Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭ftm2023

😂😂 I had a teacher in school, he used be on about how such and such a fella would end up sweeping the streets.

My very first day of Ag College the teacher told us “if any of ye are here to become millionaires then ye better leave now” — the same fella had a bit of a farm himself and he was a useless little man who used give his time telling us that we’d be better off getting jobs in Tesco or Dunnes. He couldn’t run his own farm as you could probably guess 😂 I like dairy farming but it’s not a brilliant way to make money and I imagine for anyone that wasn’t reared to it all their life that they’d find it very hard to adjust. It’s a vocation more than a job

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

“Hell is other people”

The council lad sweeping the road probably has 1 direct boss but that boss could have 3-4 bosses above him he has to answer to. Any brain fart they come up with from behind their desks ends up being pushed onto the lad with the brush.

His fellow road workers mightn’t be great craic either.

No matter what you’re at, the people you work with (or don’t work with!) can make all the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,680 ✭✭✭Grueller

So now the 39 hr week we were told about includes overtime,shift allowances and maybe even being a supervisor. Try paye work for someone else sometime. Very difficult to get over €50k without significant qualifications or very long hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭lmk123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭White Clover

True post. Lots of brain parts in organisation's all over the country. Some of them have to be read back slowly to the proposers to get them to see sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭yewdairy

Spot on

Average gross full time wage in Ireland is 44k. So half all full time workers are below 44k. Any handy job 9-5 without much responsibility will be be paying 30-35k. There might be exceptions but that's the reality. Well run dairy farm when you have a bit of cop about tax allowances can stand up against any profession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,183 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

reading this thread last while you’d nearly have to check is it the dairy thread ….or a thread about council workers ..street cleaners etc 😁😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,991 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Too Depressing to talk about grass and the weather atm

gone past half way now ….first time since I started farming in 2010 that I havnt been able to turn cows out by day in janurary …still tho heap of good grub in yard ,cows coming into milk nicely ,calves onto auto feeder last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Mike fitzmaurice and John gibbons having a right go at each other on tonight show on tv3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭mf240

I haven't the last of the cattle in yet, was waiting to move on a shed of finished cattle .

At this stage I won't have the last of them in before the good farmers are letting them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭older by the day

In fairness it's the third of February.

The past couple of years have people spoiled. If it was fairly dry in march I'd take it. If it could dry up around the 20th of March and let everything out full time, with a bit of buffering at milking, that is considered a good spring here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭mf240

Supposedly a dry February is a bad omen for rest of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,120 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

No that is the median wage. Average full time earnings are 1026/week or a bit over 53k. That is skewed by wages in Dublin and larger Urban area. AFAIK the rubbish collector wages is the old Binman rate. Councils no collect bins however they still have that on there payscales as when they exited bin collections the employees that were redeployed probably held onto there pay rates.

There is a significant difference between a self employed wage of 50k and a PAYE wage of 50k. in the last 1-2 years private sector wages have taken a significant hike especially in setors that employ building type workers. However it varies as to where in the country you work. I know a lad that got a 15-20% pay rise last year, however his employer had little option as otherwise he was off to work on the Adare Bypass. he was a very skilled machinery driver but could also manage sites work for his employer. I think he jumped from a over 800 to about 1K. General operatives in construction type work are on 800ish, trades are 1000-1200 if directy employed. You will get a bit more in the city and Dublin rates are higher again.

If as a sole trader you are showing 50k in earning, you are also writing off a good percentage of car, phone, electricity and heating costs. You have access to tools and equipment that you can use for personel use as well as buying tools for personel use that are never used in the business. if as a dairy farmer you cannot put 10-20k out through the side door you are doing something wrong.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Why would any business manager with access to very large capital be talking about manual labour jobs?

If youre looking at building sites, it's looking at putting plant into them etc.

Moo Moo Teamoo, all of my dreams come true…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

20260203_100116.jpg

On a more cheerful note...

(And bonus content… there's Bill and George discussing their ideas for Derry girls...)

Moo Moo Teamoo, all of my dreams come true…

I'd never have cows out in January or February here. Lucky to be out at night in April. Let it rain away now and bring on the drought in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭straight

I really feel for the lads that can't get grazing in Jan or indeed Feb. 🤣

There are some really useful tips in aidan brennans new podcast. I didn't listen but I could tell you exactly what it says.

Some More useful advice in the latest Grass10 newsletter. Really worth a read....

Be brave lads. Fortune favours the brave.

Opening cover here of who gives a sh1t.

Spring grazing walk on here locally today. Even the driest farms around here wont be out for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭ginger22

Why are ye comparing a lad in a job to a self employer dairyman like apples to oranges. The lad in the job arrives 5 mornings a week to work with his hands in his pockets and forgets about it in the evening, weekends, bank holidays and annual holidays. The lad dairying is on call 24/7, has millions tied up in capital, has ongoing investment to make every year. Has rules and regulation doing his head in every day.

Doing the feeding is all new to me. Started a new pit this week and where I was giving out 4200kg a day last week to milkers they are only getting 2500 now and finding it hard to finish it. Very dry silage, it'd nearly blow away when filling feeder.

There is no comparison. One couldn't get paid enough to be a dairy farmer. It really is like a vocation and not something you do for the money.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I’d have €150k to spend alongside the €80k already spent to get set up right here (60 cows). That €150k includes €50k ish on a calf house but I’ll manage away with this for now. A few hours to set up and take down. I’ve calf hutches too (from a very decent man) to make up a lean-to against an existing shed. I’d prefer the 5-star accommodation for them but I’ll get on with it for now.

IMG_1628.jpeg

thanks for the sympathy ….in my case here and lot farms locally land is dry and it’s common for lads to do some grazing in janurary and good bit more in February ….it’s next to impossible to graze atm and pretty pointless imo ….most have sheds and lots would have no shortage of quality forage ….slurry and the extra workload of having cows in is more the issue ……saying that I’ was talking to a lad not far from me with a dry farm that would never let his cows out till paddy’s day at least as he thinks his cows will get pneumonia and mastitis etc etc …..just a mental block if u ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭farisfat

Cows out here in the northwest.Normal weather here no excessive rainfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,861 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Teagasc live rent free in your head Straight 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

That lad cud right exposed farms can cause ecoli yesterdays weather was an example east wind certain east north facing farms are risky.

Pot And kettle. And you're their lovechild. I didn't even mention teagasc and you're off again.