General Race Thread 2026 **spoilers**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,625 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

57kg Andrew August not taking one pull in a break of 4 and then outsprinting three 75+kg units is absolute comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭Paddigol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Gillespie looked very strong today. Closest she’s been to Wiebes

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,258 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Interesting to see the TT in Volta Comminitat wasn't counted for GC because of the wind. Had assumed Remco had it in the bag before I spotted that. Girmay could hold on to the end although today is a test for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,552 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Moving to HBO Max from next month apparently.

I have a Belgian HBO subscription since last year. The cheapest package costs me more than treble the 40€ a year I used to pay for Eurosport or GCN (which you could sometimes get for half price on sale) - 5.99 for the basic package and an extra 5 per month for the sports add-on. Yeah you get a load of extras that I haven't watched once. App is clunky, service is worse (I don't think there is an ad-free feed anymore, has never really worked abroad despite EU laws on content portability), and it is just generally sh1t.

https://road.cc/news/cycling-coverage-set-to-move-to-hbo-max

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Ireland is again excluded from HBO Max sports, just as it was with TNT.

Do you need a VPN to watch that @CantGetNoSleep or just when signing up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,674 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Seems like the current NowTV route will still be the only way to go.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,258 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Where did ye see that we won't get the sports option? It doesn't seem clear one way or the other. If we did then we would at least presumably get the moved over Discovery+ package of ad-free steams and ability to re-watch a race in the evening for the money all be it overpriced. You'd also get all races and not miss out if it's shown on TNT Sports 5 or something.

The HBO press release mentions UK & Ireland for the entertainment options (every time they mention UK, it’s UK and Ireland) and then mentions UK for TNT sport.

So while it may not specify anything, it’s pretty clear that the only change is the name switch from Discovery+ to HBO Max for THT sports.

There will be no sports on Discovery+ from March 26, so we’ll get nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Jesus Wept. Another year of messing around????

I didn't know I had it so good up to a few years ago.

they’ve updated the press release and it explicitly states that sports is UK only now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,502 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Firestick and 3rd party app is the way forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Broadcasters - we have to do something about illegal IPTV streams. Also broadcasters - we won't offer you a way to legally subscribe to the sports you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Melodeon

At the risk of getting banned for being some sort of evangelist shill, I keep coming back to recommending Tiz.
    I paid the subscriptions for Eurosport back in the day, GCN+ (RIP 😥), and most recently, a shared Discovery+ (UK) sub via a VPN.
    The Eurosport online product was great, GCN+ was beyond excellent, and Discovery+ was, well…, pretty much everything was there, but the online interface was abysmal and the cost was exorbitant.
    My UK relative got the D+ sub on an introductory offer, but when they whacked it up to full price we couldn't justify it. Especially as we were comparing their pitiful product against what we used to have from GCN+.
    They also only provided the 'as-broadcast' feeds, complete with advert breaks, for the ridiculous subscription fee!
    Feck that!

As an experiment to see how it worked, and with the (reluctant!) fallback of D+ if it didn't work out, we decided to try Tiz for a few months.
    It has worked out just fine, and unless/until someone comes up with a legit cycling-only subscription model for this market along the lines of the excellent service we had from GCN+, for a reasonable fee, we'll be sticking with Tiz for the foreseeable future.

Tiz isn't perfect by any means: there's no live-rewind or pause during live feeds, and the on-demand feeds only go up the morning after the day of the event, but we work around that. We rarely watch much live here anyway, so it's easy enough the just defer viewing until the next day, and unless an Irish rider does something remarkable, we're very unlikely to be 'spoiled' by the Irish press.
    The Tiz online interface is somewhat clunky, but once you get the hang of how stuff is laid out, it's easy enough to navigate.
    There's no sign-in account, for want of a better description, so it doesn't 'remember' where you were and the on-demand feeds restart from the beginning if you don't finish the race in one sitting or if you switch to a different device. It means remembering where you were in the feed when you go back to it, but that's not an insurmountable difficulty.
    It may or may not play nice with ad-blockers, so that needs a bit of experimentation.

On the up-side, Tiz runs entirely in a browser, so there's no app to install and it appears to run fine on every browser and device I've tried it on: Chrome, Brave, Firefox, Amazon Silk, on PC, Android phone and streaming box (Formuler), and Firestick.
    It seems to have everything provided by Eurosport/Discovery with English commentary advert-free, and loads of smaller/more obscure stuff from local broadcasters with local language commentary, of course.
    And as a delightful little bonus, on the Grand Tour and Monuments coverage, they use the proper advert-free stream complete with on-site pitwalks and interviews, and NOT that studio Breakaway utter bolloxology!

TLDR: Tiz works great for dedicated cycling coverage, given that no one appears to be interested in providing a proper cycling subscription service for the Irish market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,625 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Anyone watching Etoile de Besseges last week would have seen Arnaud Tendon for 4th division Van Rysel Roubaix caught 50mm from the line after 150k in the break. He was back in action again today in Tour de Provence, did another 140k in the break vs pro teams and this time made it stick.

Post edited by retalivity on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,828 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

IMG_4385.jpeg

Townsend’s new bike looks class.

Really wish CI would relax the rules around the national champs jersey design, it’s so outdated compared to others and doesn’t give the teams any flexibility really

Those rules are so we don't get sht like Mullins kits.

SoSome teams are woeful and can't be trusted.

I like that our kit isn’t just the flag.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,776 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

The EF kit? That was beautiful, possibly the best Irish Cycling kit ever.

UAE Tour started today. Crash in the pack allowed Del Toro nip ahead and get the stage win

Dunbar and Mullen there. Safe in the pack

Jamie Meehan top 20 overall in the Tour de Provence yesterday too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭seaviewphotos

I haven't heard but I'd say we won't see Milan race again for while, looked like his shoulder was gone.

It seems he got away with it. Still there as of today. About to start the climb in UAE so a chance to see how Eddie does. Not so great yesterday in the TT.

Unibet, Q36.5 and Tudor all received wildcards for the Giro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

And won again today, also I didn't know but his brother podiumed with him yesterday.

Jamie Meehan in the break at Tour des Alps Maritimes. Seth Dunwoody and Liam O’Brien also racing with their world tour teams there

Lara Gillespie and Mia Griffin down for the opening weekend in Belgium this weekend. Marine Lenehen, Fiona Mangan and Alice O’Brien pencilled in for some of them according to PCS too

Rory Townsend doing Kuurne - Brussels - Kuurne

Ben Healy to start his season in France this weekend alongside Archie Ryan and Darren Rafferty too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Sammy96

Anyone know what the story is with watching cycling in Ireland this year on TV with this hbo max announcement?

I am about to renew my tnt sports package with now tv but I am unsure if its actually going to be on tnt sports in Ireland.

Does anyone know?

No change for Irish viewers. Cycling only on TNT sport, with the only (legal) streaming option being “sports extra” on Now TV

No sports on discovery+ (which is moving to HBO max, but won’t be available here (the sports part))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 889 ✭✭✭devonp

Also you can get TNT sports (4 channels) as an add on to Sky, .."Sports extra" package with the 2 Premier sports channels, i got them as an extra (intro offer) when i switched from Virgin last year..got an email recently saying they weren't going to up the price…must check the billing… can sometimes get streaming and catch up on SKY Go…but not really On demand as they were on GCN+ and Discovery+