Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

I am a scientist, that has been something that I have said for years on boards, in numerous threads. There is nothing in what I posted that would indicate that I required google to understand it. Ireland is a small country and I am still working. I'm not going to go into detail in what area I work in as it would be easy for anyone who knows me to identify me.

What I posted should be sufficient that I have an understanding of genetic techniques and difficulties that could delay analysing and signing out a report. BJSC did not demonstrate in their posting. A) they implied it should be a quick process as the extraction procedure was quick, which indicates a lack of in depth knowledge of what scientists have to contend with when dealing with low quality or degraded or mixed samples. B) they used an extremely odd phrasing for a report with STR analysis, describing it as a numerical output when most scientists would use more accurate (and just as explicable to a layperson) terminology such as marker, fingerprint or profile.

That doesn't take away any other expertise they have in forensics, just they don't seem to demonstrate any great grasp of the actual analysis and difficulties of genetic samples.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭bjsc

I googled "Closed Box" CE-IVD systems and the search threw up some interesting results including the phrase "caveat emptor". But I'm sure that's just a coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

It is just a coincidence. It's something that geneticists are wary of labs using as there is no one looking over the actual data outputs to ensure that any mutations called are real or not just sequencing artefact. Scientists in a lab have to stand over results analysis and results interpretation.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Baz Richardson

You were asked what your background was but did not offer it, I am not going to trawl through 1800 posts looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

There is a lot of information on the MVAC website, people may be interested to peruse. The key difference with the technology appears to be its ability to collect a much more significant amount of DNA from the samples vs the traditional methods, thereby providing more DNA for profiling. For the testing and identification of the DNA etc. itself it would seem that it still uses the standard techniques.

https://www.m-vac.com/why-mvac/forensic-dna-collection-faq

In terms of the collection itself it does for sure seem to be a relatively fast process, probably within a few days of receiving the samples they should have the DNA available to test. As @OscarMIlde is referring to the testing and discerning of who deposited those samples is probably where the bulk of the time is taking, but I would be interested in how long it takes in other similar cases.

Well between us we seem to have killed this thread stone dead!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Zola1000

Hi Bjsc, in reply to this post, since you have been working in detail on this case , what is your ultimate overriding feeling of it all.

From what I see, and without trying to exonerate anyone or anything...I ultimately would question at high level the original investigation techniques, and I would most certainly question the conclusion to focus solely on a prime suspect...without ultimately having anything of substance early on.

Have you seen any prior examples in all your experience as to why there was fixation with IB or how this decision making had risen to that early conclusion, it's bailey "he will kill again", being without foundation .Can you see any alternative scenarios that were reviewed with any great merit in the earlier days or can there ever be rationale as to why all other 50 suspects were so easily discarded...do you have access to who these suspects were.

Also another vital area which always causes me to be annoyed is scenario we had no backup to chief state pathologist. Is there any dialogue where a possible local doctor on merit , could have attested to the time of death...albeit whilst waiting for more exact confirmation from state pathologist. It's just a major element, and was there disagreements or anything in Garda files of having wait..and the impact this would ultimately have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,140 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The thread naturally goes into lulls and then bursts of activity based on new articles, information released etc

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭chooseusername

No, still lurking.

I was thinking of what Finbarr Helen said to you

"Alfie knew more than he ever told" Of course it could just be casting aspersions knowing Hellen's and Alfie's relationship. Didn't Josie also suggest Alfie was breaking into Sophie's house. But I would say Finbarr's not the only one who thinks along lines.

There are gaps in the timeline from before dawn, when Alfie was up and about, to noon, when more senior Gardaí arrived and took control of the scene.

Was the visit to the dump pre-planned or impromptu? When were the bags of rubbish put in the car? Why didn't Alfie accompany Shirley to the dump?- there appeared to be 5 or 6 fairly full bags of rubbish. Was he afraid of what might be down the lane? I saw in one of his interviews where he said " I heard no human sound", could that be read as he heard noises like the gate rattling or cars coming and going, but no voices?

When Shirley came back from the gate, Alfie went down the lane to check on what she said she saw, did Shirley stay at the house on her own?

Alfie said he went no further than the last bend in the lane- about 20 yards from the body, yet was able to call it murder to the call handler. Did he go closer to check for signs of life, pick up some blood on his glove/sleeve and deposit it on the back door when he went to alert Sophie? Would you, or anyone, go and check for signs of life. From 20 yards away how much could you see, could you see blood? You certainly couldn't tell if there was any signs of life.

Alfie said he phoned the Richardson's to warn them in case they planned to come for Christmas and phoned Leo Bolger in the evening to warn them. But Leo says in his statement Alfie called him before noon sometime. I don't think he played any part in the actual murder, but I believe he knew more than is in the public domain, but that's gone to the grave with him now, unless of course the Gardaí held back some information. His 80/90% certainty about Leo's version of the introduction points to how cagey he was, didn't want to throw his friend under the bus, but left just enough wriggle room in case.

What exactly went on from when the body was discovered at 10am until senior Gardaí arrived 2 hours later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Baz Richardson

Alfie was 80-90% certain that he had introduced Bailey and Sophie, not that Leo was there. I don't recall Alfie saying that Leo was there, did he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭chooseusername

"I don't recall Alfie saying that Leo was there, did he?"

I don't think so, as I said, Alfie was cagey.

lol, I think when we get to some factual conclusions (as you tend to often bring) it tends to reduce the speculative tangents of discussion.

Not necessarily pointing the finger at Alfie, but it always felt to me that there was more to his story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,764 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I dont want put anyone on spot but I have seen few comments mention this Alfie and Finbarr lads who were friendly or knew of Sophie.

Could anyone enlighten me in why they might be suspects too and expand on their dodgy past?

If im not mistaken was one of them on the Jim Sheridan Doc or might been Netflix one? Can't remember if im correct or not.

EVENFLOW

We'll never know now. He testified at the libel trial that he was 80-90% sure that he introduced Bailey and Sophie, but later added "memories can play tricks". Leo Bolger was present at the trial as well but he wasn't called to testify. You'd have to wonder why. He did tell the solicitor at that time that he witnessed the introduction. He didn't make a statement to the Gardaí about it until 7 years later when he was charged with having an elaborate weed growing business in Durrus. Alfie and Leo would have been in regular contact around the time of the murder as the Bolgers came daily to tend their horses on Alfie's land, so they would have plenty conversations around the murder, yet Leo was 100% sure but Alfie wasn not.

Post edited by chooseusername on

He (along with Shirley of course) is the only person who was at the scene, and also knew all of the key people personally. Sophie, Bolgers, Bailey, Hellens, I believe he met Bruno, perhaps even Daniel. Introduced a number of people to Sophie, workers etc., would have known the postman and all that. The chance that he had met the murderer at some point (or was himself of course) was likely close to 100%.

Yet he said he hadn't seen Sophie for a year or so and didn't hear any human voices that night, and he never actually said Bailey did it, just that he thought they were introduced. Didn't touch the body but knew she was dead, didn't touch the door, but saw the mark, called the guards about a murder, not an ambulance about an accident.

Given all of the above, he comes across very wishy washy noncommittal, "I'm just and simple old man" in all his statements and interviews. But what did he actually believe happened, he must have formed his own conclusions. His first statement was destroyed for whatever reason. I believe there was more to his story, but perhaps now we will never know.

This is a composite answer to a few points raised. I have a copy of the 2013 report by the Garda Ombudsman into complaints made by Ian Bailey, Jules Thomas and Marie Farrell. Bailey was first designated as a suspect on 27th December 1996 following a report by Garda Malone. During the first month of the enquiry there were more mentions of IB than of any other person in the job books (these are a record of all the enquiries and actions undertaken together with information received). There is also a report, dated 6th January 1997, stating that Marie Farrell does not know IB. The GSOC report states that it is "clear that he (IB) was seen as a prime suspect from early on".

I have attached a couple of conclusions from the report with regard to the conduct of the original investigation.

I personally think that there are two separate and distinct problems with the investigation. The first is the initial response to the scene. Although, forensically, it was badly handled and many mistakes were made and opportunities lost I think much of this was due to the inexperience of the first officers attending. However once the specialist team arrived from Dublin late on 23rd further mistakes should, to a great extent, have been eliminated. Unfortunately they were not. As to the issue of the pathologist it is my understanding that the initial officer in charge did try and get hold of a local pathologist once it became clear that Harbison would not be available until the following day, however she refused to attend.

The ensuing focus on Bailey as a suspect to the exclusion of anyone else is, unfortunately, not at all uncommon. There are numerous recorded cases of target fixation and confirmation bias many of which have lead to serious miscarriages of justice. I have seen several examples in my own career.

The question I would now like to ask all of you is this - what conclusion should we draw from the fact that all 3 gates at Sophie’s house were open when her body was found. There is plenty of evidence to show that when she was in residence she was adamant the gates were closed. But on the morning of 23rd Dec all 3 gates (the one where her body was found, the one into the field in front of her house and the one behind her house) were open. How does this fit into any of the given scenarios around her death. I open the floor to you guys.

I was always of the opinion that the gate at the back of the house was closed, well it is in this photo, which appears to be a crime scene photo and shows the rubbish bin outside the back door- a bin which Shirley Foster said would surely have been knocked over had anyone tried to enter or exit by that door.

The GSOC report was available online for a long time, but the link to it doesn't appear to work since GSOC was reorganised and re-named Fiorsú.

I'll have to check but I think that photo was taken, at the earliest, on 24th and possibly later. Although there were a few photos taken on 23rd by a local officer they don't include any of the house or immediate surrounding area. The scenes of crime team didn't arrive from Dublin until about 10.00pm so the majority of the photos were taken from 24th onwards. Both Alfie and Shirley say that the back gate was open.

I was sent a copy of the report and downloaded it before it disappeared.

I've checked the photos and the one showing the gate is taken by Garda Byrne (not Billy) who didn't arrive from Dublin until 10.00pm on 23rd. It's part of a sequence that were clearly taken on 24th as you can still see the gate in situ in some of them.

I was about to ask the same question as @chooseusername, as I was under the impression it was closed also, but I am aware that there have been conflicting pictures of the scene (e.g. the blue fabric/coat? on the chair in the kitchen). One additional point in favour of it being open is that Alfie said that he banged on the back door (I mistakenly implied he didn't above), which would indicate that it was likely open at that point.

If all three were open that is kinda wild alright, especially given the fact that we know she was a stickler for closing gates. Need to think about that one a bit.

I'll dig out the statements tomorrow. Also - why would they bottom gate (where the body was) be pushed back as far as it would go ?

The gates being wide open would indicate something, or things, large and wide had to pass through, rather than just having the gate ajar for a moment for someone to walk through. The obvious answer is a vehicle, but then why were all three gates open? There is no way for a vehicle to pass through all three gates in one sequence.

Given there is so much blood on the lane gate, and also some on the back door, and on the stone in her field, but no blood on the back gate, or her field gate, it would indicate that those 2 gates were open before the murder was carried out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

One possible scenario that, I think, would fit with many of the known facts, is that Sophie rushed down to the gate to confront someone about leaving/propping it open and that a verbal disagreement then escalated……………

My thoughts exactly. Personally i think it possible that someone drove up - hence the wide open bottom gate - and then went through the gate at the back of Sophie’s house (for whatever reason). Sophie sees the bottom gate is wide open and goes to see why. She choses the quickest way, which is down the field, and opens the gate by the pumping station. There is then a confrontation by the main gate and she is killed.

" Both Alfie and Shirley say that the back gate was open."

I hadn't seen this before, they would both have been through that gate before any Gardaí arrived, so they, especially Shirley, would be the only ones to know that.

" Also - why would they bottom gate (where the body was) be pushed back as far as it would go ?"

Alfie said the sheep wire on the bottom of the gate kept it open ( to allow a car through?) and the struggle against it probably pushed it right back against the wall.

A lot has been said about Sophie wanting the gate kept closed, but she shared that gate in the lane with the two other properties. She had, in the last year or so, got Finbarr Helen to install one gate by the pumphouse into her front lawn and the one at the rear of her house, to secure her boundaries. There must have been some sort of easement agreement with Alfie to access his field and shed through the gate at the back of her house. Did that agreement extend to anyone else? I doubt it. The gate in the lane open is one thing, Sophie couldn't really object to anyone opening it, but the other gates open is a different story.

True. But there is a statement from the postman who says the gate was always closed and that Alfie had installed a post box on the gate post. The gate was definitely closed at 6pm on 22nd when he made a delivery and lights were on in both houses. Alfie and Shirley both say that they didn't go out that evening and Sophie made numerous phone calls which confirm her presence in the house. Access to Alfie's field was via the back of Sophie's house and a small gate had been installed next to the broken down barn so any stick in there could be fed.

Not disagreeing, but it is possible with the lane gate that it was still closed before Sophie was attacked, and then the murderer opened it up, thereby leaving the bloody handprints as they pulled/pushed it open. Could also explain why Sophie's body was dragged a little (as referred to as a possibility by Harbison) to move her out of the way of the gate opening. Maybe they drove in, closed the gate, and then an altercation ensued about something else. A friendly visit that went awry, rather than an escalation over an open gate.

Overall I'd also point out that securing boundaries is not just a privacy exercise. If you don't overtly secure a boundary then it can become a right of way, and you lose the ability to dictate what happens to it, or prevent its use by others. In addition if someone already felt like something was a right of way, they would likely want to remove any overt barriers, e.g. a locked gate etc. It's the type of situation where both sides can feel like they're in the right.

This also isn't just relevant to the immediate neighbours and farmers although they were clearly the most frequent users, but there were old paths all over the area, people like Jerry Scully and the likes would wander about assuming free reign.

I thought it maybe more likely that she walked down the road. Was she in the habit of going down the field, seems like it would be more awkward way to go, albeit shorter of course?

Also I thought that when the block was removed from the pump house, it was the same one that latched the gate, thereby the gate couldn't be latched closed in the same way so that's why the field gate was open. I know you have different thoughts on the block though.

Perhaps someone came in the front gate and then through the back gate, then when they were leaving they didn't close the back gate. Sophie went down to the front gate to give out, and make sure it was closed, and then things escalated from there. All seems very trivial I know, but stranger things have happened.