Orange is the new Burke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

The global ‘trans are coming for you and your kids’ narrative has died a death. With Don back in the White House LGBTQ rights are taking a hammering, there’s no need for an online campaign to rally support. The SC decision in the UK settled a lot of the outstanding issues there too. The Law in Ireland and the EU is different obviously but in the English speaking world, the media and ‘activists’ have moved on.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Enoch is back being the Martyr for mammy again, my poor son locked up for his religious beliefs. Watching this unfold the same judge has dealt with his case now for the last couple of court dates and seems not willing to put up with his usual nonsense and gave him enough rope last week to hang himself by letting him out to prepare for his upcoming coming case. Enoch couldn’t resist but to state he would be back at work the next day. The judge lined up for this and result arrested today back to court and then the joy. Now the judge was seen to give him the bounce of the ball and he didn’t take and can’t use he wasn’t treated right and a victim. This judge I think is going to let him run out of road and put an end to his messing and dragging the system to suit Enoch and slowly kill his public and press interest in his bullsh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,260 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Good. I hope they leave him in prision this time and if he still does not learn from it then maybe solitery confinement is what he needs. She how would manage then.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,866 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The judge let him out to prepare for a court case that he felt had legitimate merit, because the Courts very much do not want to be seen as restricting access to justice and the Burke family know their way around the legal system. Burke then predictably took the chance to instead pointless go back to the bloody school so that he would be arrested again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,332 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

I'd like the three papers to run a national poll of identified citizens here asking them one question only: Do they believe, yes or no, that EB has now chosen to commit himself to a contempt fight with the courts here above all else.

The people polled must be assuredly identifiable to block out frauds in the poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,571 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

They will have to rephrase the question - I can't make hear nor tail of what it's trying to ask. I mean, has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,358 ✭✭✭sporina

he has nothing else to do.. its probably like an addiction at this stage - and prison is obv better than home.. who knows - rem, he had no mind of his own - been brainwashed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Pollster: Hello, we’d like to ask you a convoluted and meaningless question about Enoch Burke where you will be identified.

Me: No, you’re grand thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,789 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

To tie down the actual support numbers who believe his line that his protests are about what he claims.

Coincidentally some unidentified person posted a request on Facebook for people to show up at the school gates at WHS in support of EB at 1.30 PM. It didn't specify if it is for today or tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,381 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Nobody supports him except a few headbangers that latch on to promote themselves.

He has supporters. They’ve turned up to support him on a few occasions.

They’re the type that you’d cross the street away from if you saw them in town.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Pentecost

If they're to truly honour Enoch they'd have to do it every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Beefcake82

image.png

For those sick of seeing news of eggnog 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭adaminho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,627 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod - as amusing as it is, please stop the eggnog nickname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭standardg60

So all eyes on tomorrow, will Enoch's clear disinterest in the administration of justice lead to the dismissal of his appeal in relation to the DAP? Will he be hoist by his own dickheadedness petard?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The Irish Times said that "His new case against the disciplinary appeals panel will be back in court on February 4th" rather than tomorrow (or am I missing something?)

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2026/01/20/enoch-burke-speaks-as-though-he-has-no-free-will-judge-says/

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭standardg60

Ah missed that, thought it was to be heard tomorrow

For Info Only: there's a four & a half minutes video on Facebook by a gent identifying as Terry Gorry, a solicitor from Enfield, Co Meath.

He is delivering a blow by blow account on the video of Enoch Burke's termination of employment at WHS to the latest court appearance before Justice Cregan, and the discussion between them then, mention of Justice Cregan' decision to return EB to prison for contempt and for trespass at the school. The video ends with Mr Gorry advising people Justice Cregan's judgement is available on the Courts system, Courts.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,192 ✭✭✭afatbollix

If we’re actually serious about ending this, I think there are two practical issues that need fixing.

First is the law around schools. What Enoch has exposed is how weak it is. In a lot of other countries (UK, US, etc.), schools are effectively locked down, Most schools in the UK have a high fence around them and gates that can help with a lockdown if needed. Here, trespass at a school is basically treated as a civil matter, not a criminal one. That’s mad. There should be a clear law that says if you’re asked to leave a school and you turn up anyway, you’re committing a criminal offence and the Gardaí can arrest and charge you. End of story.

I notice that the state general attorney didn't even want to enter part of the conversation on this, when he was brought before the judge saying it should stay the same the law should be enough as it is at the moment yet it has proven it hasn't. In fact, we haven't had any support from the state on this case. It should be a safety issue for every child in school not just the ones at this school.

Second is the dismissal itself. From what I understand, he already challenged his dismissal in court around mid-2024 and lost. The evidence was about his outburst and behaviour, not “transgenderism”, despite how he tried to frame it. That was the first proper legal test of the dismissal, and he lost it. He can appeal that decision to the Court of Appeal, it’s his right but he hasn’t done so. A few judges have even commented on that since.

Personally, I think he avoids that route because the courts are strong and predictable. Instead, he keeps going after the disciplinary and appeal processes because they’re easier to disrupt they’re run by unions, reps, and the Department of Education, not lawyers or judges. As we’ve seen recently, he only needs one line he doesn’t like to blow the whole thing up and claim the process is invalid.

If I were a judge, I’d be saying: stop dancing around the edges. If you believe your dismissal was unlawful, appeal that court decision properly. Until then, we have to stop letting him delay the DAP process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

This could end up as an application to the ECHR eventually. He may be trying to exhaust all avenues prior to that, as he must, and use freedom of religious belief as the reason.

The legal people would know more than I would as to how feasible this would be for him.

The Dail and Courts are very wary of making law or decisions based on an individual case.
    The DPP was sent a file on Enoch for criminal trespass but it wasn’t prosecuted.
    My take is that they see him as a delusional person who is trying to get into the office to get his timetable. That’s his first goal every time he tries to get in.
    He is not someone trespassing with intent to burgle or attack the staff or students or other nefarious purposes. His cases is better dealt with by an injunction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭BettyS

and look, if all else fails, I am sure that he can get a role on Dancing with the Stars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,414 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Gets voted out Week One, stands outside the studio every day after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭BettyS

there wouldn’t have been that much excitement in RTÉ, since the guy attacked Pat Kenny on the Late Late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Psychedelic Hedgehog

He'd refuse to dance, in accorance with his beliefs that it's evil, then expect 10's from every judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,381 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Wilsons school does appear to have high walls and an iron gate,as do most schools that I can think of. Gates have to be opened though to get in.

Doubt it would matter anyway , he'd still end up in the Joy.