What book are you reading atm?? CHAPTER TWO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭pavb2

Yes, didn’t live up to the standard of ‘Star of the Sea’ I thought it could have been so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

I remember you saying that, and to be honest, I didn't believe you until the Ship of Destiny. I really couldn't find any redeeming characteristics in Malta and I would be someone that once I make my mind up on something, it'll be very hard to get me to change. Really goes to show that Hobb is one of the greatest writers out there in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

The Age of Extraction: How Tech Platforms Conquered the Economy and Threaten Our Future Prosperity by Tim Wu. Just finished it. Like every one of his books, it was brilliant, meticulous and accessible.

image.jpeg

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Razor Girl by Carl Hiassen, it's pretty light reading but very much so entertaining. Try to jump between serious and light. Also reading The Power Broker by Robert Caro about Robert Moses which is fascinating, the man basically shaped modern Modern New York but was incredibly corrupt as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,714 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I've read no other books in the series.

Be interesting to see if the mini-series' crop up on any of the streaming platforms as thy often do, after Robert Duvall's death.

I remember watching it as a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

The (sort of) follow up to 'Star of the Sea' is 'Redemption Falls'. I found that a hard read and it took me 2 attempts to get through it
    My Dad took a semi-retirement job as a caretaker in a place in Dalkey and had a copy of it. This fella asked him what he thought of it. My Dad said "Its absolute shite, Have you read it?". The fella said "No, I wrote it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Glebee

I thought Star of the Sea would never end. 😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,508 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Re-reading RR Haywood's The Undead: The First Seven Days which dropped a significant rewrite a couple of weeks back. Enjoying the new chapters added, gives a decent amount of backstory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Finished Commanche Moon last week after reading Dead Man's Walk the 2 prequel novels to Lonesome Dove.

Would highly recommend them, not quite at the level of Lonesome Dove (but what is!) but great story telling. Starts back at the stage of Call and Gus joining the Texas Rangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Sharon_B

Read Lonesome Dove based on a recommendation here, loved it. Then read Streets of Laredo, Dead Man’s Walk and Comanche Moon. Loved them all. Couldn’t even say which was my favourite. Brilliant series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Farthest North: The Epic Adventure of a Visionary Explorer by Fridtjof Nansen

The detailed recounting of the Norwegian Polar Exploration by the main man himself, Fridtjof Nansen, which left Norway in 1893 and returned to civilisation in 1896.

What I particularly like about this book is the fact that Nansen allowed Otto Sverdrup, Captain of the Fram and subsequently, overall commander of the expedition once Nansen and Hjalmar Johansen departed from the ship to traverse the Arctic on foot, to take a couple of chapters at the end to describe what the Fram and her crew got up to in the 17 months that they were separated, to their reunion in Tromso in 1896.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

The Confessions of Aleister Crowley - The official biography of the famous, or infamous occultist. A rather odd character but a very interesting one all the same.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,708 ✭✭✭yagan

Just finished The Wager by David Grann and wow, just wow. An amazing read. Fantastic pacing, a true roller coaster of history narrative that never let up.

It's the best book I've read regarding seafaring since Two Years Before the Mast.

I had read his first book a month ago about the Lost City of Z and I was so impressed by his style I thought I'd hold off on starting the Wager and I'm glad I did. His mapping out of narrative was already very good in his first book, but The Wager is superb.

I'm definitely going to read his other books, but I'm going to save them for the poolside on a sun holiday.

My next book lined up is Unstoppable Brilliance about aspergers in Irish historical figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭pavb2

Reading Georges by Alexander Dumas quite an entertaining read he’s a larger than life character and the book gives a very descriptive picture of Mauritius

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I've just started Paul Thomas Anderson: Masterworks: A Filmmaker’s Creative Journey by Adam Nayman. I've had the book for a few years so finally getting stuck in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Just finished Moonraker by Ian Fleming, the 3rd of the James Bond series.

Very enjoyable fun book , different than I expected as based on the clips of the film (I haven't seen it) I assumed it was mostly set in space however it isn't, also I believe it's regarded as one of the worst James Bond films so I was worried about it going in but it was a nice surprise that the book is actually good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭bullpost

Bless me Father - Kevin Rowland

Autobiography of the Dexys front man.

A troubled soul who produced great music . Up to part where they record first album and steal the tapes to force a better record deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I just read “let me go mad in my own way”by Elaine Feeney. Ending was fairly dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,561 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I, for the first time in years, possibly a decade, bought a physical book. I usually read on a kindle but wanted to have something that was not technological as I try and stay away from the war stuff (I'm in the Middle East).

So I started the Fourth Wing and so far it's a great start. Right up my street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Glebee

Same here, rereading physical copy of Lord of the Rings for the first time in almost 35 years. It's a such a different experience from the Kindle that I'm used to.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,824 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Actual books add a whole extra level of reading pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭waywill1966

The Odessa File by Frederick Forsyth, the film version was on telly a few weeks ago back so I went out and bought the book. The book and film are very similar which surprised me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭bullpost

True Blue by Joe Thomas.

Last book in excellent trilogy of undercover cops in London during the 80s.

Infiltration of right-wing and left-wing groups of the time , such as the National Front and SWP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,717 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Katabasis by R.F. Kuang. It's a quasi-literary, kinda sci-fi novel about two students of magic at Cambridge who travel to hell to rescue their doctoral professor after one of them accidentally explodes him. It's… grand? Reminds me of both the Samuel Johnson versus the Darkness trilogy and the part of The Amber Spyglass when Lyra and Will are in the land of the dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,508 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Not about reading per se but I have self published my own book 😁 Won't post it here for… obvious reasons but if anyone wants to have a look feel free to PM me for the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,708 ✭✭✭yagan

I can only read physical books. I tried a kindle once and found it hard to skip back to where I may have started auto reading.

I have a great collection of classics that I've accrued over the years from charity shops but for newer titles I just get them from the library.

Currently reading Unstoppable Brilliance about Irish historical figures when considered through the lens of aspergers. I'm not sure I'll ever read W B Yeats again without thinking about his behaviour around and towards others. But on the other hand his very otherness makes his poetry so otherworldly.

Fascinating read but somewhat laboured in style, it definitely could do with an edit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Just finished Petain by Charles Williams, a very interesting character who was one of the French heroes of WWI and at the age of 84 became leader of defeated (Vichy) France in 1940. He was subsequently tried and spent 6 years after the war in prison until his death at age 95. It seems like popular opinion was divided about whether he was a guardian of France or a traitorous collaborator. It gives a good insight into some of the overall history of the period also. Well worth a read IMO

The author also has a biography of de Gaulle which I might read, I'd be interested to see his portrayal of two men on opposite sides of history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭adaminho

Watched a youtube documentary on him a few years ago. Very conflicting opinions on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭cms88

Matt Coppers book about Dunnes. A mad business and equally mad family to go with it!