This week's EV bargain that I'm not buying V2

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

That confidence will come in time.
    We need a new skilled workforce trained and prepared to work on HV systems. The old fashioned mechanic and some social media “giants” don’t help it either. They are protecting their livelihood but the current generation of mechanics should be delving into electronics and motors etc

ATU have an EV qualification now. I’m sure there’s more. Mechanics of the fit will be a hybrid (pardon the pun) of mechanical repairs (suspension/brakes etc) and electronic diagnostics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,512 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,761 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

That's the worst temu nonsense tesla yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭djan

Ya. Dollars to donuts, not a single shred of preventative maintenance has ever been done on this Model S.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,873 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Do you think someone is going to say otherwise?

At 120k kms there is a list of inspection items that - had they been checked - a conscientious owner would surely publish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Tango One

Bmw i4 2023. 82k miles on the clock just under £24k, picture usually pop up in a day or two with this crowd. General seem to price well and cars are gone within a few days.

https://www.usedcarsni.com/396428891

Post edited by Tango One on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭positron

Looking for a second car - budget 5-15k. Currently considering everything between eGolf to Model S to Audi e-trons… and fast reaching dreaded analysis paralysis stage.. :D

Audi e-trons under 20k these days. Good idea, or is it pure trouble like iPace?

PS: Main car is a Model 3, don't fancy another, even Model S is a hard sell to herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,739 ✭✭✭✭User1998

E-Trons can suffer motor failure not covered under warranty. It's an unlikely event but an expensive one if it does occur. New shape Kia Niro doesn't get mentioned much but I drove a top spec K4 model and really liked it. It had every feature you could think of really

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Has to be an ID3 or ID4 outside of the Tesla.
    wouldn’t be an eTron for me unless under warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭PureBred

Theres others on there for 1k more and half the mileage.

I see a couple of 2022 for more. This is a year newer I think this works out a little over €27k euro its a pretty good deal. Higher milage will hurt the price though.

Mad to think we consider 80k mile high mileage now.

Who does?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,739 ✭✭✭✭User1998

The general public. There are no high mileage diesels being imported from the UK anymore as they have been replaced with very low mileage Japanese imports which generally have well under 100k km even at 10 years old. The demand for high mileage cars has really fallen and thus are practically worthless as trade ins.

Terry from down the road 😉

But seriously if you look at prices they crash as soon as on the clock heads over 100km. You can even see it from reading the various threads. It's all built on fear the battery will be fecked. Most of these car will outlast mileage wise compare to an ice. In part there is a bit of truth to it worrying about the battery but more so in certain models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,783 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I’d argue that things like the Hyundai ICCU issue is far more worrying and will put people off buying than a lifespan of a battery “issue”- it would for me anyway - I don’t like Hyundais but this latest issue would have me running a mile from that brand -but both are still barriers in people’s minds - it means the secondhand market will continue to be uncertain for another while in my view - I recently purchased new and willing to keep long term as a second car if secondhand market is not giving me what I need but I think we’re still very early days in how EVs perform in terms of long term values - but governments need to stick to the plan in terms of phasing out petrol ICE etc - otherwise the tipping point on buying EVS will never be reached

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,766 ✭✭✭✭unkel

You are rational and informed. The overwhelming majority of people in the market for a new / second hand EV would not know about the ICCU issue. And a lot of people have irrational fears about EV batteries that not only simply last a very long time, but also typically come with 8 year warranties

Agree with your points though, in particular that fossil fuels are far too cheap in Ireland, which does not encourage people to move away from using them.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

The EUs u-turn on banning petrol cars isn't going to help.

There was never really any need for a ban. If someone wants to buy a brand new Mercedes G63 AMG and is willing to pay €400k taxes and duties on top of the €200k base price, pay €5000 annual motor tax and then fill it up with €5/l petrol, be my guest. Nice contribution to the state's coffers

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

In a future of high VRT, high motor tax etc I can see 30+ year old V8/v12 barges being more expensive as they will have €56 tax

Young engineer I met the other day on the solar PV farm he was in charge of constructing and maintaining, had a genuine '04 CLK 55 AMG 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,783 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Public charging costs are scandalous - anyone dependent on these on a weekly basis must be gritting their teeth every time they plug in. I can get to all main cities in Ireland with my EV- I’d need a booster though to get back home again and more if touring around when at those cities- but I only do that say 8 times a year in the main so not really an issue - if I were doing it every week or a few times a week , I’d be losing a lot of savings that the EV gives me from having a home charger - there just isn’t the interest in supporting a quicker changeover to EVs in Ireland is my view

Electricity would need to be Eur1.00/kwh to be the same refuelling cost to me as the car I left to go EV.

Don't think we're there yet, or likely to get there anytime soon.

Even if charging the EV was more expensive I would switch anyway, as the overall ownership experience is so superior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,903 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I just like not having to smell diesel fumes in the garden. I still have motorcycles and a van. And having that run for few minutes to warm up on the morning is awful. You become very desertified to the fumes but when you turn a diesel car or van on, it comes back in spades .

Awful yokes

I have a leaf, a Maxus van and mrs elm has an ora. All 3 are EVs.

My "other" car for long range driving not covered by the above is a jaguar xf 3 litre twin turbo diesel.

You'd notice the differences in driving the diesel vs EV - both positive and negative - straight away after sitting into either car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭evftw

My older bike is from the time before the cats and it smells bad even when riding it. Part of the charm of proper old school I guess but it's very noticeable. Also my BIL's Multistrada absolutely stinks when at full chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,903 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Oh the bikes are great. It's the diesel van thats an awful yolk 😁 it has its job though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭blackwrx

Dump it and get a cheap LDV EV80? Or is the range not sufficient?