Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Westernview

Cillian, Tommy and Diarmuid are never far away from another injury it seems. Would be doing well to have 2 out of 3 of them fit for championship so we need to give plenty of game time to the alternatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,934 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Anyone see the massive bend in the post at the scoreboard end of the pitch. . One was totally out of alignment with the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Yeah, the right hand post at the club house end. It was leaning to the right.

Hopefully it gets noticed and fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 The Supporter

Great to get the two points against the Dubs,they have inflicked alot of pain on Mayo down the years,if Cormac Costelloes shot had not hit the cross bar and if Dublin had 15 players on the pitch would we have won? We are playing Donegal in two weeks ,Donegal beat the Dubs in Crokepark who had Con Callaghan and 15 players at the end. Donegal at the moment are a better Team than Dublin so a big job in hand in Letterkenny in two weeks to get a result there. Mayos defence was better the last day but a big improvement is needed for the Donegal game. Great to see Donnacha McHugh and Diarmuid O Connor get a run out the last day, Donnacha is badly needed in the defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Pat734

Jeez people would need to get a grip on themselves. This is the league, Div 1 and it will be good to stay in it. Jim and Andy will no doubt put out teams the next day that will give game time to fringe players and ones coming back. A win for Mayo or Donegal would be nice for either team/manager, but it won't be the main ambition. Mayo, no more than the opposition are trying to get everyone playing off a new system, this takes time. Be nice if everyone would for Gods sake stop talking about Connacht and AI Finals for a while. It really does get embarrassing for followers and makes us all look and sound like proper eejits AGAIN

I dont see many on here talking about AI finals. A connaught title is a realistic aim although after what i saw on Sunday id have Galway firm favourites when they get their full 15 back.

It's the Mayo for Sam egeets that need reigning in.

Post edited by Westernview on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I must be missing all the comments where people are getting excited. I can only see comments from Trolls and people commenting about comments that aren’t here about people getting excited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Pat734

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭MacDanger

**** that, I've Citywest booked for the 3rd weekend in Sept and I'm making no apologies for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭The Subliminal Verses

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 howdo1992

Andy’s winning matches ! Andy’s winning games……. Happy to see a more attacking style but I remember how good mcstay’s teams looked in his first league campaign. Hopefully won’t revert the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

I thought Cian McHale deserved motm.

I see Wolly was giving out about the standard, Im not expert but I thought it was a good game. Some wild shooting at times but overall lots of good attacking play.

I only caught the 2nd half but I was very impressed with McHale as well. Not just his accuracy but his cool decision making as well. Didn't waste a ball or take on any low percentage shots. That's the type of composure that a lot of our forwards have lacked over the years. Early days but Beirne is showing similar attributes.

Mayo team named, McHugh, Kelly & DOC in for Paddy, Plunkett & McBrien (not even on the 26, hope he's not injured):

1. Rob Hennelly – Raheny
    2. Jack Coyne (C) – Ballyhaunis
    3. Rory Brickenden – Westport
    4. Enda Hession – Garrymore
    5. Sam Callinan – Ballina Stephenites
    6. Donnacha McHugh – Castlebar Mitchels
    7. Fenton Kelly – Davitts
    8. Bob Tuohy – Castlebar Mitchels
    9. Diarmuid O’Connor – Ballintubber
    10. Jack Carney – Kilmeena
    11. Ryan O’Donoghue – Belmullet
    12. Jordan Flynn – Crossmolina Deel Rovers
    13. Darragh Beirne – Claremorris
    14. James Carr – Ardagh
    15. Fergal Boland – Aghamore

16. Jack Livingstone – Breaffy
    17. Paddy Durcan – Castlebar Mitchels
    18. Michael Plunkett – Ballintubber
    19. Stephen Coen – Hollymount/Carramore
    20. Dylan Thornton – Ballina Stephenites
    21. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
    22. Seamus Howard – Belmullet
    23. Conor Loftus – Crossmolina Deel Rovers
    24. Diarmuid Duffy – Ballinrobe
    25. Cian McHale – Moy Davitts
    26. Paul Towey – Charlestown Sarsfields

https://mayogaa.com/2026/02/13/mayo-senior-football-team-v-donegal-feb-2026/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,617 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Big win for Balla School in the Connacht Final yesterday in woejous conditions.

Kobe lined out for Gortnor Abbey.....I suspect he'll perform better in sunny Oz than in snowy Bekan 🫤

AOS in for Boland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,509 ✭✭✭naughto

clash of heads for boland in training cut over the eye had to get it glued

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Sloppy play and second beat to most balls, not a good combination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Quiet Achiever

Poor passing today. Low energy. Like the cold is in their limbs.

Could be in for a hammering here, 6 down at ht and playing against the breeze in the 2nd half.

Doing reasonably well on kickouts is probably the only positive.

I like the plan for long balls in but our execution is terrible from both the kickers and the runners.

Our backs seem to be letting runners go, Donegal are getting way too much space.

Long second half coming up I'd say

Hard to believe we had the wind in that half. Wonder did the squad travel up today or yesterday. We look lethargic.

Carr very poor again. Very little justification for continuing to play him in the games ahead.

Will need a huge improvement in second half to prevent a real trimming.

You'd imagine that Donegal will clip over multiple two pointers in this half 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,509 ✭✭✭naughto

was right to take him off far to many options on the bench

Paddy & Fergal on at ht

Good to see Conor Loftus back too

Brick needs to be much closer to Gallen, probably should have someone else on him anyway

Today is a reality check.

I know he dropped it short but nobody within 3m of Murphy for that last shot

Those missed goal chances proving very costly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

yeah really poor first half but we were much better second half. Scoreboard should have been a lot closer if we took our goal chances. Not too disappointed overall,doubt it was a game we were targeting.