Best Pick up to buy

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭somofagun

I was never a big fan of Nissan but from looking at pickups this last while they seem to be ticking more of the boxes than the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭9935452

Neighbour has a 2019 hilux. I've borrowed it on a few occasions to collect machinery.

I'm 6ft 7 and found it grand for space.

Quite impressed with it for towing with it . You wouldn't feel 3 ton behind it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Jim Simmental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

I see they are replacing the chassis’s on the hilux Going back 12 years. Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Who2

they only had a 2.4 in Ireland between 17 and 21 unless an import as far as I know. The 2.4 lacked a bit with a big load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Grueller

Mate of mine is getting a new one in his 2015. It's actually snapped across, but if they are repairable, they go on a waiting list of up to 6 months and are being welded by Toyota and repainted. It's a recall, not necessarily a replace. Now my mates one is certainly a replace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭9935452

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭I says

ssangyong or KGM as they’re known now. The Musso anyone have one or know anything about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭epfff

I have one.

72k on clock with about 25k of it with 14' trailer never big enough for load.

Pulls better than the dmax it replaced and similar on diesal.

Very nice drive. Great room in back for passengers.

Tub a bit high for dropping stuff in and out of without opening tailgate.

The car kit used to be unreliable (worked but noone could hear me) but now doesn't work at all now. The dealer tells me it's working perfectly although it has error code on screen and my phone won't connect while he is looking at it. Recently the dash lights are brightening and darkening when they feel like it the last while as well.

I'm happy enough. Will I buy another? possible at a price. But the dealer will have to compensate me for the time I have been living in fear of getting caught on phone while driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭I says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭older by the day

https://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/7000-kg-towing-late-2022-iveco-35c14-10f6-tipper/40912896

Looking at the price of hiluxs and dmaxs ect.

Do anyone use one of these things. 3500kgs so b license. I'm not buying but just asking.

TThe Diff between a Iveco or a jeep for same year and same kms is up to 15k euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,044 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

My 2006 Landcruiser passed the CVR test today. Have one 'visual' to take care of, but I knew that beforehand. They're dear, but they're great machines. I have mine since 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Danny healy ray

iv an old hilux d4d mighty bit of stuff

any idea what the ones for 2020 upwards are like ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭enricoh

Talking to a fella at the weekend, 2021 raptor, 125k kms on it , no towing. Timing belt went bang, new engine 17500 n whatever to fit it. He changed oil every 10k , yoke was spotless. Uninspiring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Grueller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭older by the day

Ya I have an old hilux as well. They will last everything except cow shiite. It is bad stuff to eat them underneath. Unfortunately dairy farming has a lot of that.

I was just wondering what to change to next. When it comes. Hard to justify 30 or 40 k for a 5 year old jeep. For me personally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭farmer2018

Has anyone thoughts on a 2017-2020 Navara Tekna? Know a few people with them and they are happy with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭SodiumCooled

Aside from the lack of off-road ability stuff like this is no good for all the other stuff crew-cabs etc excel at on top of farm work e.g. being your car half the time, dripping kids to school, going places and so on.

These are more suited to the building trade where the are being driven from morning to evening on the road only and parked up with no use outside of work hours. If you had the price of this and had to buy a car you are then probably paying more than a crewcab so it’s swings and roundabouts. You are also insuring, taxing, testing, servicing two vehicles too which also adds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,573 ✭✭✭straight

I like the look of those GLS 350 mercs. Don't like the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 juniorfarmer

I know this is not pick up related.

Need to buy something for tipping around the farm. Towing the 10x5 box the odd time with a few weanlings from the mart when the other jeep is gone for repair.

Currently travelling 50 to 70km a day to work.

Want something AWD for that purpose. Looking at a kia sportage 2.0 litre diesel for that purpose.

Anyone know anything about them. Are they prone for any troubles or anything etc etc.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,105 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 juniorfarmer

Round trip.

I have read back through the thread and see you recommending the rav 4 but browsing done deal. Very hard to get one at present for the money unless your paying the big tax. Only looking to spend 3 to 5k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,105 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I would not get too hung up on the tax as you could spend it on maintenance. As you are only going to be using it for towing intermittently I would not worry about AWD especially as very few have it on a button like Toyota. A clutch is not the end of the world. There is a reason the RAV'S are hard to getm

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,249 ✭✭✭selectamatic

clean 2.2 4wd rav4's are gone very thin on the ground tbf and the reason is simple. The nox charge put an end to any being imported so what your left with is the limited amount that were already in the country.

2.0tdi Audi Q5 quattro worth a look can still get them in unworked condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,798 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

The Rav 4s got the name for being noisy rattly boxes, so there wasn't that many of them sold.

we're paying the price now with the lack of secondhands around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Tileman

the Skoda kodiaq is a great all rounder