Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

I think making prison space was the main driver behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭donaghs

I think anyone in Venezuela who opposes the government there has a better case for asylum in Ireland than people who arrived from safe countries like Nigeria, South Africa, Georgia etc. so many people there have been jailed for criticising or allegedly criticising the government: https://www.france24.com/en/live-news/20260113-fear-vies-with-sorrow-at-funeral-for-venezuelan-political-prisoner

(i acknowledge that Nigeria does have internal conflicts, but it’s a huge country and people there can migrate internally, they don’t need to transit though safe counties to come to Ireland for asylum. )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,036 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Man jailed for almost three years over false insurance claim

"Iosca was born in Romania and came to Ireland in 1997 when he was 18 years old, but his defence counsel said he had never worked because he had no experience of work.

Barrister Kieran Kelly told the court that Iosca stayed at home with his family and liked to go shopping with them."

What an absolute disgrace. He has NEVER contributed to Irish society. What's he living off? I can take an educated guess. The only time he got off his backside was to further scam the Irish taxpayer ultimately. How many people like him are in Ireland?

"He also submitted letters from his partner of 30 years describing him as a caring and understanding individual and said he has a range of health issues, including asthma, diabetes, high blood pressure and was on a waiting list for physiotherapy."

I know people who are legitimately disabled, in a wheelchair since birth and have far more serious and life threatening health issues, some of whom have sadly passed way after less than half a lifetime. And they never committed fraud.

He should be deported after his time is served. Ideally, he should be deported now, and let Romania pick up the tab for his stay in prison.

Post edited by sligeach on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,697 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

We have every right to remove the likes of him by law.

You would wonder how many of these wasters are we providing for.

Would make you sick when you look at the amount of people homeless or working hard and stuck living at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

https://www.newstalk.com/news/sinn-fein-ipas-2228424

“New figures”

As if this scandal hadn’t been made known until today. The total lack of due diligence and the ad hoc approach to this whole disaster has been clear to see from the start. It’s been reported over two years ago and only now are they thinking maybe this could be an issue?

Meanwhile literal billions of tax payer money is pissed up the wall putting people up for years on end and the majority of them not even successful in their applications.

Utter circus of a country.

Any analysis of this or interest from the Irish Times or any other outlets of “repute”? Shower of cowards hand in glove with the government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I’m curious to know how a Romanian national could have moved to Ireland in 1997 and lived here legally, given that Romania did not join the EU until 2007 and he’s never worked here.

Well, my assumption is that his residence was lawful, as he appears to have lived openly in the State and claimed benefits for many years (and surely it’s not that easy, right 🙄) However, without a work permit, study visa, recognised family connection, or business permission, I’m unclear what legal basis would have allowed long‑term residence prior to Romania’s EU accession.

If he was not working - which the article says he never did - this raises further questions around eligibility for social welfare supports during that period, as access to State benefits generally requires lawful residence and specific entitlements.

The article refers to his marriage of 30 years, which would place his marriage at 16 years of age and his arrival in Ireland at around age 18. Given these timelines, it seems unlikely that a sham marriage to an EU national was the basis for his right to reside in Ireland at the time of entry either.

I’m therefore interested in understanding what legal pathway would have existed in the late 1990s that permitted someone in this position to remain in the State long‑term whilst claiming benefits for the whole duration. A look too at Scholar's Walk in Lusk brings up some very nice looking housing.

This whole story is an absolute disgrace. How much have this man and this family cost the State while contributing absolutely nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,665 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Someone on newstalk now against deportations for criminals from the EU on the basis that they have served their sentences here and should be allowed to stay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Oh man, the **** country is a joke. It really is.

"Iosca was born in Romania and came to Ireland in 1997 when he was 18 years old, but his defence counsel said he had never worked because he had no experience of work.".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I think the rules on EU freedom of movement should be changed so that serious criminals cannot avail of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭tppytoppy

Yip, there are those sort people out there...just don't vote for them. That insurance fraudster jailed today should be added to the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,152 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

I think what SF are looking for here is that its time "delighted and touched" or one of those other auditing companies did a review of the whole "system"costing millions(name their price) ,after all its only fair they should get a slice of the cake too ching-ching baby 💶💶💶💶

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭tppytoppy

An old friend of mine in this E.U. country was simply told when applying for social welfare to go home to Spain as they would not receive any welfare. Either that or get a job. She herself didn't consider it to be a civil rights infringement and went back.

What happens in Ireland is not "normal".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭creedp

Amazing how he was able to commit insurance fraud even though he wasn’t born with this innate skill set….or was he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

It's a free pass.

I think it's because good people have been indoctrinated to believe people will get their punishment or reward in the next life and that there is some justice somewhere or sometime..

Newsflash: there isn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭creedp

I think it goes further than that now with the good people not happy to be self indoctrinated but convinced that their mission in life is to drag the uncouth, ill educated, quite frankly embarrassing dinosaurs into their only game in town cult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Juran

We can blame the man or for that case all similar non contributing immigrants as much as we want, but there is only one party to blame here, thats the Irish governement ie. The systems that facilitate and allow this to happen and carry on for years.

We all know Irish, British EU and legal non-EU immigrants that worked here for years, payed taxes and contributed, who lost their jobs through no fault or their own, or became ill or their child/partner/parent became ill and they had to give up work for a while. The loops and reels they have to jump through to get any welfare support, and often they get refused, delayed, only recieve part welfare, etc.. we've all heard multiple examples. My own sister in her 40's worked all through her three year cancer treatment, never applied for sick leave, payed her taxes each month, only thing she applied for was a medical card. Refused 3 times, HSE wanted more medical forms, made it impossible for her. She paid for her monthly prescriptions to the limit of the drug payment card. She passed away in 2023 without ever getting the medical card she was fully entitled to.

This is what makes me sick to the core. The Irish systems needs to be fully over hauled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Photobox

Very sorry for your loss. My sister too could not get a medical card, when she was going through cancer treatment despite paying taxes for over 35 years. She also passed away never having a medical card. My father is in his nineties and does not qualify for a medical card. He too worked all his life. It's sickening reading what goes on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

So he arrived in 1997 at 18 years old, never worked a day in his life and has a house and a car in Dublin which is the most expensive city in the country to live in.

If that isn't a slap in the face to working people who have to commute long distances to work in Dublin because they can't afford to live there then I don't know what is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,665 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Didn’t we give every new arrival from Ukraine a medical card with no means testing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It must seem like the land of milk and honey to Ukrainians and AS when a medical card is handed to them.

Free accommodation and legal aid thrown in for good measure.

And then you have people like Henderson giving out that the government is not doing enough to help them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Are they all convictions in Ireland? We are morally bankrupt if that's the number it takes to get deported. What ideologies led us here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭baldbear

is there an issue with the number of Roma in the country who cause a nuisance to normal folk. or can I ask that question without getting in trouble?

any I see locally who beg have cars and houses. I find it crazy they are allowed to stay here and contribute nothing. imagine living next to the compo guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Perseverance The Second

At some point we will have to start discussing the Immigration situation from the UK and the EU itself.

With the UK becoming more YooKay by the day and the likes of Spain now legalising 500,000 more law breakers it begs the question whether we as a culture can afford freedom of movement with these countries.

https://www.euractiv.com/news/spain-to-approve-extraordinary-regularization-of-half-a-million-migrants/

Some brief murmurs did occur during COVID about dealing with the situation in the North. But with the way things are going everywhere across western europe it's going to be more than just whatever is left of the UK we need to shut off immigration from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

The irony is that perhaps the best way to appeal to Northern loyalists would be to promise them limited immigration under a united Ireland. We could ask them do they really want to stay part of a country whose capital city was 46% non-white at the last census and will be majority non-white by the next. But of course that is an argument the Irish establishment would rather die than make. They even ridiculed when republicans and loyalists stood together at a recent immigration protest - perhaps the most notable easing of sectarian tensions in generations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

‘Pat discussed this further with Teresa Buczkowska from the Immigration Council of Ireland.’

Some people consider Pat Kenny right wing, yet it would seem that even he is oblivious to how preposterous it is to have on someone from the Immigrant Council to talk objectively about trust in NGOs. It strikes me as being the equivalent of having to interview a priest about social matters fifty years ago.

On a separate note, there was an incident at the meeting of Fingal County Council last week in which a National Party councillor made a speech about the surging population. I have no time for that party and I didn’t like how the councillor expressed himself, but there was nothing egregious in what he said. But it received an indignant response from other councillors.

A Nigerian councillor for Fianna Fáil responded by saying, “To address people as non-nationals - I think it has been long agreed that that is inappropriate … Using that term non-nationals is absolutely unacceptable and I strongly object to its usage … I take total exception to the use of that language while I sit in this chamber. Withdraw that language right now.”

But non-national is a completely acceptable term. In fact, it is the progressive name for foreigners or immigrants. The left’s attempt to shut down debate by policing language is so flagrant at this point. As the failed Green Party candidate Saoirse McHugh once said in a debate, ‘It’s an old trope and it’s getting boring.’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

The trade deal with India could be an interesting one, especially for European developers and other IT staff, where Indian firms could supply competitive, lower-cost workers for certain roles, especially contract or outsourcing work, potentially putting downward pressure on wages. It would probably will make it easier to offshore work to Indian and for Indians to get more working visas and come to Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I think this is one of these things where it helps to take a wee step back and try to appreciate that there are a great many ranges of emotion between cynically "shutting down debate" and perhaps genuinely being offended in context. I watched the video of the exchange and yeah, I didn't quite see the fuss as to the use of the term non-national — perhaps people who are naturalised here or have lived and contributed here for some time don't necessarily like being called non-nationals. But yes, for statistical purposes we do need terms of reference.

But then I read the comments from some people under the video:

Mod - quoted comments removed. @ArthurDayne please do not post content that is against the site rules.

Now, by your own allusions to the National Party in your post, it sounds like you probably would accept that this party could probably fairly be described as the type of party some of the lovely commenters above might be drawn towards. And one could probably surmise that the National Party, not so long ago led by the self-avowed Hitler fan Justin Barrett, might be somewhat guilty of massaging such sentiments — right? So I don't know, maybe it's not all about shutting down debate and the context of the party being represented by Cllr Quinlan might have just pushed a little button with Cllr Onwumereh. Just my own thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

That’s exactly what this will do.

Benefits of this deal very much weighted towards India - god help the youth and low paid/skilled workers of Europe.

They've been sold down the river without a second thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Absolutely. We will repeat the mistakes Canada made. Disaster in the making.

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.