Hot Press 50 The Concert 3Arena- Fri 6th Feb 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,162 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

too small for them

Possibly unavailable because of recording commitments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,885 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Ticket sales suggest they need a boost. If they were playing, it would have been leaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭RolandGoose

I'd suspect they'll be there some shape or form - probably dialed in with a recorded message from Bono and Edge and an acoustic blast of an early song hotpress championed - maybe out of control or something similar.

There are some great names on the bill and it should be a great night.

Doors 6pm

Show starts 7pm

Doors 6pm

Show starts 7pm

Ques for Entrance 2 is a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,218 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

All Looking for a ticket for tonight..but unfortunately left too late for ticket master

Any other options

Half hour left

Clannad, Tommy Tiernan, The Frames, Imelda May and Cranberries still to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,206 ✭✭✭adaminho

Think Tommy was on early, brother text me earlier on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Frames unbelievable. Best I've ever heard them.

Post edited by Stillill42 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭weldon

From what I remember, I think final running order was:

Clannad 

Special Guest: Michael D. Higgins, with Myles O'Reilly

Irish Women in Harmony

Gavin James  

Laura Murphy

Van Morrison

Emmet Kirwan

Belters Only 

Florence Road

Denise Chaila

Tony Cantwell

Picture This

Damien Dempsey 

Emma Doran

The Frames

Rachel Galvo

Imelda May 

Tommy Tiernan

Noel & Mike Hogan of The Cranberriesft Dermot Kennedy

The Boomtown Rats (with Boys are Back in Town tribute to Phil Lynott featuring Adam Clayton and Imelda May)

Amazing gig. Ran from 19:00 until 00:20.

Well I had a great night with my wife. Bizarre mix of stuff but a general atmosphere of goodwill to all men. Frames highlight for me. Revelate, Fitzcaraldo and Stat star, sounded amazing. Into the Mystic by Van, Zombie by Dermo and the lads other highlights, Tommy 10 minute masterclass, Emma Doran funny, Bob and the Rats good craic, Damo fantastic and everyone had something to contribute. Really enjoyable evening.

Edit: Forgot to mention Emmet Kirwan who did a brilliant bit from Dublin Old School. One of the highlights of the night.

Post edited by Stillill42 on

Missed Clannad due my own time keeping and the delay getting in (que was a joke for Entrance 2 getting in for 7pm), I'm travel savy (and taking the cost on the chin) but the unexpected run over was even more frustrating. On the bus home to Waterford now atm after getting the G1 out to Red Cow Luas

Enjoyable night all the same, the stage changes we're a challenge but can't fault the night that was served

Grumpy atm but will post more positive soon

Unfortunately was Clannad first on 😠

Back in the deise now, tired but what a good night, got value for money as they say (even though lost a bit on travel😡)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭spindex

1000063793.jpg

Anyone know who this is, from Irish woman in harmony?

She sang the opening part of Sinead O Conners thank you for hearing me.

Incredible voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Thats a very long trek back after a gig.

Are there late night buses to Waterford normally ?

Normally get the 23.45 home from Bus Aras but the gig ran over and then missed the 00.05 one because of the same thing

Used to it but was stressful but home safely was the main thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,203 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Anyone get in early enough to see Clannad? Decided it probably wasn't worth it for that alone, plus having to change other plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

That’s Sibéal Ní Chasaide

She has an incredible voice, any time I’ve seen her she’s been amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭watchclocker

Absolutely super gig, missed Clannad because of queues, apparently doors only opened at 6.15 causing the backup but they obviously still started on time

Some value for money, ran way over, staff were told it would be finished at 11.30

The Frames were my highlight but the whole night was great, only low point was Tony Cantwell for me but others around found him hilarious so each to their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭mondeoman72

I was there for 6. We were left outside in the drizzle until 6.25. They were telling people standing in the rain to put down their umbrellas due to health and safety. Granny was in a wheelchair and was left sitting outside with the wife in the drizzle. Linen trousers were soaked. Clannad were super - as usual, miss my buddy Padraig though, only played one song. Denise Chalia was crap with her BLM mentioning George Floyd and singing BLACK is the colour. Ejit bringing her agenda into music. Her collab with clannad a few years ago was very good, but shes a dope now.

Imelda May was super, as were cranberries. Never seen Boomtown Rats before but Bob give it a lash. Very good.

Finished about 12.20 am and my legs were so sore from standing, seats in future.

I'm not sure you were listening to her if that's what you took from Denise's performance. Agree with you on the late opening though, a totally avoidable **** start to the night.

Tough break on the linen trousers. These are the little tragedies that nobody is singing about. Damien Dempsey could do it justice.

Hotpress always did push for freedom of speech. When I was 15 my mum called my dad to review this magazine I brought home and after looking at it, was told never to bring it into the house again 😂

I'm old school now, needed my 15 year old to tell me who belters only were. Was at the concession and asked the girl did she know the band music in the background while waiting for gig to start. She had no idea but supervisor cracked up laughing when I said the undertones. Im a different era.

Love Clannad, went on the session with them and Sephira after their gig in Liverpool. Van Morrison was excellent, never seen him before. The oldies are the goodies.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

It's a long time since I last went to a concert spanning 2 days (over 40 years back in my student days). (I did experience the 2008 Champions League final which went into a second day)

A few pics from last night:

DSC04830.jpg DSC04840.jpg DSC04879.jpg DSC04902.jpg DSC04925.jpg DSC04955.jpg DSC04974.jpg DSC05003.jpg DSC05038.jpg DSC05085.jpg DSC05211.jpg DSC05236.jpg DSC05504.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭fluke

How were Picture This?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭MustangMick

Really enjoyed it. great to see Van (used to gig with Nick his bass player, fab as always)

The Frames, excellent - saw their gig in the Spirit Store, Dundalk on Wednesday - 2hr 45 mins straight through, do catch their current mini tour of small venues in ireland

Boomtown Rats (Bob was himself, Thin Lizzy cover started well and then got a bit shambolic. Adam Clayton having fun on bass trying to keep things together. Last song, no idea what it was…….sorry)

Belters Only (no idea as im wrong demographic) They looked lost on stage.

Rachel Galvo - More comedy in my little toe, just plain awful……couldn't wait for her to end

Fun night overall , yes it way over-ran, as no shared backline or house band. Great to see everyone, I've no voice left and glad we booked a coach as we would have missed the last train.

Post edited by MustangMick on

Ffs if they only advertised 'kicking off the night is 'Clannad followed by Micky D' etc I would of timed my evening accordingly but own fault for not considering the possible delays and us Irish been Irish after been warned 😉 (definitely wasn't the only one). The rain didn't help,maybe they underestimated how long the set changes would take. Musicians are contrary could they not of used each other's instruments 😆

Irish Women in Harmony, Florence Road, Denise Cailia and Belters Only didn't do anything for me. The Frames we're my band of the night, my god 'Revelate' sounded amazing . They would do well on there own in the 3Arena, Didn't expect 'Van The Man' on so early he sounded great. , Dermot Kennedy with the members of the Cranberries was good but would of taken another 'Cranberries song' over 'Funeral' (I'll wait til the Aviva in July). The night was dragging on with some of those comedy acts been a bit of a pain but did enjoy Emmet Kirwan and Tommy Tiernan. Damien Dempsey, Gavin James and Picture This suprised me a bit and sounded great. Imelda May bugged me a bit, didn't even notice 'Adam Clayton' until I saw it on Facebook the morning after. Bob & the rats still got it and was pure punky chaos for that set to end the night

Hopefully the event was recorded, me thinks maybe a documentary in the works. The book sounds intresting going from the snippets over the night

Overall a great night and worth the transport hassle it caused me

20260206_200556.jpg 20260206_202308.jpg 20260206_220211.jpg 20260206_224122.jpg 20260206_232607.jpg 20260207_000555.jpg 20260207_000618.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,885 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

All seated or was there standing at the front? Looks to be a full house, well done Hot Press!