New car - not buying from local dealership but then service car with them?

• 18-02-2026 12:58PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

We're buying a new car and there is a big difference between the various places for the exact same car so we're shopping around and asking quotes to all the dealerships in the region. We might have found a very good deal (last year's model for much cheaper) but it is with a dealership that is a good bit of distance away from us, so we wouldn't be able to use them for service (we'd use the brand service for a few years due to warranty). Is it accepted to use our more local dealership to service the car even if we did not buy with them because their quote was higher, or will they be too annoyed? Is the warranty attached to the place who sells the car? Car is a Hyundai in case it depends on the brand.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,722 ✭✭✭✭User1998

Your local dealer will be happy to take your money. They don't care where you bought the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,988 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

not always, my local kia dealer rang me upp one day and said they werent servicing cars not bought there after i had been servicing the car there for a couple of years.

theres 2 cars outside bought in the last year which cost near 60k. he didnt get the business

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Unfortunately this isn't necessarily true. They will take money of course, but the source can matter as well.

First things first, manufacturers warranty is with the vehicle, not the owner. And every franchise dealer has it in their dealer agreement that they have to accept warranty work, so it shouldn't matter one bit where the vehicle was purchased from.

In the real world, there is a huge lack of trained technicians in the industry and a lot of dealers are backed up for weeks with bookings and broken down vehicles waiting a slot.

Which means everything is dependent on what the dealer decides to do next in their own workshop, and dealer agreements don't mean a damn to that. If a dealer prioritises their local customers there is little that the manufacturer or Importer can do about it. I've sacked dealers for excessive VOR but that is a long term process and not much use to some customer right now.

So, it isn't a problem to have a vehicle bought elsewhere, that happens all the time. But there are also a hell of a lot of dealers that put "their" customers at the front of the queue and "warranty" work at the back of the very long queue.

Whether your dealer is going to do that, none of us can tell. But I know dealers that have left vehicles off the road for months solely due to dealer resource.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Might be worth chatting to the service advisors at the local dealer.

The ones at my local Hyundai dealer are totally chilled about everything.

And would be like

"Ah yes you've got a Tucson 1.6 diesel for servicing.

What's the reg?????.

What's mileage??????

Yes it's due a particular service based on those miles and age

Will cost x and take around 2 hours .

Would Tuesday week at 2 pm suit....."

Etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭gipi

I've had warranty work done at my local Hyundai dealer, didn't buy the car there. Had regular services there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,877 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I've had work/servicing done at dealers where I didn't buy the car from them. My father is the same with a different brand, they were delighted to have the servicing business.

If a dealer is ringing you up to tell you to feck off because you didn't buy from them or your not local to them then that only vindicates not buying from them even more imo. Maybe they would be better off with their efforts asking their sales team why locals found a better deal elsewhere, if keeping locals happy is that important to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Buffman

Sounds like Celtic Tiger level service is back with some of them!

I'm not the type to leave bad reviews unless service is absolutely diabolical, but if anyone went out of their way to ring me and say that, I'd roast them on the reviews and never darken thier door again, fair play to you for taking your business elsewhere.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,583 ✭✭✭goochy

We buy our company vans in Dublin and get serviced at dealers around country. Dealers just glad of business just won't be going out of way to offer courtesy vehicle for warranty work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Have never bought a car from the main dealer closest to me as their prices are never competitive when looking to buy new or second hand.

Use them for servicing without any issue and have also got warranty work done with them. Can't see why they'd turn handy servicing money down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭GavPJ

I was aftersales manager of place that had the franchise for Citroen, Opel, Rover and Tata (don't ask)

and the shithead that owned the place had a policy of if you didn't buy the car from him, you didn't

get a booking for 6 weeks. Whether it was for a service or any paying job or warranty, wait 6 weeks

or F off. The workshop had 8 bays and he would rather have lads sweeping the floor and washing cars

than take in paying work.

A total CN ut. Business eventually failed, tax man got him and his wife left him. I was happy about

all of this.

Yes it depends on capacity of garage .I worked at a place that couldn't cope with amount of vehicles being g sold at start of celtic tiger years in terms of warranty work repairs. If the owner saw a car pull up sold from another garage he would jump up from. His desk and tell me he didn't buy that here we dont want it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,331 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The smart guy will welcome the business.

He'll chat to the customer and say "sorry we didn't get the sale but keep us in mind when you are changing the next time".

It's the long game 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,480 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Ooh, I think I know that dealer.

If not, the one I know with that attitude was also a Hyundai warranty centre and told all the Hyundai customers to buy a Kia or stop coming there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭ec_pc

In my experience there is a huge difference in terms of the service from the garage you bought from compared to another garage in the same brand network. We live close to a dealer we do not buy from but use for service. First question every time is "did you buy from us", so I always feel you are on the backfoot straightaway and most definitely a much poorer customer experience. I just don't get it as if they can't give you good basic service why on earth would you go back and purchase from them?

Anyhow, golden rule in my book is treat all customers equal, sadly not always the case………

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭tnegun

I think I know the one they wouldn't be on a triangular-shaped site, would they? They charged me for diagnosing an issue with a Santa Fe, fit an unneeded new battery and then said they couldn't do the work, said it needed a new fuel pump and high pressure rail and put me in contact with another garage who wanted to repeat and charge me for the diagnosis again, long story short a few hours on the internet and one fuel pump relay later the issue was sorted on my driveway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Plenty profit in regular servicing of vehicles under warranty, most will gladly take a booking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭The Mulk

Ah feck, if it's the one I'm thinking of, I was going to head there tomorrow to see would he do the first service on my Ceed. Bought it as an ex demo from a Northside dealer. Might just head to Kia Liffey Valley instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭hhmmm?

Plenty of valid points for and against but one thing for certain, don't expect any dealer level out of warranty goodwill if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭hhmmm?

Nothing worse than when Karen drives to the other side of the country to save a few hundred quid on her new car only to bring it locally complaining that the car is not fit for purpose as the ambient light doesn't match what she thought it looked like online. Sorry love, back to where you bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Depends on dealer, and what level if work they can take on. They aren't turning down your work out of spite, thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,740 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

The place i worked took all servicing but if you didnt buy the vehicle from them you were always bottom of the list for loan cars and would rarely if ever get them to bat for you on manufacturer goodwill. Free NCT equivalent for the time you owned the vehicle also was a good way to keep ppl coming back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 catherder7

Thanks everyone for the input and advice! It seems that the consensus is that if we buy the car somewhere else the local dealer won't refuse to service our car but that they are likely to do the strict minimum or at least be annoyed (which is fair, they would be losing out on commission when they did spend time trying to sell us the exact same car).

If the difference is only a few hundreds after sorting out finance etc we'll definitely go with the local dealership for peace of mind and to save time, we'll only risk it if the difference is a few thousands but it seems unlikely.

A dealer can service/ repair whatever car they like . It's just they cant come out and refuse to do it as would get into trouble.

If they are very busy , it's understandable they need to prioritise people who bought there

Post edited by goochy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,977 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Dealers make more money from services than selling new cars. As far as I'm aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,722 ✭✭✭✭User1998

Why do you keep saying that the dealer will be annoyed at you? Do you really think they care that much? And do you really think they'll remember who you are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Killer K

Why not give the local dealer the chance to match or better what you are being offered further afield? If they can't match on price, they could throw in a couple of years free servicing for example to make up the difference.

Would approach it that you would really like to buy from them because you are local etc but they need to help you on the price difference. If they know you are a genuine buyer rather than a time waster they will want to do a deal. If you happen to know/bump into the dealer principal or owner then all the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,988 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F