Lessons from storm Chandra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

I said nothing about accuracy.

You sure about that?

I said more fine grained precision below the level of county

……which is a cry for more accuracy, yes?

You don't need to know exactly which dips in the road are going to be flooded - just what areas to avoid or whether even getting out of bed at all is a good idea.

WTF makes you think they have this information? Why wouldn't they release it if they do in fact possess it? Do you think they are holding onto it just to catch Joe Public out? Or maaaaaaayyyyyybe, it's not within their remit or their capabilities to collate and circulate all of this?

I mean, that page you've linked is literally still in Beta. (BetaThis is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.) and it's also published by the Environmental Agency, which is completely separate from the Met Office. You are essentially asking why Met Éireann aren't doing the work that the EPA does, or the Environment/Drainage section of your local Council……..it's completely unreasonable.

Also, if you look a little closer to the maps on their site, every single warning is within 15 metres of the banks of a river or lough or canal or some other waterway, and pretty much every single one of them is marked as a potential flood risk.

If you need the Government to tell you that the places most likely to flood are those beside the waterways then you have bigger issues than a bit of water damage.

I'm trying to be polite here. You've admitted you were warned but didn't take heed of the warning because of the 'boy who cried wolf' effect. That's on you, not MÉ. You're looking for more localised info on floodings, which will dramatically increase the number of warnings, thereby leading to more boys crying wolf, and even less faith in the system. There's no right way to do it, as far as MÉ are concerned, they'll always attract the ire of people who want a personalised, clairvoyant, minute-by-minute update for the next 24 hrs and who will, most likely, then completely ignore that plan to do what they wanted anyway, before giving out yards about the gubbermint like they always do.

If you had looked at the warnings over the weekend and saw your street/estate was in a flood warning area, would you have taken much more precautions? If yes, why didn't you take them same precautions when you the same warning for your entire county?

They don't give local warnings because then it leads to muppets ignoring them as they're in the next town over………."Flood warning for Clontarf?…..Ha, good luck to yiz, good thing I live in Dollymount….wait, why is the coffee table floating?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

A lot of blame with the local authorities for lack of maintenance of drainage infrastructure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,821 ✭✭✭plodder

You sure about that?

I said more fine grained precision below the level of county

……which is a cry for more accuracy, yes?

Accuracy of the data is not the same as its granularity. But, why are we arguing about what I meant? I've explained what I meant. I think you are either arguing for the sake of it here, or are defending Met Eireann from some perceived slight which was not intended.

Whether ME has the data or not, isn't the point. Another poster already pointed out that the OPW has the data on river levels. It's a matter of cooperation between the two agencies.

Interestingly, I got an email from Fingal Co Co. with a yellow flooding warning for tomorrow for the whole county. What is anyone supposed to do with that? Is the risk the same as a normal yellow warning, or like yesterday? Is it the same on the coast or inland?

For what it's worth, Prof John Sweeney from Maynooth was on Drivetime this evening making much the same point, that what people need are more localised flood predictions, along with the valid point that the old model of once in 20 years or once in 50 or 100 year floods is obsolete. We need to deal with the new normal.

And just on this.

WTF makes you think they have this information? Why wouldn't they release it if they do in fact possess it? Do you think they are holding onto it just to catch Joe Public out? Or maaaaaaayyyyyybe, it's not within their remit or their capabilities to collate and circulate all of this?

That's pretty much what Min. James Browne accused them of. He said they are "guarding" data. I don't know how true it is, but I doubt he just made that up himself. I imagine it's a belief shared by some of his officials.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,851 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Some interesting bits in here on it:

https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2026/0129/1555691-ireland-flood-warning-system-storm-chandra-dr-nick-scroxton/

Just to be clear, I ain't for or against some kinda flood warning system - however theres no doubt in my mind it's benefits would be extremely limited.

I do think its far more important that ongoing investment is put into the three items I mentioned earlier, rather than something like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭Field east

So, what can we , the residents do, where there is a possibility of our house being flooded.

A SUGGESTION

Where allowed and space permitting build an extension to the house that is ‘ above flood level’. You can then move your expensive movable assets into it and live there until ‘things settle down’. The idea may not be everybody’s’ ‘cup of tea’. Idea not practically feasible , obviously, where flood levels reached , circa, one metre +

The idea could be viewed as the equivalent of a ‘bomb shelter’.

The idea reminds me of Ex minister Jacob’s one with the iodine tablets in your protection space under the stairs in the event of a nuclear fallout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭Field east

Some county and maybe city councils have ‘mapped out’ their counties with regard to areas that care referred to as areas liable to flooding. And this information is used when considering any application in relation to planning permission to build a house or other structures. I am aware of such applications being refused because they were deemed to be in areas liable to flooding

Apart from the possibility of a house being flooded - which only/ mainly the owner suffers , the council would be concerned with sewage issues for starters.

As an aside , councils DO NOT, from what I can gather, build , for example , retaining walls to keep ALL FLOODS within the walls because it calculates that once every , say, one hundred years, you get an unusually high flood and it’s not worth the investment to build a barrier to keep it out. I assume it’s cheaper to help out those affected , if and when it happens, than the cost of building the structure - which may also be very unsightly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭techman1

Realistically this was on the councils in the areas to know that there had been a lot of rain, there was a fair bit forecasted and that drains etc would need to be cleared. But there's not a huge amount of pro-activeness in clearing out of drains so that it only gets done when there is a problem.

Do the councils have the physical manpower anymore for doing this work, even the stereotypical council worker leaning on the shovel you rarely see now. They all seem to be glorified office workers now not even in the offices since covid anymore. Other organisations are cutting out bureaucracy now but not the state here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

I have no grá for MÉ. I've a PITA listening to family members and friends giving out yards over something that has SFA to do with MÉ. You want the maps to be more accurate than they currently are, as they're too broad……..that's a call for accuracy. Call it granularity all you want, you're just being pedantic about words because you contradicted yourself and were called out on it.

Whether ME has the data or not, isn't the point.

Hold the phone……you want MÉ to warn people what areas to avoid and you think that them not having the data on which areas to avoid isn't relevant to the point? It's the entire point. You want them to release data that they may not have.

Another poster already pointed out that the OPW has the data on river levels. It's a matter of cooperation between the two agencies.

You're changing the goalposts. You wanted a map with smaller shaded areas than a whole county. Now you want a multi-agency joint task force to be established for something that is completely outside their remit. You've no idea if the OPW stuff is even true, but you've already laid the blame at the feet of who you want to be wrong.

Interestingly, I got an email from Fingal Co Co. with a yellow flooding warning for tomorrow for the whole county. What is anyone supposed to do with that? Is the risk the same as a normal yellow warning, or like yesterday? Is it the same on the coast or inland?

Ignore it like you did the previous one, see how you get on. Better yet, ignore it, then start moaning when your travel plans get disrupted. Here's a tip: if there was flooding earlier in the week, there's a good chance it'll happen again. Or if you're near a river or a stream, there's a good chance they'll burst their banks. I should be charging for this info.

For what it's worth, Prof John Sweeney from Maynooth was on Drivetime this evening making much the same point, that what people need are more localised flood predictions, along with the valid point that the old model of once in 20 years or once in 50 or 100 year floods is obsolete. We need to deal with the new normal.

Hard to counter this without actually listening to what he said, but you never said that people need more localised flood predictions…..you said they need them to be published by Met Éireann on their website, even though you've no idea if they have the data to publish and have just now said that whether or not they DO have the data is irrelevant. Of course it's relevant, it's the entire basis of your frustration with them in the first place.

That's pretty much what Min. James Browne accused them of.

Min. Browne is accusing them of deliberately withholding information that you are adamant is not relevant to the discussion. What information? You're claiming he's talking about the same information that you're looking for, despite there being zero in his statements about localised/granular data. He's also hauling them over the coals about their comms, despite the fact that you've already accepted that you were warned and ignored it. There's just no winning with some people.

We don't need a map with nice colours to tell us that the rivers are gonna break their banks. We need better banks. We need increased flood protection systems. We need upgrades to the storm and sewage systems in the country. We need investment in defence against the new normal. That's nothing to do with MÉ, that's to do with the government. Perhaps Min. Browne should speak with his buddies in the Dáil bar before rounding on others. Good to know he has all that time to criticise others, he must have all of his own ducks in a row if he's chastising other Government bodies. What's his brief again? Minister for………?

Post edited by Yeah Right on

I don't think it's productive arguing with you, but just on this point: what exactly do you mean that I was warned and that I ignored the warning?

What does a yellow warning mean to you exactly?

What is anyone supposed to do in a yellow warning?

Post edited by plodder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭randd1

Just on the whole weather warning thing.

Is it not beyond the realm of possibility that people take their faces away from weather prediction sites on their phones, and look outside the window and know what's happening?

For example, looking out the window at the rain all day, I can conclude that there's likely going to be a lot of water on the roads, the road I usually drive home may have the usual parts flooded, so I may take it handy regardless.

Mad to think what preparation you can come up with from simple observation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Its Ireland.

We never learn no matter the topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Indeed theres warnings again for tonight and tomorrow and the ground conditions are the same if not worse so there will be more flooding because its not the immediate rain that's causing the flooding but the constant rain we've had over the last 2 weeks but still people will be on complaining how they werent warned…..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,557 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

simply looking out the window and seeing a blue sky is kinda useless if there's a storm 12 hours away?

i mean, i know that sounds trivial, but maybe i'm missing some subtlety to your post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,322 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I am still chuckling at the poster in another thread who wanted weather warnings based on parish. Thats how granular he wanted Met Eireann to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,381 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Storm Chandra was just a wet day. It was the accumulation of rainfall that did for the flooding.

Local authorities are the people that should be issuing warnings,Met Eireann can't be aware of river levels in a given area. Locals are well aware of flood risks anyway and when it's likely to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

As far as I remember , councillors passed PP for known fllod plains , and all for €€ . Until that corruption is done away with houses will continue be built in stupid places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JayRoc

I suppose the complaints could be summed up as

"You give us yellow and red warnings and nothing happens.

You give us no (or minimal) warnings and the worst flooding in a generation happens "

Fair enough to be a bit narked, tbh.

They can only give a warning on the severity of the event in fairness. It was the weeks of bloody rain beforehand that caused the flooding.

Indeed. I've seen this many times before. If you dare to suggest that some state agency might do something slightly differently and better, it's all nanny state whingers, how dare you look for improvement in state services 🙄

From post #46

Storm Chandra was just a wet day. It was the accumulation of rainfall that did for the flooding.

Local authorities are the people that should be issuing warnings,Met Eireann can't be aware of river levels in a given area. Locals are well aware of flood risks anyway and when it's likely to happen.

Exactly, it was the accumulation of rainfall, and Met Eireann aren't aware of river levels, but they could be and should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JayRoc

Aye fair enough .. presumably someone should have foreseen that. The people dealing with their homes being flooded don't care whether the agency giving the warnings has a brief to take into account the amount of recent rainfall or not. They just want information that is accurate and will warn them that they're going to be scooping water out of their gaffs or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,260 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Which state agency holds the data on river height levels and flow rates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Based on the number of "if the drains were clear this wouldn't happen" comments, people seem to think there's cavernous underground channels capable of carrying away billions of litres of water under every street. A 1-2 foot wide pipe draining a street is going to make minimal difference in a major flooding event.

Even then, these drains tend to drain into the local river. What happens when the river bursts its banks and floods the region? Do they think the drains will take in the water and magically vaporise it? If the entire area is under a meter of water, a drainpipe underground won't clear it.

Any dog on the street could tell you when a river is going to flood. Locals have historical knowledge.

What's needed is a local warning system that can inform those that might be affected. Met Eireann have the job of forecasting, giving flood warnings is more suited to local authorities,they know river levels and expected rainfall.

I think what people want is to be able to type in their parish or specific location and get the warnings to whatever accuracy is available for that location. That's what Met Eireann does for weather forecasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,757 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Is getting their parish named on the new RTE Weather Forecast not enough for them? 😀

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,207 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Listening to folks on the news talking to Boxer Moran it sounds like there was funding made available for flood relief schemes 20 years ago but they were never built. Judicial reviews were one excuse and something the government failed to address in their brand new planning Bill last year. The OPW are on the case though so all is good. Bottom line, our infrastructure is shambolic and we will regret to when the corp tax windfall is gone.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Yes for weather forecasts they are not responsible for our waterways management that is OPW and local councils. Sure even the UK flood map you linked previously was a Government website collating data from various sources and not being run exclusively by the UK met office like you are asking of Met Eireann. But also if you noticed any of the commentary by those who understand all this the warnings you want are simply not possible with our current system which is again nothing to do with ME.

"We really don't have the data at the scale and resolution to pick up and predict flooding", says Scroxton. "With rainfall during storms, we're very good at predicting that over tens of kilometres, hundreds of kilometres, but often the heaviest bursts of rainfall that cause flash flooding occurs at a kilometre scale and we cannot predict this in advance.

"Based on ground conditions and the localised rainfall, we're only getting flooding events in areas of a few hundred metres and obviously that's very damaging to those areas. We really cannot predict exactly where flash flooding will occur and can only say roughly 'the flash flooding will occur in a broader area'."

So first of all ME dont have access to the data and secondly they couldnt have predicted the flooding we saw even if they did because the system we have which again is nothing to do with them cannot possible do what you and others are asking for.

Scroxton believes there are options to consider. "A rapid response Early Warning System for flash floods would use Ireland's hydrometric network. 1,040 active sensors across Ireland's rivers monitor river height and flow rate at 15 minute intervals.

"When rivers rise above a certain height or speed, an automatic alert could be triggered. For example, at Enniscorthy, a hydrometric station linked alert when waters rose above 3 metres would have been triggered at 2am, a good 12 hours before the river reached over 4.5 metres.

"While not perfect, such an alert could have alerted property owners near the river, potentially preventing thousands of euro of damage. With the hydrometric network available and push notification systems well tested in other countries, such a system is not beyond reach. A larger hydrometric network would protect more and more communities."

Blaming ME for this is entirely fvcking pointless and reeks of everyone donning their captain hindsight uniforms which is irish peoples 2nd favorite past time after begrudgery. The blame game literally helps nobody, what we need to do is say "hey that didnt work, lets find out why and fix it" instead of useless finger pointing but politicians cant score cheap points that way and it would cost them time, money and actually require them to do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭adaminho

Dunno, don't think you need a lot of scientific data to figure out when a flood will happen. Flood areas flood regularly,any local will be well aware of the likely risk. Certainly local councils should be aware and warn those that might be affected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭techman1

You give us yellow and red warnings and nothing happens.

You give us no (or minimal) warnings and the worst flooding in a generation happens "

The problem is that met eireann is too mathematical and definition based for simple warnings. They have a strict definition of what a yellow warning means a certain specific amount of rainfall in a 24hr period. However that is not adequate enough if you are giving information to the general population. Obviously they don't have all the data to be able to give the full information like the uk met and authorities do. Therefore the simple colour coded warnings are not adequate for Ireland and should never have been introduced. That would probably give met eireann more leeway to give better advice as they wouldn't be so constrained by the definitions of what constitutes yellow, red warnings etc. Also it would stop the media sensationalising these colour warnings as they would more nuanced and specific.

It should still be up to met eireann though in collaboration with county councils to give the actual flood warnings as they have the national media and respect of public which county Councils don't have. How is the county council supposed to get out an urgent warning like for eniscorthy, it is only met eireann that can do that