Tell us about your cycle today part III

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,305 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Back up that way yesterday, though only took the easier Cunard upper route. Amazing weather, 17 degrees, clear skies and only light breezes in November. Felt like a Summer's day.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

As per the summers day comment by @smacl above, I went out for 50km yesterday in shorts and a short sleeved jersey. Didn't feel cold despite the wind chill. My Garmin said it was 17° and feels like 17°. While it felt great, there is something wrong with that.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,507 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

According to Trump there is no climate issue, so move on.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,567 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i was out for a short spin yesterday in shorts and short sleeves. felt like a summers evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,327 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Misty , damp & cold day.

Horrible for 4 hours.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,305 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

First go at a bit of bike-packing over the weekend, going down to meet some friends in Keel on Achill. Managed to get a Tubus rack mounted onto the Rose CX bike that lacks the necessary holes for anything else and about 12kg of gear (including a bottle of whisky for the lads I was visiting!). Short trip in the sub-zero to Heuston station to get the 7:20 to Wesport and Great Western Greeway to within about 10k of the place I was going to. First hour or so was grand and then got the driving rain and serious winds making the planned three hours over three and a half. A puncture on route didn't help either, but managed a super quick change for once. Very sketchy on the last 10k with big cross winds pushing the bike all over the place, I was almost glad of the extra ballast at the back and was dreading the return leg before even arriving. A few wonderfuk late nights with many pints and headed back up yesterday morning. Forecast said 50 gusting 80, but gloriously it was nearly all at my back and felt like I was on an electric bike. Lots of rain but mostly either side of me and the weather gods were kind enough to get me back to Westport dry, in about 2:40 with another 20 minutes of faffing around trying to figure out where the train station was. While there's a lot of stop-start with crossings and narrow cattle grids, the Great Western Greenway is an absolute treasure, now extended to about 5k into Achill Island. Most of it until you hit Achill feels relatively sheltered in comparison to the road and the fully tarmac surface is excellent. Empty this time of year if you can live with the harsh weather.

134k over the weekend in total.

And yet another puncture on the Gravelking SKS today on the way up to the Featherbeds via Bohernabreena. Really losing the love for these tyres even though they roll well and are a doddle to fit. Just ordered a pair of Schwalbe G-One R tyres as a replacement. Met.ie forecast had low winds but no one seems to have told the weather gods on the Military road, sketchy enough descent and a bit chilly but still great out for all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,787 ✭✭✭cletus

Was it the rear? What mileage have you on them?

Have had punctures on both front and back. New enough, replaced back in March so has about 4k on it. First punctures were snakebites trying to run too low a pressure but have been careful since. Had earlier version of the same tyres previously with far fewer issues.

I've been running those same tyres for about 5 years (obviously not the same set 😂).

The rear tyre has about 5,200km on it, and in the last month or so, it has been slowly losing air pressure. It might just need a sealant topup (I've been busy, but might get to that today), but I've a flat spot or two from having to haul on a couple of times (plus skids are cool), so it moght just be a little too porous.

Normally I'd just buy another Panaracer and throw it on, but these tyres have gotten good reviews, and I like the idea of the centre having much less tread for road cycling. Now the question is, do I just replace the rear, or buy a pair and be done with it

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,567 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

out for a spin for the first time in at least severn weeks today.

at one point, i had to squeeze past a white van to get into the advanced stop box at lights. at the next set of lights, the van driver very obviously pulled up alongside me and as the window started coming down, i think 'great, what's this guy's story?'

'hey buddy, would you like the other half of my sandwich? someone like you needs it more than a fat bastard like me'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Luxman

Got a free bike wash today. Just as well bike tyres are too narrow to aquaplane. Roads more like rivers out there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭De Bhál

I like cycling in the rain in the morning, traffic around where I live gets very congested on a wet morning so cycling is a great way to get to work.

I don't like commuting home in the dark in the rain though. Hard to see potholes and feel vulnerable as it seems everyone driving is racing to get home and taking chances into bus lanes to save a few seconds for themselves.

Also, no side access to the rear of the bouse so carrying a wet bike through is not ideal.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I don't like commuting home in the dark in the rain though. Hard to see potholes and feel vulnerable as it seems everyone driving is racing to get home and taking chances into bus lanes to save a few seconds for themselves.

Whatever about commuting along lit roads, I love cycling unlit roads at night, even in the rain. Last night I managed to get 50km in on my way home from work. I use a Leyzene 1700 which allows me to see sufficiently in the dark. That said, I'm quite familiar with most of the roads I'd be on and have a good idea where the potholes and rough surfaces are. It tends to be nice and peaceful out there. Sometimes (not when its wet) I could even have a fly-by with a barn owl.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Leading a club Spin today up N. county Dublin. Puncture just east of Garristown - new tube and headed on. Another puncture (with a bang!) a short time later and noticed sidewall tear. Managed to place 2" of old tyre inside tyre as padding and another tube inserted. Headed up Snowtown hill from The Naul and just starting the descent - another bang 😢

Currently waiting on my OH to pick me up. Wouldn't mind as much but I was looking forward to trying the coffee stop @ McNallys

Post edited by Seth Brundle on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭saccades

Up ballinstoe today as I snapped my road frame (sadface), started damp and ended up fine.

I love Expressway up there so rarely do anything else, but went down pig dog to show it to a mate. It's loads more fun than I remember (loads of small jumps), so much so we went up for seconds.

Loads of lads and dads, which is class. One 8-10 year old kept up with me on a hard tail for far too long for my ego all things considered 😆

25km, pretty slow on the ups but both grinning like loons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭10-10-20

I took a spin around the back of Three Rock via Pine Forest Road yesterday. Lots of washed out sand everywhere, but the retention wall at Cruagh Road has collapsed near where it meets Cruagh Lane. The road was marked as closed, but it was possible to cycle through without difficulty. Don't know if it will stay that way though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

First puncture in a while on my commute this morning. Opened my frame bag to realise I had at some stage removed my multi tool. So started walking to dart. A good Samaritan cyclist stopped and actually went back to his house to get a multi tool. So managed to get the wheel off and change the tyre. To then find out my spare tyre was also punctured. Lovely walk to the dart and across town with the bike.

Today's planned route...

1000039146.png

It's not a figure 8, instead we were to do the smaller loop, take a right turn, and do the bigger loop, before coming back to finish the first loop.

1000039145.png

Here's closeup of that right turn, it's a descent, and we missed it, but Garmin rerouted us to join back straight ahead.

What we didn't realise was we were cutting out ⅔ of the ride.

When we landed back in Clonaslee, we were in no mood to start again, so we fecked off and got coffee and cake.

Coffee & cake in Clonaslee? (Or was it Londis or Texaco?)

No, we drove to Emo Court (it's on the way home)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,165 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Enjoyed a nice meandering cycle on my regular route up around Garristown, the Naul out to Bellewstown and Duleek direction. As usual, dont know what distance, dont know what speed but it took me four hours. My breaks were (i) to take a look at Four Knocks (ii) to take photos of buzzards and (iii) to my dismay there was a dead badger at the side of the road near Ardcath. Sad to see.

I keep thinking while cycling that I should join a club to put some structure on it, but that thought seems to disappear once I get off the bike.

First time this year up to the Featherbeds via Cunard at lunch, fair bit of ice in the road and really noticed my lack of fitness following the flu last month. Chatting to a local on an electric bike with his groceries on the way up who I've met a number of times, great for a bit of company but talking and cycling uphill feel like a bit of a stretch at the moment. A couple of Christmas kilos still hanging around and not helping either. Only 30k with 500m of climbing and we're not going to talk about the time ;)

just did a quick (i.e. slow) lap of the airport yesterday. that was not a pleasant wind.

but spotted three buzzards, all sitting on the perimeter fence. or else one buzzard who was following me around.

New bike day spin cut short due to the rain which wasn't forecasted on the Met Eireann app 🤬

1000053481.jpg

3 buzzards flew from a tree as I passed the Grand Canal at Lyons Estate

You still have the orro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭10-10-20

And I saw two Buzzards while cycling Glencullen Valley.

i've often wondered what 'citizen science' cyclists could contribute to. maybe entries in the national biodiversity data centre database…

i do but my orange Orbea has a crack at the BB and I figured I'd replace rather than hold out on a lifetime warranty claim