BANGERNOMICS (sub3k) of the week/day Part 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭dobman88

I know a few here will appreciate my 2002 Corolla update as someone here found it for me online when I bought it.

Passed NCT today 1st time. I even booked my mechanic for Thursday already as I assumed something would crop up but nope. What a machine.

Have it now 2 years. Haven't done a whole pile to it. 2 new tyres. 2 new rear brake pads which I did myself and then just general maintenance when I get a free hour or 2.

Only 93k miles so hopefully some life left in her yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,830 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭gussieg

220 thousand is that not a lot

It's nothing short of a miracle, and that's miles too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭1percent

Ae ye well, its time for me to part with my beloved 09 passat, High mileage at 430k km but starts without fail. She is not pretty to look at but Is in for a valet at the moment and getting some fresh front pads this afternoon and then nct on wednesday.

Its Highline spec, heated leather seats, a/c and runs on a photo of a gerry can of diesel. Could go for another 100k if looked after.

Reason for selling is wife has said she wont allow our soon to be born be seen in it so we must part ways.

Il stick the DD add up here when its ready

Thinking 1800 but would let her go for 1500 on here if anyone is interested and ill throw in the Hanes mannual too. What are people's thoughts of the price?

PS. Taxed to July.

Post edited by 1percent on

Lost by one vote... That sounds to be a bargain in, you aren't being greedy anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭StonedRaider

As you've asked for thoughts on price, I'm just throwing in my opinion.

Exactly a year ago, I assisted a neighbour in purchasing a 2009 C5 2.0hdi Nav. 320k kms. 11 months NCT. Same owner the past decade. Interior was pristine. I don't think the rear and front passenger seat was ever sat in. Came with a full tank of fuel. He paid €1250. It flew past the NCT last month (4 new tyres and front pads was needed) Now just under 370k kms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,565 ✭✭✭✭User1998

A Citreon C5 doesn't have half the appeal or potential customer base as a Passat does. I checked DoneDeal and despite the high mileage I think the price is fair enough as long as it's not too rough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭StonedRaider

Someone purchasing at that price range couldn't give 2 flying fcuks about appeal. He would have bought anything, as long as it had a long NCT, reliable and €1500 max. Looks like he's getting at least 2 years of trouble free motoring for that

Right, but there's plenty of people out there who don't have that mindset, and want a particular car such as a Passat. Nobody really wants a Citreon C5, it's just something you end up buying, like your neighbour did. Thats why Passats are more popular and command more money.

thanks for the feed back, ya i think ill put it up at 2k but expect to settle at 1500. So if someone here wants to take it and save me 60quid of a DD ad and dealing with the mouth breathers, ill do a deal here 😂

The mileage will turn off a lot of buyers but i think this is a bargin for someone

AAh ya she drive like a dream, just a few not quite blended paint touch ups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭turbodiesel

C5 VTR+ 2.0 diesel estate. Nct till April. Big mileage but price of €800.

Obvious negative is €600 a year road tax.

https://www.facebook.com/share/17iNhryXx3/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭jharr100

http://www.adverts.ie/39372433

Nissan leaf for under 2k

70/80 km range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

This is the first time in months I’ve been on boards, first thread I click onto is this…and I see my car 😄

That Leaf is mine. I bought it last year and it’s been a great little runaround/stopgap. In summer it gets 105 km of range. 8 bar battery health too, which apparently is very good for an early Leaf. Both charging cables with it too, and 2 keys.

They don’t suit everyone, but if you’re looking for a cheap car for local driving a good example of an early Leaf is a great buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Sold.

The last 5 cars I’ve sold now have all been through Fb marketplace or Adverts. I’m close to giving up altogether with Donedeal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Beachcomber1097

I bought a 10 reg Audi Q5 with 260KMS on it last year.

Probably one of the best cars I have had in years. Paid 4500 for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭jharr100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,900 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Sold already

That was rapid… 🥴

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭djan

Hi all, sharing my mothers Fiat Bravo that I am selling on her behalf.

It's a little rocket with 150bhp, highest spec model with low mileage at 157k km. In decent nick with only a few scuffs around but nothing too crazy for the age. NCT till August 2026, out of tax but is on the lower cc rate of €385.

Comes with service history throughout the 4 years of ownership.

Everything including the dual-zone climate control working as it should as it had the common issue of it going fixed so good for another 10 years!

Would be happy to do a boardsie deal, see ad here:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭jackal

My own bangernomics entry:

1500€, 270k km, taxes till end April. Nct until sept.

IMG_8813.jpeg

https://www.adverts.ie/car/toyota/corolla-verso/2005-toyota-corolla-verso/39457589

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭breakemall

Sister in law looking at going Bangernomics. She knows little about cars and I know even less. Any opinions on this ? https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-verso-2010/41207697?utm_medium=share&utm_campaign=listing_share&utm_source=whatsapp&modal=gallery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,727 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

"Sold with 1 month warranty"

I think a dealer has to offer a 3 month warranty minimum.

Also, someone else here might know if it has the troublesome BMW 2.0 diesel engine. If it does…

Not your ornery onager

I don't think 3 months is a legal requirement. Especially on a 16 year old 150k miler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭jackal

that’s the 2.0 litre Toyota engine that predates the troublesome 1.6 litre BMW one. It’s fairly bulletproof, but not near as efficient as more modern diesels. Usual diesel caveats apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

My Mam had a ~04 one of these around that time and the one main memory I have about it is it's a very small 7 seater. (I also felt like the Automatic experience was bad, but that doesn't apply). Just make sure she double checks the size requirement works for her. Something like a C4 Grand Picasso, Renault Grand Scenic, Ford Smax/Galaxy etc would be much bigger cars that it (Although I can't imagine any would compare reliability wise to a Toyota)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭9935452

The bmw engines landed round 2017. They had a 2.0 bmw engine as well.

Would agree the toyota engine was known to be a good engine.

A share of lads round here had them and gave them no love but they kept going .

The one thing id have against them is its only 122bhp. So fairly dead by modern standards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭CuriosityKilledtheCat

2011 VW Passat NCT 06/26 - I have been told €2500 will buy this: https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2011-volkswagen-passat/41446999