Snooker Season 2025/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Dan Steely
    1 missile, 165 schoolgirls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,028 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

The news that John Virgo has passed away has come as a massive shock. He was part of the commentary team with BBC at the Masters just a couple of weeks ago.

No more "Where's the cue ball going?"

I did find it irritating, I admit. But I'll miss him. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,213 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Jaysus, that's a shocker. Seemed in great form at the Masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,988 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Yes, Rest in peace John.

He will be missed at the BBC snooker team as he was a part of it for 40 odd years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,255 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

OMG.

I couldn't bear him as a commentator in the last couple of years, but he was part of my childhood growing up watching snooker in the 80's (I had a snooker mad brother and lived close to Jason's) - and then he did Pot Black or Snooker Loopy (or maybe both?) and he was such a character and joker.

A huge personality, he'll be missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,735 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It would be nice touch if the commentators threw in a “where’s the cueball going?” . In tribute to JV.

Strange he was more famous for “Snooker impressions” “Big Break” than actual snooker itself. I remember saw a snooker documentary from the 70’s where he thought he could be world champion. But changed his mind when Davis appeared.

For me Virgo will be Big Break, and reminder to me that an old snooker coach used to use him as an example “no back pause” only one win as a professional.

But now I think who needs a “back pause” when you can breeze through life like Virgo without taking yourself too seriously?

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Genghis

What a shock, was not expecting to read that.

Like many I went through a period of lowering the volume / switching to Eurosport when he was in the box, but over the last few years he became one of my most loved commentators. Actually wondered when might be his last tournament during the Masters (without ever thinking it would be that).

A true gentleman, and having seen him command an exhibition or two I say he would probably have had a career in entertainment if he hadn't been taken by snooker first, not something every snooker player could be.

RIP JV.

He would have been 80 next month, so it is possible after the Worlds would have been a time to cut back at least.

Considering Ted Lowe did his last season of commentary at 75.

He just loved it though, one of his sayings was that even when a frame goes scrappy, at least you should be guaranteed a close finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

It was a complete shock for me to read about this news as well. John Virgo was a constant presence in doing Snooker commentary when I watched the snooker on the BBC for many years since I was a child.

From looking back from his career at the BBC; he always one who had always loved his job when being the lead commentator for a snooker match. I going to miss the cue from Hazel Irvine when she does the handover to JV and his Co-commentator in the comm box when he is sadly no longer with us.

He was simply a legend when he was just doing his job and loved every minute of it.

I am going to miss him even more when the World Snooker Championship returns to the Crucible in April. Watching the snooker without JV on the BBC will never feel the same again.

RIP JV.

(Duplicate)

The BBC have put up a lovely obituary of John Virgo.

A 'special' snooker player who became a TV star - John Virgo obituary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

A few years ago the bbc where going to let him go, really glad they didn't, I feel like a while back he was just a catchphrase commentator but he evolved, fair play for someone in their mid 70s.

I was waiting for years to see who got let go first between Dennis Ken and John for some non PC comment.

RIP

The BBC haven't always looked after all their ex players/commentators well. Willie Thorne, it's late and my memory isn't what it use to be. I can't remember the exact details, but he was dropped by them. It may have been over gambling issues he had(so many snooker players had this problem).

After he died, they acted like they always cared about him, when they didn't. I know I was annoyed about it at the time and thought he deserved better. He was a good guy and commentator. Am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭ebbsy

JV sat at our table for drinks at that event in Newbridge a while back, what an interesting man he was.

He spoke at length about the lack of pro tournaments in the Republic etc. I could have sat there for days listening to him.

RIP.

Last 8 of the World Grand Prix just 2 players are not Chinese.

Wakelin and Carter

Considering this is a big event to go into the Players top 16 and Tour Championship top 8 on the 1 year list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,725 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Rip JV, I will really miss him in the commentary box. The WST put out this compilation today of his best bits. His comment at last year's World championship final about Zhao Xintong"Looking forward to seeing this young man for many years to come" 😢

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭cudsy1

Really feels like the future is finally arriving. Even with the traditional top 8/16 uk+robbo types continuing to play well, into their 40s(50s?)

Well, said it before, but you've four Chinese in the semi finals, playing in Hong Kong, the World Champion heading into the final and loads of empty seats there.

It is an important enough ranking event for the season, and if people wonder what the first week or two of a World Championship in China would feel like (outside of a 'bucketlist' final that would sell out), then this tournament gives some indication of what could be expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,389 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Absolute disaster for snooker if its going to be 80% Chinese going deep in tournaments

One or two people should be very careful what they wish for.

(Edit: snooker's money men)

Post edited by Dan Steely on

This was a funny JV one - frustrated at the slow play. Didn’t realise the mic was on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mrunsure

That arena is vast, though. If it was back in Leicester or Cheltenham, it would look full with that number of spectators.

Front rows were fairly empty yeaterday when the camera did show the crowd and Zhao was playing every second seat was empty.

Bit strange that the crowd wouldn't sit closer to the table.

I don't know what the exact crowd was for these matches, outside of the final, but it'd be a surprise if it was over 1,000.

I have no problem with it. That is where the game of snooker is naturally expanding. It is just nature taking its course. It doesn’t seem long ago it was nearly all English. To the extent there was England A and England B. In the snooker “world cup”.

I never understood why snooker never has “taken off” in India given its history. I understand how the USA would need a swerve shot, or some spectacular player to crack it. But would would have assumed Indian was the metaphorical ball over the pocket. Space the issue in India?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,438 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I think Billiards is bigger in India, a lot of the world billiards champions have been Indian and some of them have also done well in amateur snooker. Pankaj Advani has won the world amateur title 3 times, but he's also a 17 time world amateur billiards champion. Interestingly the most recent billiards championship was held in Carlow, with Advani defeated in the final by another Indian, Sourav Kothari.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Channel 5 are the new broadcaster for the Players Championship. Good article here about their fresh approach. Am looking forward to seeing it tomorrow, refCam could be interesting, good to see them prioritizing studio time, it had been shrinking on Eurosport events, also Higgins and Matthews mix up the analysis alongside a new-to-snooker host, Katie Shanahan.

I believe they'll show it live on CH5 all day Saturday and Sunday, which potentially opens it up to bigger numbers than would have been seen on ITV4.

In this day and age why CH5 would still automatically attract bigger numbers than a forth ITV channel is beyond me, but there you are. Channel loyalty and your place on the remote is still a thing it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,389 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

C5 showing snooker from 12.30pm-5.30pm but then from 6.30pm-8pm tonight. Seems odd.

Seems ambitious too considering its Selby playing.