Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

I thought we edged it tbh, but of course I am bias.

For me, there are plenty areas, largely at the back. I must say first I'm willing to give most a clean slate under a new manager and I might get pelters for this but here we go.

The whole backline that started Sunday could be changed, you could argue. Excluding Lammens.

The back 4 have been in great form since Carrick came in but I don't feel it's sustainable. Dalot is a disaster and will cost more goals before the season is out, to be replaced. Luke Shaw is 31 in the Summer, injury prone and not the future. Harry Maguire is a cult icon at this stage and have to admire this comeback. But he's 33 next month and still has a mistake in him. Martinez I love, very injury prone.

That said, we still have Yoro (young, plenty development to go but I'd be optimistic), de Ligt (big fan, injured though..) and Heaven to come in at the back.

Middle of the park, we're all aware needs replacing. Casemiro is gone in the Summer and while I am a big fan of Mainoo, we need healthy midfield competition. We are on course to compete in Europe next year meaning we need substantial squad depth, not just fill ins. Look at the difference when Ugarte replaces Cas, we become a much worse team.

So for me, wing backs, centre mid and squad depth are the priorities. No pressure lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,339 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

They scored a worldie and a peno where the initial shot was saved, we also hit the post, I wouldn't say we edged it or were lucky, Fulham played decent enough but we deserved the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,600 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

When he came first I was excited. New manager, new system, new thinking.

Felt like it was a manager on his way up. One that could grow alongside our team as we rebuilt.

I was even excited to see how the 3-4-2-1 could help some of our players.

However, as the weeks and months went by there were decisions and patterns that were undeniably worrying.

He took our best player, our only legitimate claim to a world class player. A creative machine. And pulled him further back on the pitch.

Fast forward to this season again I was willing to give forgetting last season and seeing what they could do with the reduced schedule a good go.

I was expecting big things to be honest, I always thought if 5th gets CL then we should be able to challenge for that. They had a week in between games to work on his "ideas". But it just never fully clicked.

What really sealed it for me was the Everton game. A man up and a goal behind at OT and we refused to take 1 of the 3 CBs off to add an attacker and an additional midfielder to pile more pressure on them.

An idea so Anti Manchester United it's hard to understand.

Sometimes you see a moment with a player or manager where you think "Yeah, they have it".

That was the opposite for Ruben. That was the moment where it confirmed he doesn't (at least yet) have it.

Also going out in BOTH cups at the first hurdle. Not a good look.

I've gone over these points before but playing Bruno deeper in a 2 man midfield.

Not giving Mainoo a good shot in the team when the midfield wasn't working.

Subbing his CBs around each week no matter if we were ahead or behind. Watching a CB replace a CB when we need a goal was driving me nuts.

His lack of tactical flexibility.

I do think the players in the squad are better served to being Man Utd players than when he took over. So praise there for whatever part he played.

But week to week the decisions were just not working out. Often very clearly wrong as well.

I think if he had even tweaked his setup to a 3-4-1-2 and got Casemiro, Mainoo in midfield with Bruno at 10. Mbeumo and Cunha either side of Bruno then he'd have saved himself a little.

In the end it was stubbornness that cost him most

Post edited by IncognitoMan on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭Corvo

The problem with these worldies going in is that we invite teams to shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Caustic

Bruno is was having his best season in a long time for united, on his way to his 2nd best g/a numbers when playing deeper, we have seen the best version of him this season I think we have ever seen, he has cut out his stupidity for the most part, his passing completion has never been higher and his consistency from set pieces also has improved massively.

The team does functions better so far anyways with mainoo in midfield and Bruno forward Bruno deeper really was an non issue.

And Amorim wasn't manager when we went out of the fa cup

There is plenty of genuine critisism for Amorim without trying to embellish things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,789 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I'd hold releasing Maguire until we get word on DeLigt returning if he returns. To loose both would be a big blunder.

Just think what those numbers could be if he was played at 10…

The team overall was weaker when Bruno was in a midfield 2.
    The midfield was weaker. Less shape, less control and put less talented attacking players closer to the goal than Bruno.

It remains an incomprehensible decision.

You are right about the FA cup, I lumped it in with the other poor performances in my head.

We've let in a few "worldies" from that angle and general area in the last couple of months

Something to look at there I think

Kevin
    Rodgers
    Dewsbury Hall

Am I missing another? Very similar areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Bot1

Really?

Even enough game I suppose but I thought we shaded it.

Deserved the win imo.

I'm the exact same as you!

That Everton game sealed it for me too!

He wanted to be 'right' more than winning the game.

Unforgivable.

I don't mind losing games but go out on your shield and at least try to win!

So 'Anti-Manchester United' as you say.

There is no doubt that this squad is lacking, especially in the area of depth.

No. 1 Priority: CM x 2, top end talent and a back-up

No. 2 priority: LB

Lesser priority: RB (I rate Mazraoui but Dalot is unreliable, I'd keep him for squad depth though).

Nice to haves: LW, backup CF (ideally an older player who is happy to backup Sesko)

The mad thing is with the ****-show at the top of the table this season I think with a competent coach in charge who got the best out our limited squad I think we could have been challenging Arsenal!!

Firstly though we need to build a squad that can reliably qualify for the CL and compete on the domestic front.

Well he has had many seasons playing as a 10 and wasn't putting them numbers up, playing deeper affords him more freedom and time on the ball, he isnt great at receiving the ball in tight areas also.

Playing deeper has its disadvantages too no doubt, but you can't just wave away his great season he is having playing deeper and say it would have been better had he played at 10.

And you can discount the great all round improvement on his game either compared to other seasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭SteM

Is he not out of contract in June? Not sure how we can hold off releasing him if he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,789 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Not do a Case basically and announce hes gone way too early.

It is a possibility no doubt, we could have also being doing it with a bit more luck, I think we have hit the post more then double any team this season, near top on var decisions going against us and also have missed a couple of penalties.

It is very hard to judge though we did hit an awful injury crisis during the afcon that probably would have resulted in any manger struggling.

Martinez being back is also huge for the team in terms of how we can build up too.

I do think Amorim and his team did a good job coaching the team but also that moving him on could have been the best decision if we do qualify for the champions league spot.

Everything is very rosy now after 3 wins in a row and Carrick deserves huge credit for that as I don't think it would have happened under Amorim, not the arsenal game anyways.

I think everyone including myself is getting carried away at the moment and tbh we should its been a great few weeks for the club but also too soon to be making sweeping statements like we could have been challenging for the league under a different manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The dropped points when he was in charge weren't his fault.

The wins since he left are down to him.

We really do live in a strange world these days.

I take it notifications are fecked for everyone?

Statistically on a personal level for Bruno he is doing well this season, sure.

But that midfield was not performing well.

For me anyway Bruno's best was his first full season, he played 10. He had pace either side of him and forwards making runs that he can pick out. He arrived late at the edge of the box, was allowed to drop off and probe, find space, pick a pass etc..

You want that in the final 3rd of the pitch as often as you can make happen. He is elite at that side of things.

He might be picking up more assists from playing a ball from deeper and on the stats sheet that does look good. He will always have a good pass on him no matter where you play him.

When I see his involvement in the team these last 3 games it is so clearly a better fit for him.

This is the age old argument about stats vs the eye test. You need to look at both IMO.

Do you think the midfield has looked better in the last 3 games?
    Or do you feel it looked better when it was Casemiro and Bruno with 2 10s ahead of them?

And here comes bucket summarizing things that were never said as usual to try get a few thanks.

It is a strange world when you can't reply to posts and have to make stuff up because you don't agree with some of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

I wonder if Sekou Kone will figure as part of the squad next season, he's 20 today. Maybe he's earmarked as a squad filler to continue his development. He's at an age now ams needs to be pushing on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,304 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

yes, we are absolutely aweful for letting players come in onto to their stronger foot. Yoro vs Rogers was unforgivable. He was on the touchline and basically showed him inside. Sometimes you can't stop it, but we are very bad at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Bruno has 5 assists in the last 4 PL games since the change, is it even correct to say that he was more productive while playing deeper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,456 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

For any United fans with smallies, if you buy this game:

https://amzn.eu/d/0e2j4f5u

And print out the PDF the kids and I made, you'll get your own man utd guess who game :-)

1000068633.jpg

My point is that people are saying Bruno and cas are having there best season for the club in a long time and they did that playing in Amorims midfield two for most of it.

If they had both being playing awful and suddenly looked great the point would have some weight but it's not the case.

I did say the midfield looks to have better balance in it now with Mainoo and of course That's on Amorim. But also 2 of those games we were sitting in which won't be the norm in most games we play for the rest of the season so it's kinda hard to judge it overall.

We saw in the first half's against arsenal and Fulham Bruno struggling in tight areas and not able to effect games, we saw in the 2nd half of those games why having him further forward can win us games especially when the game is more open.

Which half of a season do you think Bruno was better under Amorim the 2nd half of last season as a 10 or the first half of this season as an 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Could be a short game... Is your person good enough to be playing for United 🤣

I thought the midfield, in the second half, looked to suffer from the same issues we have previously had.
    Looking better vs Arsenal and City was down (imo) to playing a bit deeper and more compact so when we lost the ball there was little central space for the opponent to attack.

Vs Fulham we were caught out with the team and ball higher more, and got ran thought a bit more as a result, because neither Casemiro nor Mainoo have the recovery pace needed on the defensive transition. I would expect some level of solution in the summer, but part of it will need to be tactical changes that cede less central space, or try to concentrate dispossesions wider.

I think the trade off is correct for the players we have right now, but it needs to improve a lot if we are to challange at the top level.

But the solution isn't just CM - fullbacks and Centre backs need to close the gaps and have the athletitism to get up and back a lot - the PL is a monster of a league for speed and power, and arguably Dalot is the only defender we have that has both elements. It partly why I would like to us develop Dorgu as a fullback. He has the pace, the power, the work ethic, is good going forward, understands pressing triggers and positional discipline.

Was this player ever a scapegoat for fans?
    Was this player ever considered the missing piece of the puzzle, while injured?
    Was this player ever written off as a failure and rubbish signing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Spending money on a brand new forward line will have helped Bruno’s numbers too? Bruno has been creating a crazy number of chances for years. The players ahead of him haven’t always been good enough.

Did you find where I said the Fulham draw was a bad, very bad result?

I didn't that why I asked you, I did remember you giving out about that result in numerous posts but wasn't quite sure about the wording so i was surprised you had such a big change of tune on how it was a tough game, I dont quite have your memory on what everyone said on thread and wasn't so bothered to look it up, but as I said That's why I asked instead of said.

You think this is the best group of players that Bruno has ever played with attacking wise?

It does help he was playing with more ahead of him as an 8 then he would as a 10 of course