Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,496 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Is it pathetic, or does he know Trump will just change his mind next week ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,607 ✭✭✭✭josip

Ah, the auld Ottomans. They of the Devshirme. Where they would take children from other countries and train them as elite soldiers. They ended up fiercely loyal to their abductors and sometimes ended up fighting against their country of birth. Thankfully times have moved on and that sort of thing doesn't happen any more.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Janissary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,171 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Regardless of how many relatives " herself" has in America the fact is 80% of white trailer/hillbilly types are Trump supporters. And as I said the vast majority of those rarely go outside their own state .people seem to forget that Americans are ,per capita, the least educated and least cultured people in the western world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,533 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Yeah but not as numerous as the RCC types; those southern states are smaller.

Plus they're the types that donate since they're better off than the swamp creatures you describe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭threeball

I could see wars being fought without it ending in a Nuclear strike. I think unless one side was on its last legs and country was about to be overrun completely then I could see calmer heads declining a nuclear strike. Maybe not Trump, but I doubt even Putin launches a strike unless Moscow has enemy at the gates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,189 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

But a trade war between the US and the UK/ EU is in no ones interest, other than maybe for Russia/ China. Trump could well be a Russian asset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,707 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I suppose it depends what we are talking about. Proxy wars? definitely, we've had them for decades already without nuclear strikes. It's the reason they exist.

Direction nation on nation (US versus Europe), not a chance. You'd have a tactical nuclear weapon used on the battlefield at some point and the escalation would just continue from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭bren2001

I agree with you here but I struggle to see it's relevance to the above.

This is just semantics. If my interpretation (and the newspapers) is correct. Cool. If it's not and you're right, cool. What will happen will become clearer soon.

We both have different interpretations (i see where you're coming from). I don't see the point in arguing both interpretations. I was answering your query

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,375 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

He's not. At least not consciously. He's demonstrated time and time again a complete inability to understand the fundamentals of how trade works and that was when he had some degree of intelligence. The blithering moron that he is now has no chance.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭growleaves

Appalachian hillbillies living out of trailers are not Irish-Americans though. Some of them would be Anglo-Celt/Scots-Irish Protestant descended, with ancestors from Antrim and Armagh perhaps.

Irish (Catholic Gael) Americans settled in Boston, New York, Pennsylvania, Chicago, Maryland mainly.

The least educated people in the western world are immigrants from third world failed states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

this is the kind of sh1t he’s up to behind the scenes.

IMG_1913.jpeg

and even worse is the Ukrainian army shared intelligence with the us intelligence services.
    and watched as the Russian army moved to counter act what the Ukrainian army were planning. That’s why they no longer share with us services and the French have filled the vacuum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭threeball

Hes a Russian asset in the sense that he was bailed out by them at a time that everything was going down the tubes and they've been funding him ever since, so he thinks they're a great bunch of lads. But he doesn't have the brains to operate as a covert agent. Anything he does is because he thinks he'll get paid somewhere along the way for it. And he's probably right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,221 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

EU have been very weak up until now. They were weak on Gaza in that they did not criticise Trump (and Biden) for supplying arms to facilitate a genocide and for attacking the institutions that were trying to stop it (e.g. ICC, UN). The EU were weak on Venezuela. They held back on criticising the USA for a blatant violation of international law on a sovereign country in order to get oil. The example that set was utterly appalling. Now they are finally reacting to the Greenland and tariff threat but we will see who wins that one. Trump is speaking in Davos on Wednesday. Interesting to see what tune he makes when face to face with NATO leaders.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,533 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

A number.

'Fail Safe' is about a US attack on Moscow that occurs when a flight of B-52's cannot be recalled and the subsequent attempts by the US President to convince his opposite number in Russia to not launch an all out retaliatory attack.

'Red Dawn' is a rubbish movie about a Russian attack on the US.

'World War 3' was a miniseries from the 80's about the US and Russia at war in Alaska.

Out of that lot, 'Fail Safe' is the most realistic. It was parodied by Stanley Kubrick in 'Dr. Strangelove'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,701 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Am not surprised. It's not great that he is Taoiseach at this time (IMO).

At least trade is an EU competence so while he can speak against responding to US aggression + argue for more appeasing of Trump and kowtowing to the US in the Council, he cannot veto action or block the EU from supporting Denmark if necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,707 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I think he was looking for 'America versus Europe' in media, which is something not really touched upon because it is so bloody far fetched and hard to believe since the dawn of film.

Who'd have known!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭tarvis

The head of NATO calls him Daddy -

The rest of the members need to stand up and be counted. Trump is not playing games and is doing real and continuing damage -

in Gaza

in Ukraine

In Venezuela

and now in Europe to the North Atlantic Treaty Orgsnization

Who will say stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

But these are all films abut the USA versus the-then-USSR. There have been no films about the USA versus Europe, as in non-Warsaw pact Europe or Europe outside Russia (by the book, Russia is part of Europe) since up until Trump, or more precisely until his second term, such thoughts were simply unthinkable and unimaginable….and all it took was one year.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Has he ruled them out or just said that any decision on Greenland is for the people of Greenland & Denmark and Denmark is a close ally of the UK and that a trade war is in no ones interest. However, I'm not seeing it on Sky or BBC that he has ruled them out.
    Or do you mean that he has ruled them out for now (depending on Trump's next move)?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

To those saying that the EU should no longer be using X, that'a great idea in principle but what do we use instead? The only credible alternative to X is Bluesky which is also American owned? Most of the tech we use is American and there are no EU owned alternatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,546 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

respectfully disagree.

There is no smoke without fire.

1. The famous trump tower meeting where they arranged the meeting with the russians
    2. His appeal to the russians over Hilary's emails
    3. His first interaction in 2015 was to send Mike Flynn off to establish a "back door" line of communication with the russians.
    4. We have the russians meeting in the Oval Office post election
    5. His Helsinki complete capitulation and photos
    6. His repetition of Russian talking points
    7. His refusal to demonstrably criticise Putin
    8. His attempted extortion of Ukraine

All of these show a lock-step approach with Russia.

Now, either he is in league with them for his own gain and is willingly doing what they say, or they have material on him and he is being pressurised into acting for them, with the promise of financial gain to keep him in line. I frankly think it is the latter.

But I think it is failrly clear that he is absolutely a russian agent, in that he is acting in their best interests while president of the united states.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭brickster69

Belarus and Hungary receives a board of peace invitation from Trump also.

The old world is dying, and the new world struggles to be born: now is the time of monsters. — Antonio Gramsci

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,332 ✭✭✭roosterman71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,340 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

He just doesn't understand that his words, while meaning one thing [or nothing] to him, mean a whole lot different to those listening. I'd hate to be alone in a room with him trying to explain that, or get a point across to him, with his fixed vision of how the world rocks. Refusal to face facts would be a kind way to explain away his behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,189 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

On this, I would refer again to Rex Tillerson's summary on Trump, with whom he of course worked quite closely for a period as Secretary of State:

Former Secretary of State Rex Tillerson painted a scathing picture of his old boss President Donald Trump as someone who made uninformed decisions that were not based in reality – a stark contrast to Trump’s top diplomat Mike Pompeo, who is heaping praise on the outgoing President in his final days in office.

“His understanding of global events, his understanding of global history, his understanding of U.S. history was really limited. It’s really hard to have a conversation with someone who doesn’t even understand the concept for why we’re talking about this,” Tillerson said in a lengthy interview with Foreign Policy conducted prior to Wednesday’s assault on the Capitol that was published this week.

Tillerson, who was ousted in March 2018, told the magazine, “I used to go into meetings with a list of four to five things I needed to talk to him about, and I quickly learned that if I got to three, it was a home run, and I realized getting two that were meaningful was probably the best objective.”

He added that he “started taking charts and pictures with (him) because I found that those seemed to hold his attention better.”

“I think the other challenge that I came to realize early on is there were so many people who had access to his ear who were telling him things, most of which were untrue, and then he began to listen to those voices and form a view that had no basis in fact,” the former secretary of state said.

“So then you spent an inordinate amount of time working through why that’s not true, working through why that’s not factual, working through why that’s not the basis on which you want to understand this, you need to set that aside, let’s talk about what’s real. I think that was as big a challenge as anything,” Tillerson said

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/01/15/politics/tillerson-foreign-policy-interview

It was supposed to be the next big thing and I created an account on Mastadon but I have hardly used it and there is a large number of Mastadon accounts like mine that are hardly used or not being used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,533 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

I remember there was a news cycle discussion back then about whether Tillerson referred to Trump as "an idiot" or "a f*cking idiot". Not the type of political discourse a country wants to find itself in about its Sec. of State and its President.