Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Every single year we see the same old debate about politicians going abroad for St. Patricks day as if people are shocked somehow and the media portray it as some kind of political scandle. I already know that the same visits will happen in 2027, 2028 and on so I don't need to hear the same debate every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,137 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It may be a bank holiday weekend but it's not a bork holiday weekend.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I do wonder if the least likeable member of cabinet is specified as the "designated survivor" or something and has to stay home :)

Or do they get sent to somewhere boring or sketchy.

Boxes of long safety matches where the single striking strip wears out before all the matches are used.

How about putting a strip on both sides?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I nearly fell because my sole went super-grippy on the floor. I went outside and a few seconds later I nearly fell again because my sole went super-slippy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,709 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I'm absolutely hanging, and can't decide if I want a steak sambo or pizza for my dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,735 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Soccer pundits wearing runners, like it even less when they are bright white runners. It’s not tennis!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Tinnitus.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Oh, and slipped discs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 62,963 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Steak now, pizza for nibbles later - now I'm hungry for food but I don't know what, argh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,115 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When I was at secondary school we had this strict black shoe policy.

Ever since I hate black shoes.

It's annoying

How much I hate black shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The awful boring trend for grey cars, grey houses, grey interior decor. Everything fücking grey in a country renowned for grey weather.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 62,963 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Grey cars do my nut, bloody indistinguishable from a wet road, when I was a kid there were some bonkers colours, plenty of variety and some fun. Looking across a car park these days is zero fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,115 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

One of the worst things about grey cars is when there's a hunt of brown in them.

The social media huns are sick of grey also. I think everything was cream for a while and now it's chocolate brown.

Post edited by freshpopcorn on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,417 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I lived through the colourful , flowery , swirly wallpapers in 70’s ! I miss that

The textured ones sure were, eh, interesting, especially introduced to the general damp in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Duvet Day

One of the things I love about watching Reeling in the Years is the fabulous colours on all the cars..gorgeous reds, browns, greens etc. I can name all the makes and models but struggle to name them on modern cars..oh the good old days.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

live near a lay-by that is on a route to the local church, I’m out for my walk about 7.15 pm, turning for home, a commotion, shouting, a person falling to the ground and two lads diving into an old hatchback making off, can’t even go for a walk, but there are people laying up in cars waiting to rob / attack you…You could kinda see the aftermath from my window and it must have been about 15 minutes before any Gardai or Ambulance arrived, bizarre as Garda and fire station is a 3 minute drive away, tops…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,302 ✭✭✭✭looksee

People who mention tinnitus. Its only there when you are reminded. 😒😁

Lucky you. It's like a faulty wiring on a doorbell, I can hear the constant background buzzing, all day long. At least it's not whistling or worse, today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,302 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Oh its there all right, but I tune it out unless someone mentions it then its very loud and persistent until something distracts me. The only other time I notice it is when it actually interferes with my ability to hear what someone is saying - I wear hearing aids anyway, which I think does help a bit, except when it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 304 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

"Pancakes" in cafés being those bread things you can buy in a packet. What relation to pancakes do those have at all.

Videos freezing and buffering, photos on Facebook taking ages to load - and the internet connection perfect.

😡

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,417 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Jennifer Zamperelli voice , it gets on my last nerve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

I've managed to avoid cold, flus and covid for the last few years. but picked up a dose and there is no amount of tissues that could keep up with the amount of snot I'm producing. I'm making up for those last years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

At least you knew what a Cortina or a Cavalier was, proper names.

Now it's all Hyundai Tuckshops, VW Thick Wans and Toerags, Skoda Octopuses.

A Duster was what a teacher would throw at you in school, not a car.

A Vauxhall Placenta I remember Victoria Wood saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Both of the sibs around me atm are having full moonitis cranky and irritable with each other,

Ta there will be a full or new moon(doesn't matter with them) each month this year and I'll have to put up with it!!!!!!!

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

More and more sites giving you the choice to either pay and subscribe or else accept all cookies. 😠

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Bulky pee pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Physiatrists won't admit that we are affected by the moon phase but the ones I have come across would not volunteer to do over time work in the asylum when its a full moon.

My grown up son is on the Autistic spectrum and you can definitely tell the moon phase by his mood. Full moon is like a bipolar high.

Wake me up when it's all over.