Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,928 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Ryan and beirne would get absolutely minced in an already fcuked car crash of a scrum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

1 his performances were such that he lost his spot AND

…. that can have been a mistake by Farrell.

Happy to help.

So noting all of the above, it is not at all possible that maybe he didn't do himself justice?

I think it's entirely possible he didn't do himself justice and also that he didn't deserve to be dropped.

Now, that might get me pigeon-holed in the "lambasting the coach" bucket, but the reality is that was a perfectly reasonable opinion to have.

And it was entirely reasonable to have that opinion AND also think Farrell was too conservative. Because - as I've previously mentioned:

It's not difficult. It's because him being less conservative in a few cases does not mean he's not more conservative more broadly across the whole squad. There's no contradiction here.

I think that was absolutely a fair criticism of him for last season. Things have improved on that front this season, and it has been very necessary, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭almostover

We got minced there too with McCarthy on the pitch vs. Italy. Only seemed to steady up with TOT and Edogbo on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,272 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

from the photos it looks like Ringrose was as involved as anyone in training albeit with his right knee strapped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,067 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

im all for wanting a change but being disappointed that a player on your team isnt injured is a bit ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Just heard that clip on the radio,I would be surprised if Byrne doesn't start Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,067 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I'm disappointed at the likelihood for Ringrose playing, not that he's uninjured.

I’d love to see the offloading of Tom Farrell outside the offloading of McCloskey vs Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭HanShotFirst

I would be deeply concerned if that happened.

Nothing against Byrne but it would signify that this coaching ticket is completely flummoxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Jelly Welly

sexton needs to go back making glass or whatever. He’s totally unsuited to coaching/management. V like Roy Keane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Mentioned above that Crowley has been getting similar game time to Sam. Hugely inaccurate, he's been getting 15mins a game in general. Quite often of course playing out of position with Sam playing on. Anyway lets be positive and hope the coaches see the light when they select the team. Sextons commentary on radio seem to suggest it's Harry's turn now and Crowley will be sidelined yet again. Perhaps it's time to sideline Johnny!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Trey13

There is no way that Sam starts this weekend, in fact I think he will be left out of the 23 completely.

Big picture we are getting gametime into all of our 10s which hopefully benefits us for the 27 world cup. South Africa and France get lauded for changing teams, so I don't really see an issue with chopping and changing 10s for this campaign and the rest of the year. It is all about building experience.

With that being said, I am worried about the 21 jersey along with the centres. As good as Stu has been, I do worry that we are in a position where we can only possibly pick a player to play in the centre over the age of 30 (if not well into their 30s). We need to give some game time to other alternatives - be that Osbourne or Postlewaithe. As for 21, I just don't think Casey is really at the level to play an important role for Ireland. I think as a third choice he's fine, but I just don't rate him to be the 21 in a team contending for a world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Jelly Welly

Ireland won’t be contending for a WC. Seriously - get real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭ersatz

yeah, Irelands performance that day was atrocious. A lot of blather subsequently about how terrible soldier field organisation was, all true, and it being Irelands first game. Not so much about how all of the pathologies were on full display, sloppy kicking, meh defence, no attack and poor discipline. Wasn’t lost on NZ how abysmal they were even if the squealed a win. We haven’t improved since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,316 ✭✭✭✭phog

A view of how Sam's development was handled by Farrell (by someone who is not a Leinster or Munster fan)

Sam Prendergast was rushed into the Irish setup. There was strong talk he was heading to Connacht in summer 2024, but once the Irish setup made it clear he was in the Six Nations picture, that move disappeared and he stayed at Leinster.

He’d only started eight URC games and wasn’t even Leinster’s first-choice European 10, yet he was thrown straight into a Six Nations.

Two seasons starting at Connacht, mixed with Ireland bench minutes and a summer tour, might have been the better development path. He’d have built resilience, especially through tough losses. 😉

It’s easy to blame keyboard warriors when things go wrong, but fast-tracking a young 10 with limited senior exposure was always going to carry risk. Maybe it also highlights how different international environments are from week-to-week club coaching when it comes to managing dips in form.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Sam Prendergast was indisputably the Leinster European starting 10 when he playing in the 6Nations so that is already wrong.

The idea he would have been better off at Connacht under a coach that left mid-season instead of playing Champions Cup rugby for Leinster is also farcical.

Sam Prendergast was indisputably the Leinster European starting 10 when he playing in the 6Nations 

Is he even that now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭FtD v2

A view of Sam's development by someone who hasn't a clue would be a better title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭OldRio

The Scrum needs fixing. I still have flashbacks to 2012 in Twickenham. Ross then Court. Shudder.

After the French game we were lured into a false sense of security. Looking back the French never targeted the scrum. IMHO Loughman hasn't done nearly enough to be considered for the England match. Sheehan is well below his best and Clarkson was hooked at half time v Italy. A complete change of the front row could help. Although who knows? This could be ugly. 2012. Shudders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,059 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

4 European Cup games played by Leinster so far this season and Sam only started two of them

Incorrect. Harry Byrne and Prendergast have shared 2 starts each this season, Byrne starting away from home, Prendergast the home fixtures.

Byrne has 168 minutes. Prendergast 196, but some of those coming when moved to 15.

Whatever about anything else, there's no credible argument that Prendergast is "indisputably the Leinster European starting 10" this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,795 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Dan Sheehan also started two games in Europe and benched the other two. He is therefore not the first choice hooker at Leinster.

I'm sorry but pulling a random post from some other unidentified discussion board or WhatsApp group and posting it here as some sort of appeal to authority is a stretch, to say the least.

Sexton needs to go and learn his trade.

He needs to see the coaching world outside of Leinster and Ireland.

He needs to serve his time, learn the ropes and work his way up.

He needs to move outside the bubble he has operated in for over a decade now.

The apprenticeship that ROG served him well and prepared him for success as a head coach. That’s the template recently retired players need to work off.

Ah here, you're not even close to comparing like for like, one is barely out of the academy and the other is Lion.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,928 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Weird conversation.

Sam prendergast started every single champions cup game from round 1 to the semi final in the 2024/25 season.

This stuff isn't difficult to check lads....

And… hasn't this season.

I don't think we can as equivocally say he's indisputably Leinster's starting 10 this season.

Tbh there's a conversation to be had there too; I don't think it'd be a massive shock if, for example, Kelleher was selected ahead of him for the England game given Sheehan's recent performances.