Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭bjsc

She actually made a phone call at 17.30 to a friend in Paris (a message was left on the answerphone). She called Josie twice but she was out and her daughter took the messages. Josie then phoned Sophie back at @ 22.00. She also phoned the man who was going to sort the chimney (it was smoking). He too was out and his daughter took the message but he did not call her back until the next day. Then the final call to Daniel who was on another call but phoned her back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭chooseusername

@bjsc Do you know at what time Pat Hegarty (the chimney man) phoned on Monday morning? I presume it went unanswered.

Edited,

Name added; Pat Hegarty

I'll check his statement for time but it was unanswered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Thanks @bjsc,

We know Leo Bolger had done work for Sophie in the past- roof repairs, installed her sink and stuff, why not use him for the plastering and whatever it was she wanted done that weekend. Was there a cooling-off/falling out I wonder? Seems to me like it had become Sophie and Hellens vs Alfie and the Bolgers down there.

This is Leo's first statement - made in the immediate aftermath of the murder. He is now saying, 30 years later, that they were much closer. That she would bring foie gras for him to taste and would bring presents for his children and that he, Sophie and Bill Hogan would meet and have cheese and wine together.

There was certainly no love lost between Alfie and Finbarr Hellen and Finbarr himself told me that he was sure Alfie knew more than he ever told. Leo and Alfie were close but Finbarr only fell out with Leo after the murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

It is intriguing to hear that Finbarr Hellen made such a comment regarding Alfie. One of the many aspects of the investigation that has always puzzled me is the lack of a closer focus on Alfie. As someone who certainly knew Sophie, was definitely there, had at least some friction with her, claimed to have neither seen nor heard anything and made no attempt to check for life before calling the gardai, it seems to me that he should have been the subject of more intensive scrutiny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭tinytobe

Both Finbarr as well as Alfie had a previous brush with the law. They probably sort of guessed, that that history would come to light again during the investigation, thus one made a comment about the other possibly motivated to lead the Guards into that direction.

I personally see Finbarr as well as Alfie a lot higher in the ranking as suspects as Bailey would ever have been. They both knew with certainty more about Sophie, her coming and going from the house, the close proximity, being alone with her during the night of the murder, etc….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Zola1000

@bjsc or any other posters.

Is there any general timeline of when the cold case team are going to have their final analysis and conclusions? Or guess it's possibly unknown

Is it likely they will also tie everything in with the Mvac analysis in the same way. If MVac did turn up alternative analysis would that take months to map back to DNA profiles or possibly years...

It really has to be this year I guess that all final analysis is laid out prior to the 30th anniversary. Would that be reasonable to say?

As far as I know there will only ever be a final analysis and conclusion to the public if there is new and conclusive evidence. As there wasn't anything said to date, I can only deduct that there is nothing really new.

I don't doubt that the Guards went out, asked questions, tried to revive memory, flown to France, heard denials and the DNA analysis has probably brought more data but no news.

It is rather unlikely that this case will ever be solved, unless some unexpected thing happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Zola1000

Thanks for that. Just generally then from the perspective of actually closing it off to the point it's at now, will the CCR team have obligation to state we have obtained nothing new for example and have reviewed all evidence but nothing of any further value has been obtained or does it remain open indefinitely. Like I'm just thinking even for family..even if it likely to be news they don't want but clarification of same that no new evidence, will that not be requirement from CCR team. furthermore for Jules Thomas and any others significantly impacted will they not be afforded some firm of update to move on with their lives..it has been difficult for those people too.

Im just at odds as to what happens if ultimately everything has been trashed through the CCR team has to give some update albeit it is nothing..in the end or at least this year being anniversary.

You'd probably have some brief update around Christmas 2026, even if there is nothing new.

For any kind of investigation it only makes sense if there is a likelyhood of finding proof beyond reasonable doubt. 30 years on, that's unlikely, no matter how closely one examines a cavity block for DNA, - a cavity block which could have been touched and handled by anybody coming and going for whatever reason. Also DNA on Sophie's clothes could have come from really anybody, doesn't really have to have been the killer.

Suppose the Richardsons ever had a visitor over from or Alfie and Shirley, totally unrelated to anything, and for whatever reason the touched the cavity block, one would still find DNA from somebody not from there, etc….. It still doesn't mean anything in a court of law.

Same as examining Bailey's life again, after his death. A most likely messy apartment, lot's of scripture, terrible poetry, some painings or drawings of sexual fantasies, but nothing pointing to killing Sophie.

All the leads they are or have been following are sadly too vague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

That's about it, really.

Though I don't agree with you about DNA found on night-clothes;

Not many people ever actually touch our pyjamas or dressing-gown, do they?

Precious few…and they probably could all be identified.

Bailey's DNA on her night-clothes would take some explaining, or anyone else's for that matter.

The thing is though, that after 30 years and several different testings and an uncertain chain of custody with regards the evidence, it's possible with the new M-Vac testing several, maybe dozens, of different DNA samples were found and each would have to be followed up to eliminate people like Gardaí, lab technicians, Harbison etc.

Edit; anyway Ian Bailey is going to speak from beyond the grave to tell us whodunnit;

https://www.thesun.ie/news/16403854/ian-bailey-name-sophie-toscan-killer-row-claim/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,190 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

That says that Jim Sheridan is to release a documentary about this. I mean... He literally just made a film about Due Plantier. I actually find it a little disturbing how much he is getting out of it. I haven't seen the film as yet, but I'm in no rush - the premise seems crass and cheap to me.

Sheridan and Merriman set out to do a documentary on the murder and had collected a lot of material not in the public domain. But most of it couldn't be used while the investigation was still under way and settled on the idea of the fictitous trial in Ireland.

From Joe

When JOE asked if this other documentary has a title, Merriman responded: “No, it’s just a bunch of stuff we did. I don’t know if it’ll ever see the light of day.”

Sheridan, however, added: “I think it will. I don’t know when. Maybe when the truth comes out.”

He does say there was problems with budget, but Sheridan is hardly short of a few bob himself and I for one would be inclined to think he's not doing it for the money,

Post edited by chooseusername on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

Given he also has a history with miscarriages of justice I think it's safe to say it's somewhat of a passion project for Sheridan. I wouldn't be surprised also it is also mostly self-funded which isn't typical, so when there is a lack of budget, I think it more means that he wants to be thrifty. The likes of Moloney and other journalists are making money from clicks every time they release a new article, and basically it just costs them a tank of petrol to go around harassing Shirley and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,190 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

How you settled on 'Irish begrudgers' as a conclusion on my comment is more than a little strange. Please yourself.

This;

“I actually find it a little disturbing how much he is getting out of it.”

If I mid-read that, I apologise. I’ll take it out anyway.

Even if everything would have been handled correctly back then and the Guards were better trained back then in close cooperation with their French counterparts, with today's DNA technology the prospect of a conviction for murder would have been hard.

Anybody's DNA could have been on the cavity block or on the gate, as well as on all the brambles and briars. Even in the event if a rare visitor would have been found, it would have been hard to convict here beyond reasonable doubt.

There could have been the approach to collect DNA if say it was left clearly during the killing, like if somebody left DNA and injured himself whilst removing the cavity block, it would have narrowed the field, but still it wouldn't have been easy for beyond reasinable doubt.

There is no knife belonging to anybody, there is no firearm registered to anybody, there isn't any DNA and fingerprings found, and there are no witnesses. A footprint of a shoe might have lead somewhere, but it could have bee anybody's left for some other reason, not for murder, like several hours before the murder.

All in all, it would have been hard, even under today's possibilites.

Its all well and good to say beyond reasonable doubt, but I think if the killers DNA had been found, and the gardai had the opportunity to check their alibi, and interview them under caution along with anyone else associated with them then there is a good chance they would have been arrested and charged. The media would have been the same circus as it was with Bailey, and if someone is looking down the barrel of murder and life in prison, there probably would have been a lot of incentive for them to accept a manslaughter charge etc. rather than go in front of a jury. If they had no alibi, or worse if they were relying on someone else to verify, then I think they would have been convicted.

Not impossible to think so, but in the end, it's only speculation as well.

What I am saying is that even in the event of excellent police capabilities, it would have been a very difficult conviction in a court of law.

Alfie and Shirley, Finbarr and Josie, Bolger as well as Bailey paying a visit at some point all had reasons for being in the area so their DNA and fingerprints about any part of this area would have been totally normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,154 ✭✭✭saabsaab

It was probably not revealed but was the house and area cleaned and devoid of fingerprints? I mean did they find fingerprints in the normal areas (i.e. doors, windows switches etc) as would be expected?

They found fingerprints, some were identified as Sophie's, and others as members of the Hellen's, not sure if there were any others identified, and they also found fingermarks (unidentified), but they may also have been left by the same people as they presumably couldn't get a clear print. I haven't seen any information about where any were found but maybe @bjsc would know. They did ultimately dismiss anyone having entered the house, I believe because there was no sign of a disturbance or clean up, so presumably none of the prints/marks aroused suspicion, or at least were seen as not relevant by the gardai, but sure they were incompetent too so who knows.

I agree for the most part, if they found a bunch of different DNA, and didn't have any other evidence, and couldn't get a confession then how would they be able to pick out the murderer, in addition perhaps it was all just coincidental.

Generally though when gardai find DNA evidence they keep it close to their chest and pursue the investigation step wise. I think if the killer's DNA was found, they would have honed in on them, whether it was coincidental or not. In addition we don't know for certain what other information the Gardai had outside of what pointed at Bailey.

These days though I think it would be a much harder case to prosecute, not least from the fact that so much time has passed, numerous people have died, and also if it wasn't Bailey how could you convince a jury beyond reasonable doubt when you pursued someone else for a couple of decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,154 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Just wondering if there were areas where there were areas with no fingerprints where you would expect to find some?

It's a good question. I think in one of the documentaries Gililgan specifically said they tested the wine glasses by the sink for fingerprints and found none. Now they had been washed, so perhaps not surprising. Interestingly he didn't mention the wine glass on the mantelpiece. You would hope they tested it, and also the back door handle as those are very possible to have recently been handled by the killer. Presumably though there could have been dozens of people touching various surfaces in the house. I don't think the killer would have gone into the house after to clean up, whether themselves or any mess/prints, however I do think it is possible they were present in the house before the murder, especially if Sophie knew them fairly well.

They wouldn't have gotten anywhere with the wine glasses. Suppose Sophie had a friend over? They drank wine and afterwards he / she left. Doesn't mean he / she was the killer.

Also regarding fingerprints, suppose Helens called in a contractor in Sophie's absence to fix something, something we don't know about, didn't come up in the investigation, after work done he left, and also doesn't mean he was the killer.

What I am saying for many things found, there is also besides evidence a perfectly normal explanation but not a beyond reasonable doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,782 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Like FFS- what a complete load of twaddle - to be prosecuted for “assisting a killer”, you need first to be able to clearly identify who that killer is- after nearly 30 years, no one has

Senan seriously, you’re embarrassing yourself now - we’re not MAGA supporters - we do have a fcking brain .

“It is understood a prosecution may still be sought against a person or persons who may have assisted the killer after the fact.”

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/prosecution-may-still-be-sought-in-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-murder-case-two-years-after-death-of-suspect-ian-bailey/a1519765857.html

I don't think anyone is saying that evidence someone was in the house, like fingerprints for example, would prove anything beyond reasonable doubt, except that they were in the house at some stage and would have to investigated.

Anyway Senan Molony is back with his regular piece in the Indo, trying to make something out a nothingburger:

Veiled implications around Bailey and Jules, -DNA thrown up new leads,- panicked phonecall, the usual filler:

https://archive.ph/eHXOs

OOps, missed @Oscar_Madison 's post there.

Post edited by chooseusername on