is guilty of punching down?

I've been at pains to point out that I have no problem with how anyone chooses to live their life so long as it doesn't infringe on others' established rights. I've also pointed out the harm being done to people, many of them children, in the name of an ideology which is based on terrible lies. Do you have anything to say about those ideas? Are you OK with healthy bodies being poisoned and/or mutilated? How about lesbians being shamed for not wanting to have sex with men who identify as lesbians?

I don't have a source to hand, but I did read that the group most at risk from male violence is....men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Arseboxing

According to the OP he should go to the ladies'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

By definition if a biological male is allowed into a female changing room, then it is no longer a same sex changing room. So the right to a same sex space for any woman is no longer possible if people who are biologically male but identify as female are allowed in as well.

It is not a matter about my rights trumping theirs. We should all have the right to same sex spaces were dignity, privacy or safeguarding is necessary, e.g. toilets, changing facilities, bathing/showering facilities, prisons, domestic violence shelters etc. Transpeople still have the same rights as others to same sex spaces. What they should not have is extra rights to enter other sexes same sex spaces and thus erode other people's rights. That situation has now thankfully been clarified in the UK, Ireland will need to sort it out at some time as situations like Barbie Kardashian being allowed reside in a women's prison should never have been allowed to happen.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Punching down on 50% of the population is never a good look, especially if women and girls are telling you in employment, sports and services they do not feel safe. To be told to be quiet, disregarded, not listened to is horrendous and no longer acceptable.

Your personal feelings or experiences are non transferable to other women who feel the opposite to you. It is not hate or punching down, it is the protection of rights that women are insisting on which is their right to do so.

It’s that simple.

”I hate who steals my solitude without, in exchange, offering true company.” - F. Nietzsche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,198 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I’m not sure lived experienced example make a lot of sense.

My lived experience is that most trans women are actually gay men, that’s from being sound and getting hit upon as a result. 

How does hitting on you mean somebody is really a gay man - rather that a straight women? Wouldn’t a straight woman also hit on you? Kinda curious about your cyclic logic there.

What you seem to identify as a cross dresser, it’s a kink, you like wearing women’s clothes, if I had the balls (pardon the pun) I’d gladly go out in a skirt on a summers night, you’re correct, I’m sure some women’s clothes can be more comfortable.  HDoes that make you a woman, not in the slightest. 

I think crossing dressing is a kink about women’s clothes. I don’t they they claim to be women, and it’s not the same thing as Transgender.

Strange that anti trans feminists repeatedly ignore that aspect. Is always trans-women are biological unsuitable for women’s bathrooms, never that trans-men should be in the women’s changing room. I wonder why that’s ignored??

I agree that’s what he looks like. I’d assume he identifies as a men.
    I’d imagine anyone opposing that would do so to avoid hypocrisy.

By definition if a biological male is allowed into a female changing room, then it is no longer a same sex changing room. So the right to a same sex space for any woman is no longer possible if people who are biologically male but identify as female are allowed in as well.

Both of those statement are factually correct. A transgender female and a biological female are not the “same sex”.

But that argument falls away, where these spaces are defined by gender, not sex. Which is increasingly common.

The question is, is there a right to a same-sex space, or a safe-gender space.

Well this is amusing. So much for doctors not being able to identify a child's sex correctly and everyone needing pronouns to avoid getting it wrong? I mean, the "trans rights" position is that you can't tell who's a man by looking at them?? Now it turns out that even from a cherry-picked, filtered picture, you can??

Ok then. Here's Chase Strangio, a well known transgender man:

image.png

And here he is being interviewed:

See (or rather hear) the difference?

And it's even more striking when you see Strangio beside other people, especially in movement where it's not a carefully curated photo minimising his small size, delicate female hands and feet etc.

It's hard to find an online pic which hasn't been set up to do just that, but even beside other women, it's really obvious that the person in the photo above would not fool anyone in real life for more than a quick glance. All it would take then would be for Strangio to speak, and any remaining doubt would be gone.

image.png

And Strangio is not even a particularly tiny woman. Here's another photo with another well-known trans man you'll all recognise:

image.png

Well I don't claim to speak for everyone but my own position is that as a woman it's not up to me to tell men whether or not they should accept transidentifying women, ie trans men, into their spaces. I know several gay men who are very unhappy about being told they're transphobic for not wanting to include biological females in their dating apps etc. Similarly, the Men's Shed movement loses something important in its nature when women, whether disguised as men or not, join. But again that's not up to me to dictate to them.

However in terms of female spaces, there is also a separate issue, which is that over 90% of sexual assaults are committed by men, and all the evidence shows that men who identify as women still have a male offending profile (and vice versa).

https://committees.parliament.uk/writtenevidence/18973/pdf/

Evidence and Data on Trans Women’s Offending Rates

The researchers state:
    ‘male-to-females . . . retained a male pattern regarding criminality. The same was true regarding violent crime.’
    MtF transitioners were over 6 times more likely to be convicted of an offence than female comparators and 18 times more likely to be convicted of a violent offence.

The group had no statistically significant differences from other natal males, for convictions in general or for violent offending.

The group examined were those who committed to surgery, and so were more tightly defined than a population based solely on self-declaration.

The last part, in italics, is also important in explaining why more recent prison data shows that transidentifying male prisoners are now FAR more likely to have committed sex crimes than other male prisoners. The opportunity that self identification affords abusive men to have access to yet more female victims and a generally easier time in prison than in a male prison is probably just too tempting.

I think crossing dressing is a kink about women’s clothes

Here we go again.

In the spirit of that Tickle/Giggle article, how does one define "women" in the context of "women's clothes" ?

And if there's an implication that clothing made for women is kinky, doesn't that imply that any woman wearing women's clothing that's borderline deviant? You could almost argue that she was "asking for it" if she gets wolf-whistled, hit on or worse …

And are we still stuck in the 1920s "cross dressing" mentality or not? Because there's a fecking load of women in my family that are cross-dressers in that case, all of them regularly wearing jean when they go out in public - traditional working man's garb.

See : an absolutely stupid and superficial link between what someone chooses to wear and the far more serious problems facing women in general, and both men and women with "gender identity" issues.