Bord Bia Problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,113 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Members of the Board of Directors of an Bord Bia

https://www.bordbia.ie/globalassets/bordbia.ie/about/about-bord-bia/bord-bia-board-members-2025.pdf

How many more need to go as well so. My count is 3-4 with Larry Murrin

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The country can't allow the tillage group to dictate the ifa and wider now Bord bia.

They'll get their own in charge of bord bia and that will be all straw imports stopped in the country be it UK or EU. Same will be done for feedstuffs, non eu first and then eu imports next. And all with their own man or woman in charge of bord bia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭green daries

TTo Be honest bass i would dissolve the majority of the boards on all these never ending quangos. Most of them people are just feathering the nest they really don't have farmers (in board bia instance)or the publics interest at heart its just jobs for the boys all that rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 captain hadley

I see

I see woulfe still drawing away anyway.he might be back at dairygold soon the way there going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I see the IFA poultry chairman Brendan Soden is now asking if Murrins company import poultry from Brazil. As an aside who ever took the photograph of Murrin used in the article deserves an award -

https://www.farmersjournal.ie/news/news/ifa-calls-on-murrin-to-confirm-where-his-company-sources-chicken-902681

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

The arrival of bluetongue was the hope late last week for the minister that this would disappear out of the current news. Heydon, Martin and Harris have dug a serious hole for themselves to get out of since they have backed Murrin. Heydon bought time with the initial statement of satisfactory on his performance.

The farm orgs just need to keep playing the line of his position goes completely against the ethos of Bord Bia. This further puts heat on other members. As siamsa said a call or email to your local TDs will be worthwhile to pound the heat on from back benchers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I doubt if Hayden will be invited to the Kildare IFA, summer BBQ this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭kk.man

Its a quick draw who blinks first now.

Irish Beef Processors who imports South American Beef should be boycotted. See how they under minded the sheep industry bringing thousands of English lambs in every week and now crying wolf.

We have more than enough Beef of our own, its time to become more like the French.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭Jb1989

You may take it into your own hands to make a stand.

Slurry tank or what ever else.

Can't rely on anyone but oneself to do something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,916 ✭✭✭✭Water John

AFAIK Pat McDonagh uses all Irish beef and poultry in Supermacs. Providing that is extended to all his hotels, wouldn't he be a good fit on such a Board.

He wouldn't have time to fly around the world promoting Irish beef and irish produce. Yer man had his own incentive to open new markets with being from his own factories. You need someone with skin in the beef processing sector. The chinese market they are supposed to nearly have that open again for the fifth quarters. You need someone who knows the contracts and figures and prices and where and when and how it will happen as it's their life.

The Bord Bia logos and usage and produce labelling obviously needs seriously attention.

The Chairman of a Board is just that. He's not the CEO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Rusheseverywhere

Just to be clear No Brazilian Beef was imported into Ireland ?? Just less than 1% bought that was used in Europe or elsewhere? I think or appears it was used in the UK?

Also huge amount of corn imported into Ireland from Brazil and other countries ie around $500 milllion from Brazil alone in 2024 for use in animal feed in Ireland. Seems crazy that lads are happy to use cheap meal from Brazil to feed their cattle. Needs to be a campaign to massively increase Irish tillage and require Irish beef that is Quality Assured to be fed with Irish meal. I wonder how many lads paying 350 or less a tonne for meal would pay 500 for Irish meal.

Just with government eyes on how they see the results since McConalogue appointed Murrin.

Since Larry Murrin was appointed chairperson (designate) of Bord Bia in February 2024, Irish food, drink, and horticulture export values have experienced significant growth, with 2025 exports reaching a record €19 billion. This represents a rise from the 2023 value of €16.3 billion (as reported in early 2024), or €16.7 billion (as reported in 2022). Key details regarding export performance during his tenure include:

• 2025 Value: Exports hit a record €19 billion, marking a 12% increase, driven by higher prices in beef and dairy.
    • Sector Performance (2025): Dairy exports rose 14% to €7.3 billion, while meat and livestock exports increased by 18% to over €5 billion.
    • Market Growth: The sector, described as Ireland's largest indigenous exporter, continues to see strong performance despite volatile trading conditions, as noted in Bord Bia Annual Report and Accounts 2024 and other reports. 

The figures indicate a, robust recovery and growth from the challenging 2023, with total exports, based on 2025 projections, sitting well above the €16-€17 billion mark maintained in the previous years. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭green daries

Where exactly will I buy Irish soya and maize from ..... would you mind pming mmea number please

Use a combi mix with peas pretty similar protein to beans thats all Soya is.

Nope im not buying that one. For beef maybe. But not if you want to knock milk out of cows...... the maize 🌽

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Aravo

"I think", "it appears", "I wonder".

These are all things I can't put down on my bord bia audit. Next Thur will be a good opportunity for an audit of the bord bia chairman. I'm sure he will clear everything up, it's all a big miss understanding and we will be all on here offering congratulations on his continuing tenure. He's prob with Ivan Yates as we speak brushing up. Roll on Thur in front of the cameras.

I agree with you maize is king even for beef. Can be grown here but tricky have family that grew it. I am in Organic and lad in Cork growing organic maize get it in a mix off him. Barley/Wheat/Oats/Peas/ Maize his mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

It was confirmed in December 2025 that of the NI brazilian beef sold in the ROI, 128 kg was confirmed to have illegal hormones. The names of of the 3 outlets were not going be revealed by the FSAI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Would an Foi request for personal health concerns be the means to getting the companies named

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Moo Moo Teamoo, all of my dreams come true…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I would think that alot of that goes into pig and poultry. I also think that basing farm systems and performance on non EU grain is unsustainable.

Moo Moo Teamoo, all of my dreams come true…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Does anyone know how many tons of beef (Irish, UK and EU and Brazilian origin or other) does Murrin/Dawn Farm Food use in their production facilities annually. He says that the Brazilian beef component was 1% but what tonnage was that 1% in the overall usage of beef by Murrin/Dawn Farm Foods.

Can't find a number on that Base. My understanding is the consignment came to ROI, then to the UK. Some then goes back to NI and the 158kg finds its way to three outlets in the ROI. The only specific reason that could be involved is simply, the price. I think Irish cattle have all the same parts as Brazilian stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,113 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

This Is there website. Actually just googled it now. Basically they are mainly an ingredients company. They supply cooked protein ( meat and vegetarian) world wide according to the site. Hard to expect a company like that not to be sourcing from different sources

https://www.dawnfarms.ie/

Slava Ukrainii

I've no issue with Dawn Farm/Dawn Farm Foods sourcing protein from different countries be it Irish, UK, EU or elsewhere as that is their business model.

The problem that I and most Irish farmers have is that Murrin as the Chairman of Bord Bia cannot promote quality assured Irish food/drink which is a trusted label yet talk out of the other side of his mouth as the CEO of a company which imports protein from questionable sources. He has to go.

That is grand so, the board members from ABP, Kerry Agri Business, Musgrave's should have to resign as,well. Probably the lad from the nursery, Ash Dieback, the whitethorn disease came from plants imported through nursery's, maybe not his but throuanother one.

JJim Woulfe can stay, Dairygold are a basket case as they have no product spread which saves them. If they were anyway innovative he have to go as they be using something g from outside the EU

Slava Ukrainii