Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭Field east

I wonder what Russia will do when The US gets ‘stuck ‘ into Cuba. Because the lifeblood of Cuba in now 109% cut off- from Venezuela- it is only a matter of time that the country collapses and with ‘ assistance ‘ from within. I see it as one of Rubio’s ‘pet’ projects.

Trump just uses different words to describe the exact same position. He might ask Karoline. To draft something for him . I think that she has access to a very good Oxford Dictionary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭francois

The master of the art of the deal TACO'S again. Masterful strategy, insult your allies and come back with sweet FA. 4D chess levels of genius.

At least he forced the EU into growing a spine.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Just my humble but: Carney is spot on. The US game might be playing in extra time but is pretty much over. Maybe Ireland with her historical connections, EU portal status, small non threatening size and showing up with shamrock ever Paddy's day can wangle some role with the US down the line, but any "trust" re America is last century's news.

And I don't think Trump is actually the issue re the above. Oh he's a thundering fcukwit voted in by thundering fcukwits, the angry, the monumentally rich and those who thought the opposition would be worse, but for me he's just the one who's loudly blown the final whistle early.

Since Trump took over I've been looking as much if not more at the Democrats. They're a busted flush at the moment and when they do stick their heads up it's far more about homefront issues rather than international ones(even when the latter will impact the former). Biden's admin were trying on onshore more US manufacturing, as was Trump's previous admin. This is not new*. The US was already pulling back, but couching it in diplomatic pla mas, dressing it up for their allies and the world. Trump's just doing it nakedly and ultimately stupidly, but Carney's world was coming anyway and imho a Democrat admin might look more "reasonable" but they wouldn't actually roll it back. IE if Trump had actually added Greenland as the 51st state, no way would the Democrats hand it back.

In a twisted way by ripping off the band aid so obviously Trump may actually be good for the rest of the world to face up to that reality now rather than later and work together with others to build something from this new order.

*again for me it started with 9/11 and the fallout and failures and massive costs to the US(and others, not least Europe getting a migrations crisis) from that. The US "War on Terror" was the last great push of the post WW2 US hegemony and while they were doing it this happened and it couldn't be clearer.

G-wBWvSbQAM2tu2.jpg

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

difference between being intelligent and an idiot. I work with very intelligent scientists but they are idiots.

One thing they all are is gullible

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Excellent post Wibbs. The rot has set in America and even post-Trump there are a whole new set of norms that will have to be contended with.

I hope Europe can use this to really spur the implementation of the Draghi report and have a more coordinated defense policy. Personally I would be happy for Ireland to form part of a European defense force. There was much opposition to this years ago, ironically from the most left wing anti-American parties, but I think this is the only way Europe can form any kind of credible defence.

As a last point. It will be interesting to see how this effects the far right vote in Europe, notably in France and Germany. If there is one good thing to come from this episode hopefully the people who were willing to lend their vote to these parties see the absolute monstrosity of engaging with this side of politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,375 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I once knew a senior scientist. She was from a region where she learned to speak Hindi, Arabic, Koshur and English. She would frequently use words that she very, very obviously did not know the meaning of. Once I had to experience her trying to convince me describing herself as a "libertarian communist".

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Ireland have done pretty well out of US dominance throughout the 20th century.

Ill be dead before we know if the Chinese actually are a great bunch of lads or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,533 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Smart people do stupid things less often than stupid people.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

What I found interesting was a few of the far right party types in Europe were up in arms about Trump eyeing Greenland. I reckon he's soured some of that side of current US plans to split the EU.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Do you think you come across as smart, and in-the-know, with posts like these?

If so, I have some troubling news for you.

Yep, the US already had all of what they now claim as some victory, but Trump's admirers tend to lap this sorta thing up:

G_OuyecW4AE-yk3.jpg

Rinse and repeat.

I mean how can anyone have watched Trump's rambling guff at Davos and come away thinking "he's my guy" rather than an all too obvious "WTF?" beggars belief. But if you're invested in the con, it's far easier to stay invested than admit you were conned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭threeball

I meant Vance, not Trump. If Vance tried to annex Greenland, I believed he'd be impeached with a clear majority. Even Republicans think he's a twat who was parachuted in over them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭threeball

So abdicate responsibility for our own defence? How will that fly in Europe. And opening up a can of worms by putting a German or French base on the western edge of the UK would go down a treat.

We're either a country or we're not. We need to get real. Energy security and defense are top of the list of priorities. Otherwise we may as roll back in under the UK and become like Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,210 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

3 minutes into his "board of peace" announcement and hes waffling 🤦‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Marine Le Pen for example was hugely critical of Trump's decision to attack Venezuela and to kidnap Maduro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,375 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's because they're not consuming news from sensible sources. A certain political demographic adores ranting about "MSM" and "fake news". It's not because they care about the truth or responsible reporting. It's because they can't have their narrative questioned. People now are more likely to get their news from the technological disaster that is social media. X for example pushes right wing content while pushing left wing content to the back of the queue. Meta, X and the rest are more than happy to push this narrative as it means discrediting the competition while sitting behind their pretence of being platforms and not publishers.

It's not hard to find arguments that corporate media, legacy media or whatever you want to call it has serious problems. Take the MMR vaccine for one example. They all jumped on that sh*t. All of them. Even publications like Private Eye. They'd put Mums with worries front and centre while making scientists out to be cold, calculating men in coats. Once the truth came out, the apologies were hidden and muted.

For all it's flaws, it remains a much better alternative than treating grifters like Joe Rogan as sacrosanct.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,348 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

It doesn't invalidate the meme, but the pictures at positions nine o'clock and six o'clock should be swapped I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

The man is an inconsistent, incoherent, idiot. One minute USA has to have Greenland for American and world security in case Russia invaded it. Next minute he and Putin are the best of friends and he is inviting him into his Board of Peace!

You couldn't make it up. Comic strip presents would have rejected the storyline as too outlandish.

Maybe Kraznov and Putin are close friends or deeply indebted to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,727 ✭✭✭swiwi_

The board of peace will slip out of history as quick as it slipped in. Maybe if it limits itself strictly to Gaza it will last a little longer. Has no mandate and no worldwide support. It’s trumps play-thing and it’s doomed to failure. I think nz got an invite and there’s zero chance we accept I would imagine. Next thing will be “if you don’t join my board of peace I will slap on a tariff“.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I haven't researched this but ...

why isn't Bill Gates funding the US to remain on in the WHO. He seems to be a champion for that and it's chump change for him to cover the US debts, a couple of hundred million. Or any of the other multi billionaires at Davos ?

Or is Trump just pig headed and wants to pull out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭StevenToast

The world needs to put Trump on mute....like that really annoying prìck that you are stuck on a whatsapp group with....

His ranting and ravings get far too much airtime....his constant brainfarts are headline news every fùcking day....

Ignore him....

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,348 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The Board of Peace is like the co-op led by Proposition Joe in The Wire.

It has zero inclination to peace or positive intentions. It is a facade to be used to allow Trump and Kushner and their cronies to control specifically Gaza (to the detriment of the Palestinians) and the wider Middle East area if it has any sort of success in its first objective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,916 ✭✭✭✭Water John

BOP is mainly for Trump to keep himself relevant after he leaves POTUS. He is the life chairman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,633 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Kushner really is a nauseating pr1ck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

My parents were friends with a woman. Very well educated, pHd in Chemical Engineering, possibly photographic memory, but was mad as a box of frogs, lacked common sense and my mother used to say she shouldn't be allowed out on her own.

There are different types of intelligence. It's one thing to be able to rhyme off the Periodic Table, but if you will also believe any sob story you hear and are easily led, someone might still describe you as being unintelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭somenergy

Yesterday and over the weekend was reality tv playing out culminating in a speech about 2020, windmills and more lies and madeup views about nothing.

It was all about attention and the whole Greenland thing was just a waste of time.

Europe needs to move away from the US and dont be pushed around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,340 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

It's early days yet after his speech in Davos for the full effect of it, including his withdrawal of his threat to use military force to take over Greenland and dropping his new tariffs threats, settles into minds in the U.S. I expect him and his PR team to keep pushing the line that the threats were only hard bargaining ploys to settle the worried minds back home with "look at what I won for you" though that bag is empty. He didn't get the slightest prize for his desktop in Davos.

I'll wait to see what happens at his meeting with Zelenskyy: will it be a blowout or a meeting of minds given Trump is now on the backfoot where Europe is concerned. He's just gotten past his seizure of two Russian Oil tankers, something which won't affect the battle front in Ukraine but will have told Putin the U.S can hit him in the pocket, something which Zelenskyy would appreciate seeing Putin suffer.

In regard to the domestic problems facing U.S households, I hope that the U.S gets around to realising that Trump won't beat the inflation problem besetting them because he doesn't want to upset those in high castles.

Europe must not be led astray by any B/S appreciative line which is going to come from Hungary supporting Trump. Any meetings between Trump's team and the dissident EU country party must be watched by the other EU countries like hawks for more signs of betrayal of the EU project by Orban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,533 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

0% chance. GOP will think things have calmed down after Trump's gone (which, TBF, other than a biological solution I don't see happening at all.) They won't want to stir the sh1te. If Trump is indeed gone, it'll make for a really interesting GOP primary season for 2028, I'd expect bunches of challengers with legitimate shots, like Cotton and Hawley and that type of midwestern white bread subtle MAGAt, not quite as firebreathing. Even Cruz, who might lose his Senate seat (fingers crossed on that one.)

What matters is that no matter who is on the GOP Potus ticket, they lose.