Ireland vs Israel - To play or not to play, that is the question Read OP for Mod Warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,348 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

You have not provided any evidence that this will do anything to help the people of Palestine.

Look, I'm not going to predict the future for you. If that's what you need in life before doing anything on behalf of anyone, then that's your prerogative.

What we are discussing here is something which has been done before and more than once in various guises at different times. If that's not enough for you, then again, fine, that's your call.

But stop treating this like a black and white question on a topic that has never been asked before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭McFly85

It seems to me contradictory to include the monk who set himself on fire as an example of non-performative protest. It was clearly performative to the extreme, designed to capture attention to their plight, which it did - but ultimately wasn’t responsible for any real change.

Seems like you only consider protesting worth if self sacrifice is involved, but ultimately that is self defeating. The monk was dead and nothing changed, and he wasn’t around to try something else.

If everyone set themselves on fire for a cause they believed nothing would change because everyone who cared about it would be dead. Whereas there are numerous examples of peaceful protests helping to enact real change.

In this case, I know we’ll play the game but I expect many to protest, and all I can say is fair play to them for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,697 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I didn't say anything about ifs and maybes.

I have no doubt that a lot of people will be licking their lips at getting the chance to protest and cause trouble.

If Ireland do boycott the game then they lose the chance to show how compassionate they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,697 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I don't need to predict the future to tell this will do nothing.

We are talking about Ireland boycotting a match.

When has Ireland done something on the world stage that others have followed that had a meaningful impact.

You're coming up with an assumption of trouble in your head based off 0 evidence, most would consider that to be ifs and maybes.

There has been tonnes of pro Palestine marches in Dublin with little trouble at them whatsoever and these have had thousands of participants.

It seems you're the one licking your lips hoping people do cause trouble so you can say "I told you so".

I am coming to my assumptions of trouble based on previous actions.

Do you not recall the guards having to pepper spray and draw batons at a protest with that clown from people before profit was involved in.

I am certain many of that crowd will be involved on match day.

Then when you take into account there will be Israel supporters this time, then yes I am very confident their will be violence.

I certainly don't want violence and us being a laughing stock on the world stage.

I certainly will say I told you so when the inevitable happens.

One event at one protest is hardly a pattern.

If any trouble is started by Israeli supporters, surely all anyone would have to say is "we have a right to defend ourselves" and they'll be in the clear. This has been the Israeli mantra for over 2 years now.

I wonder if the pro Israeli posters on here agree with that stance then?

Nobody should want trouble to occur, I do hope protests occur if the matches go ahead and that they are large in volume and peaceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

We have never seen crowd violence or hooliganism at the Aviva / Lansdowne initiated by Irish fans. The one time things kicked off was with far right English thugs in 1995.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭trashcan

The conflict is at peace 😂😂😂

My point ? You're having a fking laugh !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Has anyone explained yet what Mary Manning refusing to handle fruit will do to help the black people of South Africa?

I know how it will negatively impact Mary and the Dunne's strikers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,132 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Israel would love if Ireland forfit the matches

6 points for nothing

I don't expect to see any violence in the ground.

I expect to see violence outside the ground.

Yes the only impact it would be doing is doing them a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Quitelife

There will be thousands of people protesting outside the ground if Israel team play in the Aviva and such is the anger about the genocide it will be hard not to see serious trouble breaking out .
    Not surprising considering the tens of thousands the Israel army have slaughtered in Palestine over recent years . A riot around the aviva pales in comparison to the actions of the Israeli army up to their eyes in dead Palestinians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,348 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Come on guys, that isn't what happened when Poland refused to play Russia.

It could happen, but it's not like it's guaranteed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,132 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

i thought this piece by Bernard O'Byrne on Newstalk was a good listen

Bernard O’Byrne on if Ireland should play Israel | Newstalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,782 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I haven’t had time to read any posts in the thread other than the OP- but I will at some stage- but to answer your question OP- yes I think Ireland should play- and hopefully beat them.

There are a lot of countries in the world up to no good - just like Israel- do we refuse to play against all of them? Where do we draw the line? Should we refuse to play America because of its current regime?
    Or many South American countries due to their poor human rights record?

I’m all for protest and speaking out - but honestly, I don’t see how refusing to play Israel will positively contribute in any way to the current appalling human crisis that exists in Gaza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Becasue pretty much every european nation was opposed to Russia.

Most of europe is fairly indifferent about the whole Israel thing, it is no threat to european security, Russia is.

Poland being opposed to Russia also has a much greater degree of realism and relevance to it due to their history with Russia, Ireland being opposed to Israel won't move anyone, it can be easily ignored.Also Sweden and Czechia said they would refuse to play Russia aswell so UEFA had no choice, no country is rowing in behind not playing Israel, if Ireland could get other counties to boycott Israel then fair enough but that doesn't seem to be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭facehugger99

If there is violence I wouldn't expect it to involve Irish football fans .

I do except the usual suspects from the Irish far left to be out on force stirring up a rabble professional protestors. I'd imagine the majority of this crowd will have never been to an Ireland match in their lives.

no country is rowing in behind not playing Israel, 

Ireland hasn't said it won't play yet. In fact, right now, Ireland have said they intend to play.

This thread is about the broader discussion of what is the right thing to do, not the specifics as they stand.

And many people would categorically disagree with the assessment that Poland being opposed to Russia has a greater degree of realism than what is happening in Gaza. What Israel has done in Gaza hid harder for many people worldwide largely because of the captive targets which the Palestinians had become. Remember, this was a genocide which was referred to as a war by the perpetrators and much of western media when one side has no artillery, no supply line, no air force, no missile defence, no navy and no allies. The reality of what Israel was doing was broadcast worldwide in a manner we have really never seen before. That repulsed people (worldwide) and in Ireland in a way few conflicts have done in my lifetime.

Only you are saying that Poland acting hoping that it would restrict Russia's intent to continue what it was doing. Which, if that is the case, means you agree that refusing to play them was a ploy used with some expectation that it would have an effect.

This is an interesting piece of content from the Epstein files with respect to this conversation.

Israeli PM on Football Ban 2.JPG

I added the highlights and the key part is that the former Israeli Prime Minister, Ehud Barak was of the opinion that a proposed soccer boycott against Israel "had the most potential to change the fate of the country".

Interesting that someone such as him would be of the view that Israeli teams being banned from competition would have a significant impact on the mood withing the country yet many people here think that it would do no such thing.

And note, conversations around banning Israel start years before it ever became possible that it might come in to affect (Israel was saved by one Gianni Infantino who prevent a vote on their expulsion being held) and while they have been persecuting and killing Palestinians for years, what was happening then was nothing compared to what they have done in the last 2.5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Russia invaded a sovereign nation. Israel reacted to a horrific hateful attack on its people and its territory. Russia correctly banned from sporting competitions. Israel correctly not banned.

United Nations Bodies, International Medical Aid Organisations, International Courts, Recognized Genocide Academic Experts, country governments and Holocaust survivors have all deemed Israel's actions to have been genocidal.

And that aside, since Oct 7th Israel has killed about 3 times the number of Palestinian civilians in the West Bank, than Israeli civilians were killed on Oct 7th.

And yet some think they have done nothing to be held to account for. A shameful position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,806 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

But if they agreed to self sabotage Irelands own team its honourable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

the only reason Israel are doing what they are doing is down to Netanyahu ( not Israel as a country) doing what he can to stay in power as without it he is gone. This is a classic Trump play aswell. If you are in power ( and probably suggested by him at meetings), then the best thing to protect you is a conflict that you need to manage whilst in power be that real and initiated by you.

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

Is that even a question when the team in question is representing a Genocidal state? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭csirl

For those advocating a ban, what other countries and sports should be included?

Iran? DPRK? Afghanistan? Syria?

Should we boycott the Olympics? Should Ireland droo out of test cricket because of Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, Pakistan etc?

Where are you drawing the line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭dmcdona

Israel correctly not banned

For committing Genocide and War Crimes?

Just like Russia?

Hypocrisy 101

To be honest, when I've seen this argument used, it reads more as a deflection than a genuine query. But anyway, I'll respond in good faith.

Choosing to stand up against Israel (if it were to have some success) is more likely to lead to other countries acting in a way to put pressure on some of those countries you mentioned. Choosing not to stand up is more likely to encourage countries to attack with an increasing expectation that countries/individuals are going to feel they can act without soft resistance being put against them. Just because you can't (metaphorically) fight every fight, doesn't mean you don't fight any.

You could say the same about any cause that someone is drawing attention to, fighting cancer? What about mental health services? Fighting for improved mental health services? What about Diabetes, etc.

This week, the International Paralympic organisation said that contestants in next months Winter Paralympics can compete under their Russian flag. Lisa Nandy, the UK Culture secretary said it was completely the wrong decision to allow them to do so. Do you think she was asked a "What about" question when she spoke on this? Do you think she was asked about Israel.

There has always been a very strong affinity between Irish people and the plight of the Palestinians, just because there are other countries in the world doing distasteful or downright horrible things, that doesn't mean we have to not advocate for the Palestinians unless we act for all others who suffer at the hands of these countries.