Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Interesting discussion on yesterdays Indo Sport podcast. I wouldn't have that high an opinion on Weckler, but it was a balanced piece, discussing the approaches taken in Italy, Greece and others. And the potential (or lack of) of similar approaches here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭jj880

Sounds like anyone interested in clubber in any serious way (even if they already have IPTV) will have a legit sub. The offering on IPTV is absolute dross after all. That would imply any dodgy box clubber users ringing / not ringing up Jimmy to complain (we're taking Jimmy's word on that) about dodgy clubber are a miniscule number of outliers and couldnt possibly be costing Clubber 40%.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,506 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Even the mighty AI can only make a guess. But that doesn't stop people on the thread claiming that they know what the vast majority would do.

AI:In summary, while a crackdown on illegal streaming would likely increase legal subscriptions to some extent, market analysts suggest that the high price of Sky Sports packages means a significant portion of current illegal users might not make the switch to a legitimate, high-cost service. 

Thats more like it. At least you arent still saying Jimmy D knows what Clubber's lost revenue is because he got phone calls from firestick Anto during a Clubber match.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,063 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Another scare piece in the Irish media, and another one from Weckler.

He even says himself in the 1st paragraph that fines are unlikely to happen!

https://m.independent.ie/business/technology/adrian-weckler-coming-to-a-country-near-you-fines-for-dodgy-box-users/a954423269.html

So will it happen? Most industry and legal experts I speak to say that a change in the law to allow for administrative fines would need to happen first. In Ireland, that often takes longer than a few months to happen and I’m not aware that it’s on the must-do-immediately list of anyone in the Oireachtas.

So if you’re one of those using a dodgy box, don’t expect a fine imminently.

But with companies like Sky now being squeezed on one size by dodgy boxes and by the continued rise of Netflix, Disney, Amazon, Paramount and Apple TV on the other, don’t expect the status quo to remain in place indefinitely.
    Other European countries are now starting to fine dodgy box users. Ireland may decide to follow suit.

A better article. Less hyperbole than previous efforts.

Im assuming this is all still based on a seller getting caught and giving up his whatsapp etc.

So if you have an eejit of a seller posting pictures of his house in WhatsApp groups (as some mentioned here recently) it may be time to look elsewhere. Or do a bit of research on reddit etc. and buy direct if you think you can set up a device yourself.

Post edited by jj880 on

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Dr.Tom

This may come across as a strange one but…..

Who are Sky to say they are losing out? Have they exclusive rights to the Premier League, the main reason for illegal streaming, and everything else with it.

Why aren’t other media companies complaining or am I missing something regarding the illegal streaming?

Every article seems to revolve around Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,063 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

True.

Sure Netflix, Disney, Amazon, Paramount and Apple TV are all on the illegal streams as well.

They are missing out as much as Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

I think maybe because it's easily relatable.

I'd imagine the majority of dodgy box use in Ireland is to get access to EPL, and Sky are the biggest broadcasters of EPL and have been for decades.

So it's easier to use Sky as an example than the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,506 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

According to the link which was posted before a couple of pages back, the numbers do not point to the majority using it for EPL. This makes sense, because live games do not take up much of the weekly hours of broadcasting. On the subject of them missing out on revenue. They would rightly be able to count those who were paying them, but left to start paying illegal sources instead.

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2026/0113/1552869-data-shows-1m-daily-visits-from-ireland-to-illegal-piracy-sites/

"The majority of piracy-related traffic relates to television content, which accounted for 2.3 billion visits over the period analysed. Publishing content accounted for 647 million visits, with music and software making up smaller shares.

Breaking the television category down further, around 71% of visits relate to films and TV shows, while anime accounts for over 14%. Live sport, though a smaller share overall, accounts for more than one in ten visits, or 12%.

According to the analysis, the most accessed TV title in 2025 was the second season of the anime series Solo Leveling, while the most pirated film was Sinners, starring Michael B Jordan, Hailee Steinfeld and Jack O'Connell."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭jmcc

Care to state the actual data and the means by which it was obtained? Otherwise it is all just Social Science numbers.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 922 ✭✭✭ngunners

Not sure why anyone would go through a third party for IPTV. DIY is the way to go.

On the subject of them missing out on revenue. They would rightly be able to count those who were paying them, but left to start paying illegal sources instead.

You put up a good post about even AI can only guess and then you go back to this carry again. Deary me.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Indeed from reading the article they are either completely ignoring torrents or speculating wildly because its impossible to track torrent usage and metrics in how the article is describing

DIY is way over the heads of a lot of people.

Simple to some of us, but not to the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,671 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Unbelievable tech support and advice for a relatively small price increase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 756 ✭✭✭tiegan

This exactly. I wish I was tech savvy enough to DIY!!

I subscribed, keep boards alive!!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 756 ✭✭✭tiegan

I never found unbelieveable tech support I have to say, and would be more than happy to pay for it!

I subscribed, keep boards alive!!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 TwistedAnimator

Can somebody help a fella out. I have a firestick but not sure where to go. I used downloader and a code i found online and got iptv smarters and kodi loaded but now im stuck. i want to do this diy instead of buying off one of the fellas in the pub because i already have the firestick and dont need another one. can someone send me a link to where i can get the content please. thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Bullpup

If Sky were decent in any way and really wanted to compete with the dodgy box market, they should let you subscribe to the single sports channel you want.

If someone wants to watch the Premier League, they are forced to subscribe to the full sports package even if they have no interest in cricket, tennis, golf, F1, or American football.

They are fighting a losing battle against the dodgy box market because they charge extortionate prices for channels you don't want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,571 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Premier league rights are so expensive that to subscribe to soccer would be the same price as an overall sports package is now anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭WealthyB

By DIY do you mean as far as creating your own m3u playlists? Or just buying from a provider and then signing into a TiviMate or iMPlayer setup (I don't mention smarters as it's trash).

Wondering how far this DIY aspect can actually go..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,385 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Amazing that they increased prices afer losing loads of the Premier League, Champions League, all of La Liga, Serie A, UFC, boxing, WWE……

I mean getting the service from an online provider (one that comes recommended from a friend)

Buying the fire stick, installing Tivinate and configuring it with the URL and credentials.

That's not easy for a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭WealthyB

No worries, I was thinking by DIY you were taking it to the nth degree using custom homemade m3u lists!

I've been piping a provider m3u through xtream-editor.com and then into TiviMate. All channels with their custom picons and names, sorted as per normal set top box ordering. The Ultimate setup!

For on-demand I use both Stremio and Syncler with Premiumize subscription and Trakt integration. Total Netflix killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,705 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Unable to link to it, but there's another article in this morning's Indo highlighting the fact that Italy are currently dishing out fines for €154 and Greece for €750 for users of dodgy boxes who pick up illegal streams.

It goes onto say that Belgium and Portugal are also considering something similar and it asks the question that although the Gardai haven't got the manpower or the man-hours to scrutinize apparently 300k-400k user's here , that perhaps it may be a job for Revenue or Comreg to pursue?

The article does concede that legislation would be required so it's not likely to be on the top of the list for Government, however Sky is increasing the pressure for action to be taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭MadeInKerry

I used to have sky. I never watch sport. Got rid of it 8 years ago because it was too expensive. Only ever watched the odd program on it and that was usually on RTE. Any movies I wnated to see I watched in the cinema with my cinema subscription. Any other mnovies just happened to be on when i was sitting on the couch, i wouldnt have watched them otherwise.

Then I got Netflix and it was cheap and really good. I only watched what I wanted to watch. No need to look at listings or watch ads or crap that was just being broadcast. I still used my cinema pass for watching movies i was interested in seeing. On Netflix I just watched what caught my attention but wouldnt have paid to go see.

Netflix got very expensive and I decided what am I doing paying for this. Sure I could get ads on it and it would be a bit cheaper but i just cant do ads. They drive me mad.

Then my cinema subscription price went way up. Now I had to look into getting freeview, but then I found IPTV and cancelled everything and got that instead. I hardly watch much on it, but I no longer go to the Cinema or have Netflix. And now I download movies that I want to watch. Sometimes I download ones and never end up watching them.

What would make me pay for these things again, the vast majority of what on it i wont ever watch. Well price, price and price. If it was cheap I would subscribe to both again.

So the answer to kill all dodgy boxes and get people back to paying for what they watch. Make it cheap and they will subscribe whether they even watch it or not. Dont be trying to gouge people, eventually the straw breaks the camels back and their high prices wont be paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭SteM

If the Gardai don't have the manpower how would comreg or the revenue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

Crime of the century to watch your tv channels from a different country?

Insane to think that people actually believe regular people should pay through the roof for services they don’t watch to get to a tier they do.

Shouldn’t that be illegal?

Post edited by Manc-Red_ on

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.