It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas Off Topic Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,344 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

@freshpopcorn we're getting an Opel Crossland (petrol). Perfect for ferrying the elves from sport to sport to activity etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Love the feeling of a new car. Best of luck with it.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭SarahLil

Good luck with the surgery @Cork Lass

My little lady still home sick today we watched Arthur Christmas I couldn’t find it to watch on the fire stick before Christmas so it was lovely to watch it gave her proper belly laughs and me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,272 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I intend on upgrading and I can't make up my mind.

I get bogged down on model, engine, is it relaible, do I like the car, then I look for advice and some people can be very biased towards brands, colour.

I honestly feel like getting something I don't like.

So, I won't be disapointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭CheerLouth

Love that film! Its a good watch! Although it did raise questions about why the presents were wrapped when ours never are 🙈

Just finished the last mince pie with my cup of tea. We still have a tin of the IKEA ginger thins, a tin of shortbread and two boxes of Foxes to get through though 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

Congratulations on your new baby xx 🩷@kitten_k While some of us are nearing the end of the Christmas magic with our growing kiddos, yours is just beginning!

You've so many extra special Christmases ahead of you 🥰

....…

2026: 'This is where something better begins' (←well that plan ain't working out too well)

Really good watch she thinks the grandad is hilarious says she’s asking about him on her letter this year

Kids are hilarious the things they come out with I don’t think I would have questioned anything like that when I was a kid

I’ve been told mam you and dad did not get me a Christmas present this year 🤣

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,449 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Absolutely shattered today both mentally and physically. Mad week in work, 2 year old is waking every morning before 6am and have alot going on in my personal life :(

Roll on February.

The lifeboat has set sail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭antimatterx

As my team lead said this morning, we're half way through January. Kinda crazy how quickly Christmas ends up in the rear view 🙃

oh what a day thankfully I’m laughing now but long story short was out doing a few errands then took unexpected visit to IKEA came out with my little one to my car battery dead and my phone battery on 4% had to abandon car come home couldn’t get anyone to help, phone was almost dead, other half and my besties other half went back this evening and sorted it

Hopefully no drama tomorrow Friday tomorrow thankfully

Hope you are ok @Loughc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭BK5

Happy Friday everyone, halfway through the crappiest month of the year 😉 Just a couple of weeks and we are into a Bank Holiday weekend.

@Loughc , hope you got a decent nights sleep 🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭CheerLouth

Happy Friday everyone! Thank God it's here, feeling exceptionally tired this week. Not sure if it is January blues or just doing too much! But halfway thru the month now and it's a nice bright day here!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,449 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

7.5 hours sleep last night, I feel like a new man!

I hear ya and feel like, I really think it's a case of doing too much, that's exactly how I feel this week as well!

But all that being said it's Fridayyyyyy!! And it's a 2 day weekend for me yay haha

Remove the burden of Work (woohoo) and attach the rock of parenting…(d'oh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭DvB

First match of the new GAA season tomorrow after our first week back training, so looking forward to that. Mad looking at the lads last night, have been coaching them since they were 5, and seeing the 14/15 year olds running around last night it would be easy to mistake them for a much older group they've physically grown so much, over 75% of the team are 5'10" or taller now.

Its our twins birthday early next week so are celebrating this weekend, heading out for dinner with them Saturday evening so hopefully that will a nice way to mark their 15th birthday.

Alos looking at booking our summer holiday tonight, so if tall that goes to plan it will have been a constructive & enjoyable weekend!!

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,361 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

343 days until Christmas 🤩

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭appledrop

Hi everyone just catching up so it will be like a roll call

@kitten_k huge congrats on the birth of your baby🍾🍼. One of my kids is also a January baby, only problem is trying to think of presents for them every year when Santa has just visited! When I had my son, male members of staff were saying well done on the 'Jan' baby and your husband must be delighted. I didn't know what they were on about until another colleague told me it's because they will be oldest in Sports team so great advantage🤣

@DvB and @Cork Lass hopefully you are on right road to getting sorted. Health is so important especially once we are over 40. My husband has high blood pressure and is now on mediciation but we never knew and his dope of a doctor sent him home with blood pressue just shy of 200 and told him to come back next week for a blood pressure mointor! Thankfully appledrop stepped in and it was a trip to A &E and sharp words from me to get him sorted🤣.

Best of luck @Heroditas on the new car and @freshpopcorn on your search.

@SarahLil that's a tough start you have had with your little one being sick and drama with car! What do you mean no one would help, like would you phone not work and no one would help you! I usually find strangers very good in a crisis.

@Loughc that's a tough week but to make you feel better my youngest elf who is nearly 4 never slept great until he was 3. We were usually up with him every night sometimes for 2 or 3 hours! My husband and myself used to be like Zombies👽 he finally settled down oncw he was 3 still wakes the odd nights but goes back asleep by himself in 5 mins. And yes we tried everything nothing worked!

I've had a good week this week, body adjusting better( even managed 7h 30min sleep one night!) and well settled back into routine and sure the next bank holiday is just around the corner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭BK5

Was thinking to myself when the countdown hit 345 two days ago "how many days till the countdown hits 234?" . I actually wrote it down! felt a right eejit when the answer was 111 😄 d'oh

We're more than halfway through January, Elves!! Only two weeks to the bank holiday weekend. 🥳

Happy Friday Elves I’m going to have a Heineken zero ice cold and chill infront of the tv shortly

I’m with you @CheerLouth I felt really tired this week but hey like it’s already been said we are more than halfway through January

Yes @appledrop unfortunately I stopped about 5 different people/families in the car park to see if anyone could jumpstart car to no sucess I felt like I was on “who wants to be a millionaire” using my 4% battery to phone a friend being my other half ahh I can giggle about it now

If it ever happens any of you in Ikea apparently the trolly guy has a battery pack thing to charge your car battery unfortunately we only found this out last night and I had just missed him on his run around the car parks

Have a great weekend everyone

@SarahLil that was unlucky, I would't have been able to jumpstart your car but I certaintly would have stayed and tried to help!

I've been helped out in past so I always think pay it back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,722 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Massive congratulations 💕 💕 I've been thinking of you as your due date was my birthday 😂

Enjoy the new born cuddles. 😘

Just had a marathon session catching up.

My tree is still up lighting away. There's decorations on the landing that made it down out of the attic but got no further.

I had abit of an "Emma Thompson" Christmas. The Sunday morning before Christmas I picked up his phone to turn on the Wi-Fi plug and there was an open Whatsapp conversation, someone he used to hook up with before we got together. I know her we'd chat together if in the pub etc, though I haven't seen her in years. Seemingly he hasn't seen her in years either they've "just" been s*xting for the last 3 years....so that was a fun revelation!

It was going to be a weird Christmas anyway as I'd been diagnosed with stage 3 cancer during the summer. I had just finished treatment when I got an infection that had me in hospital for nearly 3 weeks and brought me down to 6 stone (I'm light anyway starting weight was just over 7.5 stone).

So what can you do? Didn't have the energy or desire to go nuclear , plus a whole lot of unknowns. Just tried to park it all so the elves wouldn't know and have a good Christmas.

Obviously lots of conversations were had, most of them should have been had a long time ago as relationship was very much in limp mode with him refusing to come to the table. Finally at the table now. I don't know, while it certainly isn't great and is a betrayal it never went physical....it would be easier to decide if it has.

My dad was also admitted into hospital on Christmas eve, we were told to prepare (but we've been here many times before) he was discharged a few days later.

So that was my Christmas!

However had scans a couple of weeks ago and the PET CT scan is showing no activity, so that's good 😊 there's just a tiny issue she's not too concerned about but wants another consultant to look at before final sign off, but optimistic that the treatment was a success.

So now need to put the weight back on and get the hair growing and try to figure out all the other nonsense.

Oh wow. Princess where do I ever begin.

firstly I’m so sorry to hear about your cancer diagnosis I’m so glad treatment went well.

The sexting is terrible IMO especially with what you are currently going through is enough of a stress. It’s extremely selfish.

All relationships go limp at times but to life factors but that’s no excuse. If he’s feeling that worked up I’m not being funny and apologies for being blunt he should go have a w*nk.

Instead he’s chasing validation in someone else. That’s disgusting.

I’m so sorry you’ve gone through all this. Well done on speaking about it. That takes such courage. Remember we will always have your back here and everyone hates Alan Rickman in love actually. #justsaying

Honestly you just have to laugh 🙄

Depending what threads you read you might be aware my pregnancies expedited my hearing loss, to the point I've been waiting on a cochlear implant for the last 3 years (then hopefully returning to work...I took a career break followed by redundancy after the last elf was born partly due to the hearing loss) ....well I got the surgery date 2 days after the cancer diagnosis...which has obviously had to be postponed indefinitely at the moment.......honest to God if this was a movie you wouldn't believe the plot!

But yeah you're right it is chasing validation, she's married and was married when they were hooking up originally...her marriage is her concern nothing to do with me, but you would wonder at the thought process there.

Omg @Princess Calla I don't know what to say😱

What an absolute crap thing for your partner to do😡 The absolute pr*ck especially to do that after everything your going through.

I do get though about you saying you didn't go nuclear. You have a lot going on and only you can judge what is best for you and your family.

You need to focus on you and building yourself back up. Did the hospitial put you in touch with dietican? Obviously the weight loss couldn't be helped when sick but important to get right food into you now and build yourself back up.

Would you look into counselling for yourself, my friend needed it after her cancer treatment, she powered through the treatment but it was after it all hit her and she found it tough.

You're actually the second person today to say the exact same thing about a friends experience. Yeah counseling is offered , it's free and they encourage it. I had one session during the treatment and it's grand . I honestly feel fine, it's a very surreal experience as you don't really know it's working until the end....though I did have symptoms that resolved during the treatment. I'm still in disbelief to be honest.

I met with a dietician as the weight started to fall off me during treatment, I was given those drinks , but they got thrown back up again fairly quickly.... I'm grand now, the perfect season for a weight gain challenge. I do have to start doing yoga or Pilates for muscle mass.