Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your cycle today part III

1656667686971»

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,165 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

yet more thread merge shenanigans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭10-10-20

What's the story with Kippure being fenced-off completely? Was up there 2 weeks ago and there were 7ft high fences against the railing. Didn't stop a group of 4 (two lads and two ladies) climbing it and giving it a go… but thought I'd ask.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Only seeing this post now - is that fence at the barrier at the car park?
    I'm not seeing anything online about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭10-10-20

Yes, 7ft fences like the ones on the Grand Canal at the gate by the road. Maybe they are gone now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭cletus

70ish km spin today. Rained the whole time (well, except the last 10 minutes or so). Got to try out the new winter boots. They're excellent.

Got a nice coffee and muffin in Square Coffee down in Athy, too. Worth popping in if you're down that direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭JMcL

Saturday I had a couple of hours grace so did a slow zone 2 as much as possible mostly succeeding in HR if not power as route was lumpy. 41km, 485m up @ 20km/h is lovely sunshine.

Sunday I put the feet up and let Ben Healy and Archie Ryan be my proxy with an orange weather warning in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭saccades

Didn't pay attention to the spin roll call for today. 4 fast lads and me.

Straight down the old N11 to Enniscorthy, leftish across to Blackwater (I think, never been there before), Gorey and back to Arklow.

Only ~700m climbing, 102km with an average 29.6kmph, my diesel V10 kicked in after 3 hours so felt pretty good at the end.

Missed most of the rain and it wasn't too cold tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,892 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

day off today.

cycled to the shop to get some pastries for lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭cletus

New Bike Day on Saturday for my wife, but between one thing and another, first spin wasn't until today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,892 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Probably the best week of weather for cycling all year.

Has been great. Another 3 hr endurance spin

And another week of settled weather to come

My car was due a service and airbag recall so booked it into the dealer I got it from in Athlone and took today off with the intention of repeating my trip from earlier this year to The Cut & The Wolftrap (in the Slieve Blooms).

My visit in Feb was marred hy two punctures at the start of the climbs which left me feeling quite vulnerable and (I can feel anxious at the best of times so this was nail biting).

Drove down this morning, I remembered I didnt pack a hat or bananas 🙄 Anyhow, offloaded the car and headed out before 9am. The cold fog escorted me around for most of the day - thankfully it covered the lowlands so the climbs actually got a little sunshine and warmth. However, the fog left me feeling wet and cold all day and there was a constant niggling thought telling me to head back to the warmth and coffee in the dealers. I persevered on.

Pulled into Peavoys in Kinnity but the queue was moving slowly and I'd have had to sit outside so I headed off again and would eat in Shannonbridge where I had a lovely greasy burger & chips with a pint of 0% Guinness.

Made my way back to Athlone via Clonmacnoise in plenty of time to collect the car (and drink a few cups of free coffee). I would have had enough time to do another 20 or 30kms but I am absolutely knackered. While I was lucky not to get any punctures today, the cold fog really zapped me.

153Kms with 1300m

I miss the weather we had last week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,922 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

In tenerife and had a bike for 3 days, wasnt feeling great the first 2 days and the cycling has taken a hit since mid october, however i decided id head for Teide and see how far id go.

I got there (to the 2100m marker, i couldnt face descending to the plateau with the hotel on it, knowing id have to climb back out), although very slowly. Felt I paced myself fine for the first 25/26k - i left from los cristianos and the segment said it was 33k. Did 15k before the first stop, and another 6k before the second ( last town). With about 5/6k to go though, i started really struggling...the gradients werent that bad (6/7%) and i knocked it back to the bare minimum, but was hurting to just keep the pedals turning over. Stopped at the side of the road 3 times to get my breath/take a rest, before sheer stubbornness forced me to get to the top. Made it to the top (the 2100m marker) in 3h27m moving time, and 3h55m overall. Passed 2 people on the way up, but was overtaken by about 30. A heap of older dutch mountain goats on the road today!

The descent was fun...after taking near 4hrs to get up, took me less than 1 to get down!

Thats me for 2024 probably....made my 5000km goal for the year, still 1400m under 50000 vertical metres, but dont think ill get out again until the new year.

20241219_133748.jpg

https://www.strava.com/activities/13149204833

Post edited by retalivity on

Got to cycle home in shorts this evening! Didn't think I'd be able to this early in the year!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,165 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

First time in donkeys I've been out around old town/fourknocks direction (and my lack of fitness showed, especially in that unexpected north easterly); was passed by dozens of lads on old motorbikes.

But I did see a chap in a very fancy faired recumbent near Keogh's crisps. His head was exposed but the rest was fully faired. I'd love to try one, but not on those roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭saccades

80 something km around Wicklow today. I usually pace myself but have decided to bury myself on climbs instead recently.

Arklow, rathdrum, up the stump to moneystown, Roundwood, Wicklow and home via the coast road.

I'm Banjaxed. I've cycled to the pub and I'm dreading cycling home up the hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

Only 3 out in our group this morning, hence the turns came around all too quickly. Gorey to Arklow, out past Jack Whites and on to the Beehive. Coffee stop, and headed out towards Wicklow but took right turn for Brittas bay and back coast road to Arklow, and on to Gorey. 82 kms avg 28.4kph. Tough into headwind and appreciated tailwind home. Caught by Grouo 1 about 7kms before Gorey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,088 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I have seen him around recently - the last time was on the Donabate bypass. It was in semi-darkness and he could have done with a rear light. Looks the business all the same although I think I'd feel a bit vulnerable in one, especially being so low down.

i wonder what they're like on hills; i know ultimately the energy has to come from your leg muscles anyway, but being able to use your own weight to push the pedals, especially when you're out of the saddle, must be missing when you're not able to stand over them?

That problem can be offset somewhat by being able to push back against the seat. I'd say they are heavy though and the full fairing wouldn't be advantageous a low speeds.

i thought today would be prime buzzard weather. only saw two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,922 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Out to Sutton and back on the cycle path for a quick spin this morning before work, nothing special. However, I did manage to (unintentionally) do the out and back segments in the exact same time, which is aesthetically very pleasing to me (they are slightly different lengths, but still!)

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭MangleBadger

Kippure to Laragh has to be the most enjoyable road to cycle in Wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭JMcL

I presume directionality is important here to the level of enjoyment! (speaking for a friend…)

the drop from the mast at kippure is a bit of a white knuckle ride though. unless they've resurfaced it, i haven't been there in a few years.

Ah I mostly meant from Kippure gates. 30-40 minutes of just enjoyable mostly car free cycling.

Not sure what it was like a few years back but its's not great for descending now.

One of my favourite pieces of road (either way).

Not a problem for Tutschel 12 years ago (the footage doesn't do justice to the gradient - it looks almost flat!) His descent from Mt Leinster is much more impressive.

Kippure descent

only one raptor today (just did a couple of loops past the boot in at the airport), but it was a kestrel which is a reasonably unusual sight, so am happy with that.