Farming Youtubers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Phil and Liv are currently chilling out camping in NZ.. they posted some lovely photos online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

yes, fair play to them. After years of watching someone working but never seeming to do anything for themselves its nice to see people getting a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Cane across this YouTuber yesterday, from Donegal - JRAgLife

Worth a watch. Some Saler suckler cows. They cut their own silage etc.

It has to be the cleanest silage pit I've ever seen at 2 mins in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭White Clover

I have watched a few bits, i like it. 398 and double chop cutting the silage and a track machine on the pit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Tileman

o Neill’s YouTube channel must be the best of lit now. Very good honest family farm. Great to see the progress on their farms. New calf shed is looking great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭limo_100

yeah there doing good stuff I must say the videos might be a bit long but I watch them anyway. Very interesting videos the last 6months I thought. Wonder how the content will go when the construction will be finished. He could prob do some land reclamation the uncles farm needs abit of work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Ye I like there videos, some money spent in the last year I hope it works out for them. I can't quite figure the layout of the calf shed, seems to be lots of gates and quite complicated but in sure when it's fully finished it'll blmake sense to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

had a look at a bit of latest video to see new shed… they should buy a bale shear for front loader and use it to split them roundbales of straw… have one here for silage bales.. also use it to split straw makes it easier to pick it up and spread it out when bedding… obviously the right job would be a teagle blower or one of those spread-a-bale implements…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Is Ellen still looking the part in them tight leggings or are they gone over winter?

don't see her posing to much to be fair, she seems like she's trying hard at the farming in fairness to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Danny healy ray

oneils are some crowd to spend in fairness to them the children are always out helping out nice to see ellen was on about thd cull cow's paying for a job in the milking palour my guess is an autowasher !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭9935452

Ive a neighbour like that. Feeds every 2nd or 3rd day. Straight after feeding, out with the wheelbarrow brush shovel and fork to clean up.

To be fair to them they are keeping everything clean and tidy, farmyards, machinery etc.

I look at the likes of Tom Pemberton in comparison.

When he started youtube , he had a rough dirty farmyard. A lot of improvements done since, a lot of money spent but still the farmyard is still rough and mucky. All the good machinery left out in the weather. Stuff abandoned everywhere, still using gates that are bent and falking apart. Taking shortcuts across fields in the middle of winter and destroying fields.

Some lads just seem to be good at keeping things tidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,107 ✭✭✭endainoz

Found this very interesting. Explained the concept of hedge laying very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,851 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

the biggest thing I would change about the calf shed is I’d take 1ft off the walk way and give it to the calf pens and have the stations for the automatic feeder in the pen. The way it is with the stations out on the walk way has left it very narrow at the station and makes the rest of the walk way pointless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Jesus do not put the stations in the pen, I have it that way and you cannot keep them clean and if you want to do anything with them your kneeling in scutter. Mine are coming out into the passage this summer, I've 15ft passage to play with which is a bit different alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭ginger22

What would you need to do to feed stations that you would need to go on your knees. Have JFC here with a few years. Stations are in the pens with the front level with front gates. Don't see any problems and the walkway is all clear to store supplies. Can take pallets in and out with loading shovel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Obviously if they are in the calf pens they would need to be on a concrete apron at the front of pen and not with straw all around it, maybe thats the confusion above? All I ever had to do at crate is change a teat and that can be done from outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Mine is a JFC as well. This year I've had to replace the pipe in the rotating pump in each of the 3 stations and I've had a problem in one of the stations where the float in the little insulated cylinder, the one with the little lagging jacket, gets stuck in the full position and the tank has to be emptied and cleaned out. I've had a pipe come off that goes to the test on one as well. Each time the place is soaked in milk as it's pissing out along with dung and hungry calves are on top of you so mine are moving out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,851 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

2 jfcs here. ours is in the pen here and bedded. Don’t find it messy at all. I have kerb stoping any urine getting into the clean area

The pipes on the rotating pumps I change yearly. The floats do stick on ours from time to time but any mess is contained in the pen. Have had pipes come off the back of the teat but it doesn’t cause any mess because the calf has to suck it out of the reservoir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭ginger22

All the pipes, pumps, floats are in the front of the JFC stations. Why would you need to go into the pen to repair. Our calf shed has a straw bedded area in the back of the pens, seperated from a wet area in the front with a bedding retaining board and a fixed barrier and a gate and a drain chanel at the front. The wet area is washed out a few times a week with a volume washer. No excuse for having muck in a calf shed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 LongTail

Found this a good listen from a few weeks back. Gives a good look behind the scenes of YouTube and spinning off from that into paywall type content.

Also spoke well about mental health and issues his mother faced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭visatorro

That was good in fairness. Some of them podcasts are good. Sometimes cammy goes off on a ramble for ages thou. I dont watch his YouTube channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Agreed, podcast was fantastic, only listened to it because John was on it to be honest, found cammy a bit annoying. Haven’t listened to any other episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭kk.man

Don't watch it anymore Iona has little to offer only seems overwhelmed with Cammy and any remark he may pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭leoch

I love cammys YouTube channel they both are great workers and deserve everything comes there way

I know wat u mean about his pod casts he does talk too much over his guests and has admitted it himself many a times

It's still a good watch most of the times..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭Base price

When we joined the EEC our fishermen lost out in favour of us livestock farmers.

I like to do a bit of fishing be it fresh or sea water and I follow a few youtube'rs which are mostly UK or USA based.

It's great to see Jody who is a Irish commercial fisherman from Kinsale setting up a YouTube channel. He explains about his boat, gear etc in his first three videos. I don't know the lad but maybe you can give him a like or subscribe.

Post edited by Base price on

Could someone fill me in on the background to O'Neills dairy farm? Did he only go back farming after having a job or did he just inherit farm now? Just wondering why so much development going on now in one go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭jaymla627

15 odd years back home, they basically just mortgaged the place to the hilt and took out a big loan for the current spending spree, dosent seem to be any end to the spending, it ramping up lately if anything

I think she is more at fault even in today’s video she pre paid for the work so they wouldn’t cancel it due to poor milk price. They have a great job down now in fairness. I like there calf shed.

It seems unusual that they didn't do some of this work ten years ago when quotas went and cow numbers went up. What have they been doing for the last 15 years!