The Bushman

• 17-01-2026 11:25AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭

This guy is getting a lot of anger directed towards him over the last few days.

He is dressed up as a bush and jumps out a people to give them a fright.

It all seems harmless enough to me so I don't see why some want to cancel him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

His "act" is sh!t. He seems to exclusively target young females. Creep vibe from the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,567 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

The ultimate test of a comedy act is whether or not it's funny, and the whole urban prank thing has never been funny IMO

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,325 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I think it's reasonable that members of the public going about their business should be able to do so without becoming part of his act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,985 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

where is the entertainment value in it ? Say he frightens someone with a heart condition…or other unseen condition or disability? Not everyone with a heart condition is elderly.

Someone gets startled and drops their phone breaking the screen as could easily occur.? Will he accept liability ? Will he fück …

This yoke isn’t doing it for shîts and giggles. It’s not street performance..He’s doing it just to post online to make money, it’s 100% monetised. Nothing more…just 💶💶💶

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,707 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I wonder what would happen to him if he caused someone to have a heart attack ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭gk5000

Would seem to be a clear Data Protection issue.

Somebody affected with video posted online should make a complaint, and the its up to him to prove its legit.

https://www.dataprotection.ie/en/faqs/topical-data-protection-issues/what-position-regarding-individuals-taking-photographsvideos-public-place

Edit to add:

It's up to him to seek and receive permission to post it online, not for the victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,955 ✭✭✭adaminho

Unless he includes personal data he's exempt. He's a one trick pony who's copying loads that have done it before! If he came up with something original or changed his act you'ld say something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

I might be showing my age here but does anyone remember "the singing tree"? He used to be JUST at the Trinity end of Grafton Street.

Seen a guy do the exact thing in San Fran 20 years ago. Boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,272 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Amazed he hasn't yet had his face smashed in. Presumably that's why this creep targets women who are on their own.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Your photo/video is personal data.

Read the data protection link above.

Posting photos/video of people is not legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭blindsider

Did I hear that he 'employs' a few people to help him be funny make money? Hmmm….I wonder what percentage of males he targets with his 'hilarious' pranks?

If someone reacted badly and inadvertently struck him, I wonder what would happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,475 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭geographica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,567 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

I think I remember something similar, he was one of those living statue acts that sings when you give him money?

The difference there is you are deciding whether to involve yourself in the act or not. Bushboy takes the choice part out to help him make money, which isn't cool IMO

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I saw him a few weeks ago about 5.30 in the evening near Stephen's green, first thing came into my head was it could be a distraction for pick pockets

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Brian Parkins recently wrote in The Irish Times about her experiences with him.

Because I don’t like women being scared on city streets for entertainment. It’s already scary enough for women when we go out in public. We don’t need a man to go to the trouble of ordering costumes off the internet and jumping out at us to get our cortisol levels spiked.

We are always acutely aware that what has happened to too many women could happen to us. All it takes is just one opportunistic predator. We can’t guarantee our safety 100 per cent of the time. So all we can do is be vigilant. To scan for threats. To ask our friends to text us when they’re home. To get taxis over chancing a walk at night. Every headline about an attack on a woman puts us on high alert. We think about them when a man walks behind us too closely at night. He probably means no harm, but we cannot risk our life on that bet. We cannot afford to assume the best in strange men on a dark street.

The bushman does not ask people if they have been abused before he scares them. He has no way of knowing if they have PTSD, or a history of domestic or sexual violence. That his prank might rob them of feeling safe in their body and hours spent trying to calm their nervous system. Which is a lifelong work after trauma. I know.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-style/people/2026/01/16/i-hate-the-dublin-bushman-who-scares-young-women-for-money/

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭chrissb8

One thing I think about is being "funny" or having a bit of craic. If you continuously have to inconvenience people or get a rise out of them via a prank, you are simply not that funny. You just have to go to extremes to even conceptualise getting a laugh; it comes across as very lacking in imagination and boring.

That's what this stuff falls under. While I wouldn't care if it happened to me and probably laugh, I know of people who would be pretty peeved off. Which would be anyone who drops their phone, is having a bad day as it is, doesn't do well with sudden shocks etc.

Low hanging fruit, to excuse the pun. Might be time for him to turn a new leaf. Sorry I can't stop myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,358 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Just a bit of fun, all about the clicks, so he must be doing it correctly as he gets the clicks.

I do find it nuts, that sometimes he's beside a busy road and people could end up under a bus as they run into the road without looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

I am close to a person who would be seriously damaged by this "prank", as in it would set her back months in a very precise treatment plan for a traumatic incident (That made national news) and would genuinely terrify her.. so no, not "Just a bit of craic"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,801 ✭✭✭randd1

It'd be some craic if a few lads copped on to him, decided turn up with some hi-vis council vests and a chainsaw, and said "is this the tree they said needs going?" and then revved the chainsaw and moved towards him.

He wouldn't be long in quitting the prank I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

I remember a guy I worked with years ago, in an office would silently walk up behind the woman who sat opposite me and then say ‘hello’ and make her jump. He would smile and get a laugh out of it.

I started to tell her when I saw him coming and you should’ve seen the big angry head on him when he realised I was doing that. Ruining ‘his’ fun. That’s the important thing here. The woman got no enjoyment out of it.

The bushman is the same. He enjoys it and makes money out of it.
    Creeps like that always get their comeuppance eventually. I just hope it doesn’t arrive in a form that he can monetise or get attention from.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,282 ✭✭✭✭walshb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's depressing that my kids accept this as valid media content.

It just seems puerile and actually potentially dangerous at times. And monetizing what is essentially a creepy invasion of personal privacy.

I couldn't care enough about it to be 'outraged' but it would be cool if more people just decked him - as much for entertainment as a repudiation of how idiotic the whole thing is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,344 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Where do you see this . I've never heard of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I never heard of him either until I saw a few articles about him last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,197 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

He comes up on tiktok and he always seems to do it to youngish girls in revealing clothes. Reminds me of the creep around liverpool/manchester that was "documenting" the nightlife scene on social media. He literally videos strangers walking down the street wearing miniskirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,508 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Bushmen also operate in Liverpool and Manchester. And dozens of cities worldwide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Beachcomber1097

There was a guy doing this in Lazarote last year.

He jumped out at me and unfortunatly i hit him when he did, knocking him down as I didn't hit him in the face. He was Spanish, so I didn't understand his giving out, but the lady in the bar where it was outside said it was his own fault.