Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,120 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I could say the same about dairy farmers. Do not let me get started about them. There is a few going around chasing there tails, over complicating a system chasing numbers and not having factored in the labour and more specifically the labour costs involved. The look like marathon runners…and like they have just run a marathon all the time.

This is a discussions form. Lads give an opinion. @Siamsa Sessions put himself out there and is telling it as it is. @weatherbyfoxer the same. In poker terms he is going all in.

Me I am just too stupid and lazy to go milking I run a beef system take my very modest margin half watch my costs and carry on. Some day soon I will fo broke and have to sell the lot.

Look yesterday was a bad day.....well around here anyway. I did not have a great night's sleep either but we will see how today goes and tomorrow is another day

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

@Siamsa Sessions how this spring going. Must be a lot easier without a parlour of heifers to train and less building work. If the weather would play ball now it would be great

Are you planning on staying OAD for the year. Could be more margin per litre in a low price year, with better solids, less ration and a reduction in variable costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

There is still lots of ducks to get in a row for me to convert yet.

1. 300k is the top end..if tams get approved this could drop 50k and some used equipment could bring this down further
    2. The planning board need to ignore MrSweetman
    3. With the current milk price banks might not entertain the idea

We will know out planning situation 100% in early March.Until then ill keep pondering and doing the sums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,680 ✭✭✭Grueller

GDT up 14% over the last 3 auctions. We have hit the bottom I'd say and another rise in the next auction might put a little pressure on co-op boards.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

dairyedge2 is taking a week off for constant borderline trolling.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,779 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I was discussing something the other day and he asked the question where did i see this panning out in 20 years,that you always got be thinking 20 years ahead.i thought it was a good approach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭straight

Impossible though. Gave up trying to predict the future years ago after constant failure in trying to do so. All I try to do now is be as sustainable as possible and try to foresee risks like loss of derogation, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭straight

I discovered this morning that one of my bullocks mixed in with a pen of yearling heifers has one stone left. I'll squeeze him later and put him in with a pen of bulls to cool off.

I guess I'll go into the vets for a shot of PG for each heifer? Do I need to wait some time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,991 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A

And I'd scan them after too to make sure

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Spring here is the same as everywhere else - wet, wet, wet. Slatted tank is full and I've realised where I have the calves (pic I put up here the other day) isn't suitable for calves - it's too open and there's a spit of rain gets in on some of the pens.

No comparison between this year with cows and last year with heifers in the parlour. It took 3 of us to milk them last year. No bother at all this year. I can even bring milk out to calves while they're milking.

I'm on OAD at the moment but the plan is to switch to 10-in-7 in a few weeks. I have someone half lined up to do a few relief milkings every week, but I don't know yet if that'll work out. If it does, then TAD might be on the agenda. If it doesn't I've a plan-b for relief milking, and if that doesn't work, then I've a decision to make.

I want to stay milking, but it's not just about what I want. I have to be a small bit sensible when it comes to the wife and young lads. We have family in England and Spain, and if anything happened I need to be able to go.

There’s several other moving parts too including the money I’d need to spend but being stuck to the cows is the first thing I need to sort out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Great to hear it being easier in the parlour and it's just weather complaints like everyone else. A small bit of thinking could sort the calf shed easily and cheaply

Having everyone on board and a good backup plan, be that hired in labour, neighbours etc in the case of an emergency. Is something we all have to take care of, just more with cows.

Best of luck with the cows this year, the hard work was last year and it's onwards and upwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Jb1989

The rain is coming on and off this last few weeks from an eastern direction more than other years, it bucked us with open sheds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

The greatest stupidty face sheds east or north teagasc advice is north east so i definetly know its not right.The damage done from north and east wind is lethal the snow filled east facing sheds in 2018 but still lads never learn south is the only way yes the rain comes here but can be blocked east wind cant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,120 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

That is where you are wrong. Worst positioning for a shed is SW that is where our prevailing winds come from 90%+ of the time. Therefore NE is the best option, North is next best after that East. However NE or N should be the chosen options if leaving a feed face open.

MMine Is North the silage hardly gets wet 1-2 a year. A bit of a balls the day it's snowing but that is only a couple days every 3ishbyears

Slava Ukrainii

So lad when the next beast from the east comes whats going to happen east facing shed fill with snow

So lad for the last 10 weeks if you were facing SW and it was p!ssing in on top of your silage, the cattle were leaving a lot of waste after them what did you do.

Do you face your shed to a once in twenty year weather event or to one that happens for 90+% of the time they are inside.

Which side of the ditch do you stand behind when it raining

Slava Ukrainii

Anyone sell calves yet?

yes sold some dont believe all the hype.Calves making big money 500 to 600 are almost reared seen 70kg friesians 250 .Would have been better getting 20 euro at home week old which is where mine will go theres exception to prices ai bred off british friesian are making mad money could make anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,183 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Have a mixed bag here, bb, speckled park, ch, sim, aa and fr bulls. Had a lad up this evening interested in most of them. Good calves. Dont know what to charge tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭ftm2023

Wouldn’t you be best off sending them into the mart and letting them make whatever they’re worth inside in the ring? Generally speaking cattle dealers that call into any of our yards aren’t looking to do us any favours 😂 some of those calves that you have sound like they could be worth any amount of money in a year like this

Id say 300 would be fair 5 to 6 weeks the buyer will remember your decency and come back when calves are poor trade and be fair with you if its some mean midreable prick id charge 500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Be interested to hear what lads think is a fair price for calves out of their yards this spring?..have 80 angus and Hereford calves booked off 2 lads who I bought of last year and have to agree a price next week..pm me if preferred

Id say 300 lad im selling my friesians for 20 to my customers as decent a men abd women youll ever meet 1 week old.300 for angus and blue no picking or choosing or time wasteing or theyd be asked to leave very quick pm your number if u want to do a deal we can have a chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

sold friesian calves to ross mart last week, 2 week olds avg 245, 3 week old avg 280, 6 month old 900

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

The IFJ used to publish a table with calf prices for different breeds and ages. I haven’t seen it this year yet but I agreed prices for calves based on that table before. It’s something of a general guide in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,861 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

https://webapp.icbf.com/v2/app/weekly-update
    calf price tracker through the marts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭The Rabbi

I find Midd Tipp mart site handy. https://www.midtippmart.com/reports-prices