Boards Golf Society 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,143 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭Batesy

Yeah, maybe he's just busy with the Bank Holiday weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,519 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

busy is an understatement, all work and no play unfortunately

I’ll sort you out before I go to bed

Fair play Seve. No panic on it if you're under pressure.

Hi All, have been "volunteered" by El Capitain to announce a couple of changes to the way we're approaching things this year with the society. With the committee, there's been copious discussions, votes, re-votes, re-re-votes, but we've eventually gotten to a bit of concensus and for the 2026 season the following will apply:

• There will be no change to the scoring system in terms of points allocation for GOTY
    • Everyone will as per usual start the year off their GI index, and your index on the day of each round will be used to calculate your society playing handicap
    • We're removing the split cuts (ie the reduced cut for registering a round vs not registering)
    • Instead, if we're playing in qualifying conditions, and you do not register your round, you are not eligible to collect a prize.
    • We're getting rid of the buffer calculation and there will be no more 0.5s back for anyone over the year. The thinking here is that the GI index is already much more reactive, and if you're playing bad golf, it will be moving out quickly anyway, especially with the 5 shot hard cap.
    • Traditionally we had a standard cut for all players who finished in the top 3 at an event. 3 for a win, 2 for second, 1 for third. When we've looked back at the scoring over the past few years we've noted that this is disproportionately impacting on lower indexes (ie a cut of 3 shots to a 3 index is a bigger hit than a cut of 3 to a 23 index). To that end, we're going to switch to a percentage of index cut:
    • 15% for 1st
    • 10% for second
    • 5% for third
    • Cuts will continue to accumulate over the whole season and only reset at the end of the year.

We're going to try these out for the year and see how it plays out. We think it'll help give a fairer playing field for everyone and should lead to a competitive race for GOTY this year.

Look forward to seeing ye all at the Jameson and throughout the year.

Happy golfing!

Would any of the seasoned members be able to set the general scene / expectations for the newbie members who are starting in the Society next weekend?

Just thinking about the course of events throughout a typical Boards Society outing such as:

Any Society specific etiquette we should know about / observe?

What time to meet?
    Is there a check in process etc

How to approach / get iGolf markers for lads using that system to try gain an official handicap?

Stay around after the round or ok to get on the road etc??

Basically a do's and don'ts for the new members that might be helpful so we can settle in as quickly as possible

Batesy

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 2,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

I joined a few years ago & had a similar number of questions. Hopefully this helps:

• Be there as early as you like before your tee time, but be ready by the tee roughly 10 mins before you're due to go off.
    • Usually the captain finds people around the practice putting green & hands out cards etc, but if you don't make contact you'll meet your partners on the tee
    • For markers & signed cards, just ask your playing partners, there'll be no issue with this
    • It's good to stick around afterwards to get to know people, but if you can't you can't, and nobody will hold it against you
    • When on the course, play smart - watch your ball so you know where it's gone, know how many strokes you've taken and don't do anything to obstruct another player.
    • Feel free to ask your playing partners if you have questions (rules, procedures etc). We were all new once and needed to ask
    • Have a blast, and remember the overall Boards rule of "don't be a dick"!

Thanks for that TrueDub 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

newest member usually buys the oldest member a drink 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I think I might be close to both

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I'm out with you on Saturday Batesy, so can give you a rundown as we go through the round. Truebub covered most of it, basically don't be a dick, keep pace with the group in front, and enjoy yourself. It's a cracking course to start, and a cracking group to play with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭bobster453

We play stableford so main rule is keep up with the group in front.

If you are out of a hole pick up and move on.

Relax and enjoy it, we (generally) dont take ourselves too seriously.

Wear your big boy underpants and take the bit of slagging that will happen, give as good as you get.

Dont apologise for bad shots or you might be apologising all day.

Pay due homage to the golfing gods when you hit a good shot.

Oh and dont make fiver bets with @tigerwood1 or @benny79

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Ahem!!!

One of the founding members here!!! 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

High* praise Buddy. Hoping to see you through the year 🤩

Post edited by RoadRunner on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

New* guys always stick out on the putting green. Genuine fear in their eyes. Brain doing 90mph with thoughts going through their head like… how do I ask this guy beside me [something like] "are you Johnny Two Shoes?" and try keep a straight face 🤨

Post edited by RoadRunner on

Just try relax and enjoy it. We've all been in your shoes...arriving for the first time to meet a bunch of weirdos off the Internet.

Captain Tiger will be set up with cards, etc... in the clubhouse to welcome everyone and point them in the right direction.

I'd say get there early enough that you don't feel rushed. There's nets to take a few full swings, a chipping and putting green, all close to the first tee.

And don't worry about people watching your game, ultimately every golfer is completely self involved and only cares about what they're doing with the ball themselves 🤪

The lads you play with will give you a good steer. As mentioned

• Keep pace with the group ahead
    • Its stableford. Again the lads will explain if you're not familiar. It helps with pace, as long as people follow the rules of it. Namely...once you've scratched a hole, pick up and move on. If a 7 is a scratched hole, you don't need to keep playing out and hole out for a 10. All thats doing is slowing everyones pace down.
    • At the green, try leave your golf bag on the side of the green closest to the next tee box (again speeds things up a bot between shots and holes)
    • We don't play "The Honour". Its ready-golf on the tee box. If you're ready to hit, step up and do so.
    • Similarly, in between shots on fairways, around greens, etc... you can get yourself prepped for your own shot while someone else is hitting theirs. You don't need to wait till after they've finished their shot completely to start your own routine.
    • Be prepared for the weather. Its February, on the east coast. You may see all four seasons on the day, so have rain gear, wooly hat, etc… with you even if the forecast says no rain 😬
    • Generally people tend to stick around afterwards for a bit of food, chat, and to hear the results and prize-winners. Its as good a way as any to have a chat and meet a few people and get engaged with the society, but if you need to escape, don't worry, life gets in the way sometimes. I guess here, there is a hope that people will involve themselves in the society, there should be a social element to things, and not an feeling that people are just using the society for access to courses and green fees that they couldn't otherwise get.
    • Mostly though, as people say, just try enjoy your golf and the day. You'll be on a great course, playing a great sport in a great location. Take in the views, enjoy the shots, hopefully more good than bad. Even a bad round will have some good moments to remember.

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The prizes are always given out after so worth sticking around if you can.

Portmarnock has a good bar that does good food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭blue note

Smart golf as people said. Don't react after hitting a bad shot until you actually know the outcome is bad. You could mishit a putt but have completely misread it in the first place and leave it stone dead. Or choose a sensible line but hit it on an aggressive one - don't be an idiot and call it in the air. Wait until you see if you carry the danger anyway. Then you can decide whether you want to say you pulled it, or just didn't catch it out of the centre of the face. If you manage to bounce something over a bridge, insist you were aiming for it, just in case you happen to not carry that one 250 yards.

And always commit to the story. Just like playing good golf requires commitment, so too does talking a good game. However unbelievable it is that you meant something, just don't admit it was a fluke. You bounce a ball over a bunker.... Be modest and say you know you didn't have the distance to carry it so you, so you hopped it over it. Hit someone else's ball on the green ... thank them for providing the backstop. And hope they don't ask why you didn't just aim for the hole instead on l if their ball.

And finally, enjoy yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Ignore me..im just a crank..Is a great society, have fun , don't be too anxious..The golf standards are not european tour. So don't let that get into your head.

The only serious issue with BGS is slow play ,lots of great comments above. In general, issue I see is lads are not ready to hit with club in hand on tee box, fairway or green. Too.many lads looking at each other waiting to do something...answer to this is, do something..anything..anyone..

We are very slow around the greens ..very .

But it is a society, so you can't expect it to be a metronomic 4 ball of early rising seasoned life long fast golfers..

Enjoy , great characters . What i enjoy is the variety of courses , players , skill and discovery of it all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Some great posts there lads, fair play. Ye all sound normal enough :D

I've been a member of a Society a few years back and generally get out for a couple of casual games during the summer months so not a complete newbie to the sport as opposed to the Boards Society, so I'll be grand once the golf gets under way…. I hope :D

I've no official handicap, so have signed up to iGolf and my 1st round will be on Saturday. I think I need to nominate a marker to help submit the wonderful score afterwards. Not sure how that all works.

Batesy

• Administrators Posts: 56,309 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Whoever marks your card on the day will attest your score in the Golf Ireland app also.

Before you start the round on Saturday you create a scorecard in Golf Ireland for Portmarnock Jameson Links.

Then you play your round, you can enter your score in the app as you go or you can fill it all in at the end. Make sure you enter your score in the app before you hand in your physical score card to the lads though!

At the end of the round, it'll ask you who is going to attest. You can search in the app for the person who marked your card. They get a notification in their phone, they approve it, then it's all done and dusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭paulos53

It was mentioned above that as we are playing stableford, you should pick up once you can't score any points on the hole. However when submitting your first 3 rounds on iGolf you shouldn't pick up unless you can't better +5 on a hole.

There will be no problem getting help in submitting your score in the Golf Ireland app afterwards. Most of us will be doing the same and the process is the same for iGolf.

Would you be able to let the committee guys you were on to, Tiger or Seve probably, what your society handicap was. We usually cap handicaps for someone with no official handicap until they have an official index

Yeah, Seve explained that to me when getting set up and recommended the iGolf route. I generally always hovered around 18 - 20, but happy to take whatever until I get a few cards in.

that’s a great post @Batesy with some very good questions that I don’t have ever really been asked before.

We’ve all been there, it’s a bit weird and intimidating tipping along to your first outing but as you’ll find out soon enough….. well worth it.

I think the lads have answered all your questions fairly well above so just get out there and enjoy it