Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I really don't see it being driven at a State level, but could see the EU issuing a directive forcing the State's hand. Realistically, this is like road traffic enforcement - not popular so there is no political will, so it will take EU to force their hand imo.

Could quite easily be done with fines from Coimisiún na Meán rather than revenue or gardai. Fines are issued already in this State by non-gardai - for example road tolls which can ultimately lead to prosecution for non payment.

I say this as someone who is considering my options, given Irish users once again frozen out from accessing content legally via HBO Max, which is mirroring the TNT Sports restrictions - no TNT 5-8 available, no app access, so no legal route to lots of sports like cycling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,829 ✭✭✭jj880

AI leading DXhound astray again. It was a Russell Grant horoscope. All Pisces will have bad luck with a dodgy box this year.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Now that is interesting. See FAQ 9 here:

https://www.pierse.ie/legal-services/m50-eflow/

Tolls obviously go to fund infrastructure.

Would the EU force intervention and would the public be happy with state funded litigation in what's essentially a civil matter? Or could it work some other way?

Info 👉️ Important News!!

While that's where it generally goes, I don't think it's ring fenced that way so as to have any real relation to applicability of fines/ penalties. Any collection from some future law could just address that anyway, if it was an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Pedantic much?

It's common to refer to someone with expertise in an area to be referred to as "an authority" in that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 419 ✭✭Kilteragh

This is the internet my friend. A place where people with no experience of what you do, know better than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,851 ✭✭✭✭kippy

That's an option alright however even at EU level, with all their is to deal with, I'd think this was well well down the list of priorities.

Any issuance of fines is ultimately backed up by the courts system, no matter who issues them also - it would take a long long time to enforce leglislation in this area that would lead to enough people dropping these services.

The rights holders really need to stop paying over the top money for sporting rights, reduce and condense their overall packages and supply a good affordable product to those that want to watch it.

Any issuance and collection of fines ultimately needs to backed up by the courts and prison system as it's likely they would be challanged legally regularily.

Hard to see any major changes in this country in this area for the short to medium term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,700 ✭✭✭jmcc

The Krebs link that I posted upthread. It has links to the research and details of devices potentially affected.

Regards…jmcc

There seems to be a fair bit of "when" not "if" the legislation comes in here. Tenuous.

I have my doubts about the Italy reports as it stands.

Issuing notices is 1 thing. If an end user sees jail / fine enforcement in another EU country we'll see.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

As I said, no more than the scramblers and many other things, the leglislation is there already - at most it can be "strengthened" but without a full path to enforcement or a change in behaviour of the rights holders, it's not going to have any significant effect.

Maybe, maybe not. Doesn't really with tolls, or most fixed penalty notices. A few cases make headlines, but most pay the fines and move on.

I've really no skin in the game, but lack of political will isn't the same as something that couldn't be done/ be effective if there was political will! Most would likely pay the fine and move on (not necessarily to legal services) rather than drag it out to court and risk a more serious fine and/ or conviction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Us Librans don't believe in that sort of stuff.

It's also the place that people make stuff up for a laugh and a reaction.

The idea that a company "similar to Grant Thornton" would send out a student on work experience to talk to the media about a hacking incident is indeed laughable and the poster has also got a reaction.

No it is not. There's a difference between someone from a company being quoted and an acknowledged expert being quoted. An acknowledged expert is generally considered an authority on their subject. The problem is that when it comes to Technology and other specialist fields, journalists will use all sorts of terms to make their quotes sounds more authoritative.An authority does sound more impressive than a mere expert.

Regards…jmcc

It depends on the amount of the fine I would argue. Too low and not many care about getting caught, too high and you'd have people heading for court with no ability to pay etc etc.

Tolls and fixed penalty notices are generally, relatively low in value, in he case of FPN's are part of a wider range of laws that will eventually have you off the road, or in the case of tolls will eventually have debt collectors after you, again with the ultimate end point, the courts.

Chirst we can't even enforce our TV license leglistation (where we know the details of the TV owners -in general) - there's no hope for something along these lines.

Again, I don't see the enforcement of existing leglislation, never mind the strengtening of leglislation happen in any short or medium term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Even if you ended up with a compromised android box, couldn't you set up a 2nd router as an access point, put it as the only device connected to it and stop outbound traffic from the device?

I'm not 100% sure of this by my own admission.

BTW - as somebody who has worked with - and companies who employed - companies like GT, any assumption that these people are all experts in their field needs to be tempered with the fact that they are huge bums on seats factories with big teams and for every 1 expert there's 5-10 absolutely useless jobs worths who cost a fortune despite their uselessness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,671 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Even if you ended up with a compromised android box, couldn't you set up a 2nd router as an access point, put it as the only device connected to it and stop outbound traffic from the device?

Long story short. No.

Depending on the router you may be able to limit the client to a specific Protocol.

But life is far far far too short for that nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭kazoo106

I'd say a few more token raids and prosecutions will take place - and a few Joe Bloggs customers will be prosecuted too, to take the bad look off it.

Do you really think that in the event of a blanket shutdown of these streaming services, that all the dodgy customers are going to instantly sign up to legitimate services?

Not a hope, and then, what do you think the advertising agencies (who dont give a damn how the consumer views their ads) will say to the TV company when said TV company wants to charge the same for carrying said ads - without the 6 million odd spurious viewers across Ireland and the UK.

In my line of work, things would actually be a lot easier if they did all vanish in the morning - how people pay money for the utter crap service on most of those restreaming services is beyond me - but people do.

So just because you don't agree with what they are saying you have decided that the person from Grand Thornton quoted in these articles is just "someone from a company" and not an "acknowledged expert".

Even though you know absolutely nothing about them or the company

You are really arrogant aren't you.

Edit: I just checked the profile of the person (Howard Shortt) quoted in the Irish Times article.

He has worked in tech for 30 years and has a masters in Computer Foresencis and Digital Investigation from UCD since 2010.

But yea, he's just someone from a company.

You obviously have problems with comprehension. This is what I wrote above and I have not disgreed with him:

" Listened to the Newstalk clip and it was generally accurate and simplified for a non-technical audience.

https://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/highlights-from-newstalk-breakfast/dodgy-boxes-are-even-dodgier-than-you-might-think

Grant Thornton didn't do the research on Kimwolf. An important point was missed that some of these low-end Chinese boxes are shipped in a compromised state. At least it wasn't a "technology" journalist being interviewed."

The point about low-end Chinese devices being shipped in a compromised state is important and it was not made in the interview.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Grant Thornton have a business purpose for saying this, they arent giving out this warning thanks to the goodness in their hearts and are likely being contracted by sky or some other vested interest who benefits from turning people off dodgy boxes. There very likely is an element of truth in the story but its also just as likely that the danger is being overblown to push whatever agenda it is they are being paid to push.

This is the best case scenario for pay TV in my view. A few eejit resellers will get caught every now and again. Examples made of their customers (jury still out on how / if that will happen) as a deterrent but it will be a miniscule % of users. The end. Unless sub costs come down enough so users won't bother with "dodgy" streaming.

So for now if your reseller is a clown not being careful with their identity / location its time to shop around or buy direct.

Post edited by jj880 on

Info 👉️ Important News!!

No, no problem with comprehension, you are just including posts that I am not involved in.

Here is a history of our interaction on this

You first said "Can't ever remember Grant Thornton being some kind of authority on cybercrime"

I replied that they offer professional services like IT security etc

You replied "But not some kind of authority that goes around issuing warnings"

I replied saying that "authority on" something often is used to describe an expert in something.

And your reply was "There's a difference between someone from a company being quoted and an acknowledged expert being quoted"

To which I replied with the details of the person from Grant Thornton who was quoted in the Irish Times article

I never mentioned anything about the Newstalk peice, so why are you brining it up.

Maybe you have a problem with comprehension

This is the issue though. The service from a lot of these providers is wholly adequate for the person who is paying for it.

Do the want full 4k with X and y bells and whistles on it, most likely not. They want a relatively stable picture, options for many many different content types at a low cost.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Does discussion of this subject trigger you somehow?

Any comment you post seems condescending and sneering.

Have you "skin in the game" at some level?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,932 ✭✭✭irishgeo

i am not triggered by anything called.I'm been sneered at all the time but I am the one that gets called out for it.

I am saying anything that is untrue but people seemed to be triggered by what I say.

No skin in the game at all.

IPTV is here to stay and will be the future of TV. Illegal IPTV maybe not.

But people are delusional if they think the SKY can afford to reduce prices to IPTV levels when IPTV pirates don't have to produce any of the material they steal and rebroadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I have designed an advertisement which the companies could use. They are far too soft in their approach up to now.

Are you a Garda? A solicitor, a barrister, a Judge. And you have a Dodgy Box. Are you ever concerned that your association with organised crime could be made public in the future? Epstein files style. The Irish public are extremely unforgiving if someone in your position goes off the straight and narrow.

We at Nowflix TV will give you a good deal. Not €10,000 worth of content for €20, but a good deal. And you will have a clear conscience

The main focus of what Grant Thornton were saying was related to cheap IOT devices people have around the house and that are becoming more popular.

It's the media that focused on the dodgy box element of it because they know that's a click driver.

So I doubt that the cyber security division of Grant Thornton are being contracted by Sky or some other vested Interest.

Maybe their independent expertise in the area came to the conclusions they came up with.

The people getting triggered are the dodgy box fan boys who seem to jump up and down every time it's mentioned in the media.

Complaining that it's scaremongering, accusing people they don't know of not understanding tech, complaining that the media should be focusing on more important things etc.

They seem very insecure.