Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/cost-of-housing-asylum-seekers-heading-for-new-record-high-despite-government-efforts-to-budget/a1583820546.html

Billions being wasted on this year on year with absolutely zero benefit to the taxpayer

That’s the kind of money that builds metros, housing, grand infrastructure projects our country is so sadly lacking in

What a wasted opportunity to actually improve our country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭crusd

Did the ref have to hide in the boot of a car?

Did a parent come on to the pitch and punch a teenager?

Cop yourself on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,643 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,034 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

This deal and an even bigger influx of Indians many of whom will have qualifications is only going to add to the housing crisis. Let's be honest there's going to be another generation of young forgotten Irish.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

I another generation or two Indians will probably be the biggest nationality in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

GAA club matches not only see punch ups between players, but Referees getting assaulted by players and supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Nermal

Try reading the post before falling over yourself to tell us how appalling Irish people are. He was specifically referring to other cricket matches, not other sports.

Because they’re spending money on this nonsense and not on Infrastructure and housing

What are we as citizens and tax payers getting for these surpluses?
    Health service on its knees, education system creaking at the seams, crap transport infrastructure, most expensive energy in Europe, worst housing and rental crisis in history of the state.

Have said it umpteen times in this thread, I want to live an a society, not an economy.

Surpluses etc are meaningless when they’re utilised to improve the lot of the tax payer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

And saying later that cultural difference of the Indian players led to this. Rather than the heat of competition, maybe?

Maybe read the post yourself next time.

O.K. then the issue, since there's a surplus, is how the government spends its money, and immigration is just a red herring then.

A general thread, if there isn't one, on how the government does or doesn't spend its money would be a good discussion. It claims all kinds of programs and plans for the HSE, housing, transit, … but they're not competent to execute on them. Immigration's irrelevant, it's not causing money problems.

I’m sorry but that’s honestly an absurd thing to say

“We’ve got money so it doesn’t matter that we’re wasting billions of it on nothing”

Our economy is incredibly exposed to global events - we’re a cork bobbing in the ocean that can be brought down by a crashing wave at any moment. What would’ve happened if cooler heads hadn’t prevailed re Greenland, or the Pharma sector tariffs, or any of the number of near misses we’ve had lately hadn’t gone our way?

We’d be absolutely screwed and it would be made much worse because we’d also be on the hook to keep spending billions on this nonsense, because people like yourself don’t want to make practical decisions based in reality.

Do you not understand the concept of opportunity cost??

Government spending and their failures to deliver is the overarching issue, but to say wasting billions on this turkey of an asylum system isn’t a problem is outrageous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,401 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

https://www.kfmradio.com/news/localnews/50-refugees-housed-in-kildare-social-housing-with-16-further-allocations-due-in-coming-weeks/

A total of 66 refugees are being settled in Kildare under a State resettlement scheme, with 50 already housed and the remaining families due to move into social housing by early 2026.

Imagine hardly being off the plane and being put into a free house. Meanwhile there are plenty of people born here, who are contributing, who are still on a waiting list.

Sometimes I think we are living in an insane asylum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Cheers, I appreciate it.

My point, as you know, is that immigration risks altering the culture in a specific section of society. There will always be worse behaviour somewhere else - God knows we have enough home-grown miscreants. But that doesn’t mean we should allow immigration to drag down behavioural standards elsewhere.

That first commenter appears to be inclined towards hysteria. They said the following in an earlier comment: ‘This thread seems to be a complete circle jerk. … If you plan to be taken seriously at leasdt attempt to base your opiions of some sort of thought, if facts are too much for you.’ The accusation appears to be that not only are our opinion not based in fact, but they’re not based in thought either!

Something I think I’ve discerned in recent political squabbles is that a reason the left is so sympathetic to immigration is that they don’t value the customs and norms that immigration risks undermining. If you’re a free-spirited leftie, you probably look with contempt on the person who shushes someone for talking at the cinema.

It’s all empty moralistic virtue signalling, totally incoherent where their ideology meets the reality of what they’re advocating for - one would have to guess they think sub Saharan Africa and the Middle East are havens of enlightenment when LGBT and women’s rights are concerned. Never any criticism when such views are held in these places.

I’ve said it before, if it were hardcore white American Christians (who hold many of the same beliefs on LGBT, women’s rights etc as in Islam) migrating to Ireland en masse the exact same no borders advocates would be losing their shıt over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

image.png

Factcheck on TheJournal are going to be busy 'debunking' memes as AI gets more and more popular. You'd have to laugh at the absolute infancy of that outlet to run a 'fact-check' on this particular image. Desperate stuff altogether.

Agree on the bobbing cork thing. Paying down the debt, a good way to use some of that surplus.

IMG_6586.png

I flicked past this on RTE today. It’s a children’s documentary about putting together an ethnically diverse (and mixed-gender) football team. I won’t post a picture of the children, but about two-thirds of them are ethnically non-Irish, and so, as you can see, are the presenters.

There’ll sometimes be a documentary on English television about a disadvantaged school group, or whatever, from an ethnically diverse area, and it’s not surprising therefore when the cast is predominantly non-native. But this is not that. The premise of the programme seems to be just to bring children together as an exercise in multiculturalism (and gender equality). So why then have the ethnic Irish be in an obvious minority? Would it not be more natural to have an even split?

The children are Irish. I’m not disputing that. They have Irish accents and no doubt most or all of them will be a credit to the country. But it feels like such blatant propaganda. As with ads, the progressive media class is trying to magic into existence its fantasy of a multicultural utopia.

you think you have some sort of gotcha don’t you. Indians get passionate about their favourite sport and it sometimes overheats and so do Irish. The poster said it points out “cultural differences” but in fact it highlights similarities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Ah now, Jordan Conroy is pure Irish to be fair.

That’s fair enough. Irish mother. And as I say, I’m not impugning the Irishness of the cast. It’s just that it all feels so contrived.

Mod: snipped

Post edited by Trigger on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭tallaghtfornia

Glad I stopped watching live TV 30 years ago to think I have to pay a licence fee for this rubbish makes me sick.. the only time I'm subjected to it is when I go to my parents house and they have the biased 6oc news on :-) with there political correctness and carefully scripted questions for politicians that tells me enough I need to know about RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭newhouse87

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/38065354/migrant-jailed-asylum-hotel-murder-mum/

Horrific story from the UK. Had not seen it in the News before. Presume ok to post as court case over and is related to immigration. UK and Irish systems are similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

Was reading a piece in the Indo today regarding the use of drones in D15 and saw this quote from Roddy O'Gorman:

"Local communities have a right to democratically shape and influence how their environment is used and how that changes - that's the cornerstone of our democratic planning process."

The irony! Wonder when he decided to change his tune so dramatically.

As regards the recent AS protests, surely the NGOs and political parties that organised the demonstrations should read the bloody room. The only thing those protests will do is increase resentment towards AS and IPAs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,034 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Many communities are no longer Irish so it's a bit late for them. You could have areas here native Irish no longer have a say on the outlook.

Worth reading up on changes Denmark are trying to bring it. It's insane though that all these year's EU countries had their hands tied deporting criminals.

https://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/denmark-unveils-legal-reform-worst-foreign-criminals-deported-129700110

https://www.reuters.com/world/denmark-plans-tougher-deportation-laws-challenging-european-human-rights-2026-01-30/

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

but about two-thirds of them are ethnically non-Irish, and so, as you can see, are the presenters.

Harsh, that lads mother is from Offaly.

Leitrim I could understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

image.png

Cutting a stick to beat yourself with is a phrase that comes to mind. This article is from the ivory towers of The Guardian before some folk jump to the conclusion that I'm posting some far right propaganda.

The old saying, be careful for what you wish for isn't all too wrong when faced with the above.

2 entire states have banned pride flags in government buildings in the US. Yet the one Muslim ran tiny city is the problem.

It is in fact evidence they are integrating well with the Christian nationalist ideology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Strange one those most open to Muslim immigrants are usually on the liberal side of things while those muslims will mostly be conservative in their views. On the flip side those most opposed to Muslims immigration will be usually be on the conservative side and they align on a lot of social issues like above, I seem to remember you giving out a good bit about pride stuff before if I’m not mistaken so I imagine you agree with them? I’d socially be liberal on a lot of things but think we need to massively cut down on immigration.

Progressives seem to have absolutely no survival instinct - witness ‘Queers for Palestine’. It reminds me of those videos of pandas in the zoo, whose keepers have to go to comical lengths to keep them from hurting themselves.

The key difference is that conservative opposition to Pride flags is substantially (though not entirely) opposition to wokeness, while Muslim opposition is entirely homophobic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Thorny Queen

I had to drive to my local regional town to do a course last week. Had to be there for 9am. Honestly the traffic was just carnage, at one stage from my vantage point, I could see every single artery road was backed up. Took me 30 mins travel one kilometre.

The sad thing is...I did the same course around 20 years ago and it was like how old Ireland was.

Went to the local shopping centre and it was like Gyspy Town.

Traitors Ireland is in the Dail.